Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 80,s power metal at its best ,coupled with amazing guitar.
this was malmsteens third solo release after the predominately instrumental rising force and mostly song based marching out.
his first two albums are highly recommended ,rising force especially.both feature extrodinary guitar work by malmsteen, maybe more so than marching out but this album had memorable songs like ill see the light tonight and im a viking.but as...
Published on 7 July 2003 by Daniel L

versus
4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars DISSAPPOINTING...
I was dissappointed once again with Malmsteen's work. He is definately a great (and fast!) guitarist. But, I think, his songwriting lets him down. I don't care much for the vocals on this album either, but then you do have to take into account that it was released in 1986, when those dodgy 'Dungeons & Dragons lyrics' were supposedly common and fashionable (I mean, just...
Published on 17 Feb 2004


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 80,s power metal at its best ,coupled with amazing guitar., 7 July 2003
This review is from: Trilogy (Audio CD)
this was malmsteens third solo release after the predominately instrumental rising force and mostly song based marching out.
his first two albums are highly recommended ,rising force especially.both feature extrodinary guitar work by malmsteen, maybe more so than marching out but this album had memorable songs like ill see the light tonight and im a viking.but as malmsteen always said he wanted to work in the context of a conventional rock band but with his neo-classical guitar work showing through,but he didn,t really succeed as people always saw his amazing technique more than his (in my eyes) capable song writing.and he was always labeled as a over the top soloist for the rest of his career which isn,t really fair.
now onto trilogy,this album is typical malmsteen fair ,lyrics based on mytholigy and the dungeons and dragons style lyrics many power metal bands use today.but i think he succeeds in many ways with this album inventive and different lyrics (for the time anyway). and again his otherworldly chops,also two mandatory instrumentals chucked in for good measure these being crying a marvellous acoustic /electric composition, a vehicle for malmsteens much overlooked graceful and beautiful playing.and the epic trilogy suite op.5, 7 minutes of pure yngwie starting with some very fast and clean picking,three minutes in and you think its about too finish before fading back in with some exemplary acoustic playing ..so brilliant this is why hes the best not enough shredders use acoustics.this track goes on for about 4 minutes more with more neo-classical shred and electric and acoustics interplay before finally finishing and closing off a excellent album.
so what too expect from this album ,well if ya like power metal u should eat this up and for shred fans its brilliant.
one of yngwies greatest ever albums great songs and two of his best instrumentals ..highly recommended
GET IT NOW..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!, 25 Oct 2002
By 
Dr Nick "Dr Nick" (Sheffield, S Yorks United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Trilogy (Audio CD)
This was the first Yngwie album I ever bought - and I nearly stopped playing the guitar, I was so astounded by what he can do on it.
From the opening chords of You Don't Remember... to the final segue of Trilogy Suite Op5, this is nothing less than a masterpiece of electric guitarwork, performed by a man who remains at the top of the tree.
Mark Boals' vocals are a bit different, his vocal range is also phenomenal, and live he's a monster.
Get this now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 3rd Amazing Album, 26 Oct 2008
By 
Mr. A. Clement "alzmail" (Milton Keynes/UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Trilogy (Audio CD)
Well this was my first Malmsteen cd,i thought the cover was cool and didn't have a clue who he was and someone i was teaching how to play said i mightlike him as i loved Randy Rhodes guitaring. So yeah lets put things into perspective here,it isn't a brand new release.it'd quite old, Malmsteen released his first album when he was 19 and he wa like 22 when he did this,you may believe there are much better songs out there but in the day back then this was really outstanding stuff.
The 3rd release has the best production of the first 3 albums,yeah it still had the dungeons and dragons style lyrics,but didn't dio do that for quite a while,and Blind Guardian still do,it aint a crime folks? We're of course going back to 1986 here when Metallica had just released Master Of Puppets and i was just 14!!!!
There was a new vocalist on the scene Marc Boals and he does a great job with the lyrics,when i first heard this it totally blew me away,i'd not long heard 'Surfing With The Alien' and this blew me away. More song orientated than the first two albums and with better production there was a much better mix of songwriting and shredding going on here. Only 2 instrumentals on this cd which are just outstanding. i think this is one of Yngwie at his best the shredding is really impressive and better than his later work,the last track 'Trilogy Suite Opus 5' is incredible and goes a step further than his first 2 albums with amazing sweep picking and a really nice acoustic sound,very clear. i listened to the last track at least 8 times when i first got it,he really is in his element on this album,reaching a peak. Yeah it's an old cd but it is great,much better than alot of his later stuff as it was fresh and exciting he's young and keen to show what he can do,it's an incredible cd and i highly recommend it to guitarists out there and Yngwie lovers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Malmsteen's tour de force, 14 Feb 2007
By 
This review is from: Trilogy (Audio CD)
It's amazing to think this is now (at time of writing) 22 years old. Malmsteen had already exploded onto the scene by the time this came out, and was already dividing fans, critics and guitarists alike with his virtuoso playing and songs with operatic vocals. Despite what some reviewers said, (usually jumping on a rather cowardly bandwagon and seemingly without really listening properly), Malmsteen did write good songs; they were just of a different style to classic rock music. In fact, the tracks on this album work well in terms of keeping to a rock format, whilst integrating Yngwie's classical themes, chord progressions, and electrifying use of natural and harmonic minor scales (among others). The first track is a standout, and its solo, whilst not technically anywhere near the guitarist's limit, is a peach, drenched in feel and erupting with energy and passion. Sure, you can hear Yngwie's ego shining through as he insists on drumming home his flawless tricks time after time, but for the most part, this is original, interesting music which takes the classical tinge of older acts like Deep Purple and Randy Rhoads-era Ozzy Osbourne, and brings it into a new, more dedicated domain. A guitar playing legend, no doubt about it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The original, 6 Feb 2007
By 
S. G. Rajkhowa (Edinburgh) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Trilogy (Audio CD)
i cannot really understand what some of the harsh comments are about. Whilst Malmsteen is not the most tactful user of shredding techniques (Do you have to sweep pick in your verses?) when compared to others like Joe Satriani, he nonetheless does create great music, in my opinion. If you like your neo-classical power metal, this is for you. What is more metal than a dragon? A long haired Scandanavian fighting a three headed dragon with a guitar thats what!

And possibly ducks

Anyhow whilst the complaints of lack of subtlety and tact are valid for Malmsteen's work, i do not think so for this album. Along with Fire and Ice i am going to go out on limb and say this is one of his best works. If you dont like Fire and Ice this may not be for you. I love Fire and Ice and Trilogy is along the same lines, if not superior. In particular You Dont Remember..., Queen in Love, Liar, Dark Ages and Magic Mirror are tunes and then some.

Ignore the hate, get this album and sink into a world of Dragons, Queens, and Men in tight leather trousers (if thats your thing, its not mine)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars How did I miss this?, 8 Feb 2014
By 
S. Allison (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Trilogy (Audio CD)
I had acknowledged Mr Malsteem's preposterously precocious pedalpointed rake scaling at the speed of light during the 1980s as an interesting distraction but felt his blatant pseudo-Blackmore act was derivative without the depth of feel and tone that Ritchie squeezes out of every note to this day. However, I was wrong and this album means I've just discovered a chunk of treasure and purchased a few more from that period. Commendation goes to the vocalist Mark Boals - not since the late lamented Ronnie J Dio have I heard anything quite so impressive in rock (not therefore a surprising choice for the still young Yngwie 'Blackmore'). This is so much better than the pedestrian plod of some of the Alcatrazz offerings (Despite the lineup the songs were often atrociously poor)- Here I've somewhat glossed over the lyrics as I suspect a cheesefest (who can forgive "there's a hole in the sky, but don't ask me why...because I doh..oh..n't know.." - from Rising Force).- but crank it up and you've a wonderful piece of 80s metal with the histrionics I can now see as being quite exceptional from this talented and, in retrospect, unique Swedish maestro. I was wrong to be so judgemental back then.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars blast from my past, 15 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trilogy (Audio CD)
always loved yingwie but only had him on vinyl so i'm starting to build up a cd collection of my old vinyl albums
arrived quickly...well packaged...no complaints
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars nice item, 26 Sep 2013
By 
Szabolcs Badics "Szabolcs" (Hungary, Budapest) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trilogy (Audio CD)
Nice item, arrive a bit later but brand new, sealed and much better than the european edition marked: Printed in West Germany.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Magic, 2 Nov 2011
By 
ratmonkey (Hardy Country) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trilogy (Audio CD)
Not quite as heroic as the previous Marching Out but still a quality example of why Yngwie was so good. Many people think it is because of the flawless solos and constant technical excellence but at the time it was the trad/power-metal song structures that drew the faithful. Marching Out was as chunky and tight a Scandinavian beast as you're ever likely to behold (almost like a soundtrack to The Beastmaster or Hawk the Slayer). Trilogy is more the sound of the renaissance. There are still elements of the viking rock but the transition to glam/power stylings was very evident here. This was no bad thing as the music was still as gloriously catchy and cheesy as its predecessor, but it missed a spark that would later arrive when the transition became complete with Odyssey.

Stand out tracks are the excellent 'You Don't Remember...', 'Queen in LOve' and 'Magic Mirror'. The rest are all good but the songs are not as strong as they should be. Superficially though, the album cover artwork is possibly one of the best ever.

Cheesy heavy rock in a very traditional way (a la Dokken) but all the better for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the man at its best, 29 July 2010
This review is from: Trilogy (Audio CD)
I saw recently on you tube an open air live performance from the Trilogy Tour : Mark Boals on vocals, the late and great wally voss on bass, and of course yngwie and the Johansson bros. there is no doubt it is the best line-up yngwie ever played with!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Trilogy
Trilogy by Yngwie Malmsteen (Audio CD - 1995)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews