Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A long time favourite
Although one of his earliest solo works, "L'Apocalypse des Animeux" contains some of Vangelis's most impressive and evocative music. Possibly because the music was written to accompany a series of Frédéric Rossif documentaries about wildlife, the majority of the tracks are slow and atmospheric, and synthesizers are used with subtlety.

A good...
Published on 8 Jun 2007 by Mr. Christian Hoskins

versus
13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A very reflective, sometimes ambient, Vangelis work
Compared to the other Vangelis albums I have heard, his style on this album is to me a lot more reflective, with some tracks bordering on the ambient. It is an early work (1973), with some tracks featuring acoustic guitar and trumpet as well as keyboards. This is definitely Vangelis to chill out to, with a slow pace and long, dreamlike synth chords. It is, however, not my...
Published on 16 July 2001


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A long time favourite, 8 Jun 2007
By 
Mr. Christian Hoskins (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: L'Apocalypse Des Animaux (Audio CD)
Although one of his earliest solo works, "L'Apocalypse des Animeux" contains some of Vangelis's most impressive and evocative music. Possibly because the music was written to accompany a series of Frédéric Rossif documentaries about wildlife, the majority of the tracks are slow and atmospheric, and synthesizers are used with subtlety.

A good example of the quality here is "Le Singe Blue", whose poignant trumpet theme recalls Miles Davis's sublime version of "It Never Entered My Mind". More unusual is "Création du Monde". Lasting almost 10 minutes and full of atmosphere, the piece conveys a sense of the mystery and grandeur of nature. In a similar vein, the final track, "La Mer Recommencée", conjures up images of ocean waves and endless vistas before fading away into nothingness, a wonderful effect that Vangelis would use again when ending his album "China" six years later.

The early 1970s recording has a small amount of tape noise, but nothing too distracting. The running time is 35 minutes. A pity there's not more, but what's here is marvellous.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vangelis' definitive work, 23 Aug 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: L'Apocalypse Des Animaux (Audio CD)
Undoubtly Vangelis' best album, imo (I know about 15 of them). It has nothing to do with other albums in this world.. It is a pure moment of emotion passed to the listener, the kind of emotion about what "good" music is all about..
A stream of simplicity, sincerity, sadness, intense melancoly, bitter loneliness, a cried out heart calling for tenderness and understanding, there's also a true and deep love for nature and simple things that go in this music..
If you think life is a collection of emotions and perceptions, then you can't die without having heard this piece of both despair and hope.. Do you like the sea ? Do you know what it is to breath the wind in the rocks, on the border of the ocean ?
If you use to cry on music, I guess you're gonna die on 'La petite fille de la mer'.. Like Vangelis did..... A bit of his life went in that album.. Nobody sensitive could ever be the same after..
All the most beautiful feelings a human being can ever have in his life are expressed in there.. Never hesitate for that album.. This is what I'd bring with me when I go to hell or heaven..
Some albums just can't be criticized.. Even how consciencious you want to be.. When that occurs, then all you can do is to stay humble in front of such a beautiful masterpiece, and admire the work..
agapw to musica sou..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a hypnotic entrancing masterpiece bound to take you away to whole other worlds., 23 Oct 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: L'Apocalypse Des Animaux (Audio CD)
The earliest Vangelis album that's available on CD, this 1972 album is actually the soundtrack to a Frederick Rossif wildlife film - and, like many of Vangelis' great film scores, is more famous than the film its based upon. This is a timeless, beautiful, mesmerising and entrancing album; a delicate, hypnotic and gentle tour de force, filled with emotion and lush soundscapes. Vangelis combines acoustic and electronic elements to what I consider one of the best ambient/downtempo albums ever made. It might be nearly 40 years old, but it's held up remarkably well and has a timeless quality. It's hard to put into words just how much I love this album. It's very smooth, laid-back and dream-like and is wonderful to put on late at night before going to bed. The most famous track is `La Petite Fille De La Mer', which is a breathtakingly beautiful, tender, warm and emotional lullaby combining soothing acoustic guitars with a gentle, dreamy keyboard melody; this song just completely takes me away to another world entirely. `Le Single Bleu' and `La Mort Du Loop' continue the dreamy soundscapes, while the closing two tracks, `Creation Du Monde' and `La Mer Recomencee' take the album to another level. `Creation Du Monde' in particular is an asbolute masterpiece, the lush warm pads and trickling sound effects are deeply hypnotic and otherworldly; yet there's a slight underlying hint of tension and darkness that keeps this 10 minute opus from becoming in any way syrupy. I'm totally mesmerised by this masterpiece of an album; its timeless, stunningly beautiful and true medicine for the mind and senses.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An enduring Jewel, 27 Mar 2009
By 
This review is from: L'Apocalypse Des Animaux (Audio CD)
A mellow and timeless offering from Vangelis, consisting of material produced as far back as 1971/72, although not released until 1973.

Some of the material here is Vangelis at his most minimalist and ambient.

I was prompted to go for this CD as it contains the wonderful and poignant "La Petite Fille De La Mer", with it's warm and dreamy soundscapes and longingly plaintive melody.

I've always loved the textures in this track and suspected that Vangelis may have used these on other tracks from this work. Sure enough, these sounds are pretty much the signature of this
work.

The sound quality isn't too bad considering this work has never been re-mastered. If you compare "La Petite" to the one on "Odyssey - The definitive collection", however, it's definitely not as dynamic. Although this later version has strings and bass pads added by Vangelis, so in truth is not the same version. The version here is the one that can also be found on the original 1989 compilation "Themes", although it is fractionally slower here than it is on "Themes", it is nonetheless the same version. If truth be told, it's the original that I prefer; it's simplicity subtly complimenting and enhancing the simplicity of the melody, sometimes less is more.

Overall this is serious chilling out material, with some gorgeous luscious atmospheric pieces. The 9:51 minutes of "Creation Du Monde" is an absolute treat. A very simple musical phrase that Vangelis builds around with rich, dreamy, spacey soundscapes, allowing the listener to immerse themselves in a truly ambient experience. It's almost tentative in it's development; you're never quite sure where the harmonies are going to take you has they swirl and then gradually subside, leaving you relaxed but still invigorated. Likewise the 5:55 minutes "La Mer Recommencee" is equally enchanting, with it's beguiling layered sounds, peppered with synth timbres used for percussive effect to reflect birds in flight, rustling leaves on trees and the rippling of the waves. There's a real sense of things shifting and evolving. The 3 minute "La Mort Du Loup" is a more melodic affair: hauntingly dreamy sounds embellished with guitar phrases. This has echoes of Ennio Morricone, indeed as does "La Petite".

The 7:30 reflective "Le Singe Bleu" with it's electric piano sound and accompanying solo trumpet lets things down a little. Don't get me wrong, it's a pleasant piece but there's no development in this track. The trumpet repeats the same musical phrase throughout, and Vangelis simply repeats the same progression on the electric piano. I was expecting the track to build musically and Vangelis to vary things with the odd jazzy chord has he did so marvelously in the later 1980 classic " Memories Of Green", which has far more jazz undertones than this does.

This is a marvelous CD though and certainly one of my favorites among Vangelis's. He recorded a lot more material for these documentaries, so it's a shame there is not a little more material than the 35 minutes we have here. I'd certainly recommend this without any hesitation, but if you prefer the more Prog rock or busier Vangelis, then this might not be for you. Those who like his later classically influenced works may appreciate this. To my ears it's reminiscent of: Chicane's "Early" (Far From Maddening Crowds), Brian Eno's "Atmospheres And Soundtracks", William Orbit's "Pieces in a Modern Style", Barrington Pheloung's "Inspector Morse Collection" and Coldcut's remixed "Autumn Leaves". If you like any of these then you'll almost certainly love this. I leave you to draw you own conclusions from the fact that this reminds me of much later works and what this says about this early 1970's release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A very reflective, sometimes ambient, Vangelis work, 16 July 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: L'Apocalypse Des Animaux (Audio CD)
Compared to the other Vangelis albums I have heard, his style on this album is to me a lot more reflective, with some tracks bordering on the ambient. It is an early work (1973), with some tracks featuring acoustic guitar and trumpet as well as keyboards. This is definitely Vangelis to chill out to, with a slow pace and long, dreamlike synth chords. It is, however, not my favourite Vangelis album, as to my ears it lacks the fire and inspiration of Vangelis at his best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wisps of Wonder, 7 Jun 2013
By 
Nicholas Casley (Plymouth, Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: L'Apocalypse Des Animaux (Audio CD)
This CD, released in 1973, comprises music that was recorded three years earlier, just after the release of Aphrodite's Child's last album, `666'. It thus contains some of Vangelis's early solo works as an instrumentalist and composer of soundtracks. The music was written for a series of wildlife films, directed by Frederic Rossif, for French TV.

There are seven tracks, lasting from one to ten minutes in length, the whole CD providing thirty-five minutes of aural pleasure. `La Petite Fille de la Mer' is delightful in its bare simplicity, whilst the ten-minute-long `Creation du Monde' (shouldn't it have lasted a symbolic seven minutes?) has wisps of wonder that prefigure Vangelis's later soundtrack to `Bladerunner'.

Vangelis's work here is not confined purely to keyboards. Flute, horn, and acoustic guitar also figure: and I cannot make out whether it's a trumpet or flugelhorn that is the sole instrument (apart from keyboards) on `Le Singe Bleu'. Vangelis adopts lots of echo in this early work. The sound quality is not perfect compared to today's standards (2013), and Vangelis's electronic instrumentation would have been analogue.

Taken as a whole, the music is relaxing and meditational. There is nothing particularly complex here. Indeed, according to Mark Griffin's book `Vangelis: The Unknown Man', Rossif wanted Vangelis to compose and play the music spontaneously. The result is far different from, say, George Fenton's music for `Planet Earth', but it is just as valid as a soundtrack - and, just as importantly, the music stands on its own feet independently of its film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Super, 6 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: L'Apocalypse Des Animaux (Audio CD)
Fantastic music to relax our mind, when I am writing, and to get more inspiration to my space novel. Great music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Slavas snow show, 15 Dec 2013
By 
C. Milsted - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: L'Apocalypse Des Animaux (Audio CD)
I am not one to like listerning to jazz offten but this piece was a real find as it brings the memory of the snow show to life once again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good 4 when your in the, 3 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: L'Apocalypse Des Animaux (Audio CD)
good 4 when your in the car
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quality listening, 8 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: L'Apocalypse Des Animaux (Audio CD)
Sit back and enjoy this CD. Well worth listening to several times to really get in to it and hear the real depths of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

L'Apocalypse Des Animaux
L'Apocalypse Des Animaux by Vangelis (Audio CD - 1987)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews