Customer Reviews


108 Reviews
5 star:
 (92)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wonderful stuff
i first heard "animal" at the end of 1987 driving home from work on the A38. the radio played listlessly in the background, on through habit more than anything else. But hang on - what's this? A classic driving rock song emerges from the tinny speakers- a minute later triumphant soaring chord heralds the chorus "AND I WANT!! AND I NEED !!. I bought the album "hysteria"...
Published on 8 Mar 2005 by mr s d biffin

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad!
Considering its age, the quality of the cd and packaging was grand. Worth the money and I will buy secondhand again.
Published 11 months ago by Jo H


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wonderful stuff, 8 Mar 2005
By 
mr s d biffin (alcester, warks United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Hysteria (Audio CD)
i first heard "animal" at the end of 1987 driving home from work on the A38. the radio played listlessly in the background, on through habit more than anything else. But hang on - what's this? A classic driving rock song emerges from the tinny speakers- a minute later triumphant soaring chord heralds the chorus "AND I WANT!! AND I NEED !!. I bought the album "hysteria" the next day from woolies . The melodies, the harmonies, the guitars,the personalities!!!!. This album is one of the all time rare pleasures in life, an album of music guaranteed to uplift. There is no nostalgia about this record because it has'nt dated unlike its predecessor "Pyromania" which although excellent has got 1982 written all over it.
Along with "Slippery When Wet" this album ushered in an era of heavy guitars, singalong choruses and loads of hair and spandex.
You know what? it was great.............
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hysteria, 20 Nov 2008
This review is from: Hysteria (Audio CD)
"Hysteria" combines rock and pop together in perfect harmony, and is by far Def Leppard's best album to date. "Hysteria" was recorded after drummer Rick Allen's accident, and released in 1987, at a time when "stadium rock bands" like "Bon Jovi" were at the top of their career. This trend in rock that occurred during the late 1980's continues on Def Leppard's album, with tracks such as "Pour Some Sugar on Me" and "Animal". After listening to this album, you will understand why this album made such an impact on music in general, it was recorded in a "futuristic" fashion for its time, using back-masking, vocal editing and recording individual notes one at a time.
The album begins with "Women", which was released in the U.S by Def Leppard as the 1st single off the album. "Women" didn't chart well in the U.S, and lead singer Jo Elliot often condemns the song, probably due to its lack of success in America. Aside from the negativeness surrounding the song, it remains a classic song to me, emphasising the "wonder" of "Women", and is a perfect start to the album. The slower versus and the amazing chorus of this song makes it a rock song hard to match by any other band.
Next, the listener is shown Def Leppard's creativity, with "Rocket". The idea of "Rocket" came from an African tribal recording, which may seem rather odd for a rock song. Listen closely throughout, and you will be sure to pick up the beat of the tribal music straight away. "Rocket" is about Def Leppard's musical influences during their childhood, listeners who were around during the glam rock era of the 1970's will pick up the continuous references. In the middle of the song is an interlude, which sounds extremely "different" to any other Def Leppard song. It is hard to describe in a review, but includes back-masking of vocals, like "Were fighting for the god's of war" said backwards. This track will definitely leave you very interested, and probably a bit bemused.
After the sounds of "Rocket" comes the U.K number 6 hit "Animal". The song itself took two and a half years to record, due to various producers not being able to get the correct sound for the track Def Leppard wanted. It was Mutt Lange that created the right sound for the song in the end, and he does a fine job of it. The way the song is written and recorded is similar to Toto's "Africa", but with a heavy rock feel. "Africa" was also difficult for Toto to produce. The guitar solo is incredible, and the song is at this point, the best one yet.
The tempo of "Animal" is then reduced down during "Love Bites". "Love Bites" is a classic rock ballad, much like "Hysteria" (Track 10). This track will appeal to all listeners, not just rock listeners, and this is a concept that lies on other tracks like "Animal", "Pour Some Sugar on Me" and "Hysteria". This general appeal was Mutt Lange's idea towards creating a rock version of Michael Jackson's "Thriller".
"Pour Some Sugar on Me" is by far the best track on the album, and although may have an odd title, the song isn't about cocaine, as many fans often speculate. Jo Elliot describes the song title as a reference to "any sexual act you wish". The song was only recorded onto the album in two weeks, towards the end of the recording of the album. The record company wanted to release the album soon, but Mutt Lange felt that it needed another song to give it some edge, and "Pour Some Sugar on Me" was that song. It broke through in America through extensive radio play. The song had a big appeal to strippers in the U.S, because of the tempo of the vocals and guitar solo. God help us if Jo Elliot didn't pick up that guitar lying around in the recording studio and played the riff to Mutt Lange (who accidently overheard), Def Leppard's signature song wouldn't have been born. The result is a perfect rock song, incorporating excellent vocals and a cracking melody, which by this point will have any listener loving Def Leppard, well it certainly did me.
The next song on the album is the polished to perfection "Armageddon It". Let's face it, no male singer can quite reach the height of the vocal tone towards the end of the song, which brings me back to the "futuristic" recording style the album used. I think the song sounds like a professional rock song, it is clear a lot of effort was made to produce the song. "Armageddon It" is a play on the phrase "Im getting it". It fits nicely after the rawness of "Pour Some Sugar on Me".
The tone of the album changes after "Armageddon It", as the next song, "Gods of War" is much darker. Not that I'm saying Def Leppard go all Slayer at this point, far from it in-fact. "Gods of War" is about politics, as is evident with lines such as "what the hell we fighting for", referring to the nuclear war threat going on at the time of the Cold War. Ok, that may sound dated, but, the song was politically correct at the time.
"Don't Shoot Shotgun", "Run Riot" and "Excitable" are good tracks as well. These songs weren't released as singles, and remain album tracks. "Don't Shoot Shotgun" and "Run Riot" were performed live during Def Leppard's huge tour in 1988. The melody in "Don't Shoot Shotgun" during and in the break is very catchy, making this one of my favourite songs from the album. "Excitable" is a rock-disco collaboration, meaning it is possible to dance to the song. The song itself however is a little bit silly, and this is why I would say it is the weakest track from the album.
"Hysteria" is a beautiful ballad, and is possibly the strongest track on the album, other than "Pour Some Sugar on Me". It was released as a single along with the 1st six tracks.
The last song on the album is "Love and Affection". It is another ballad, but probably the weaker of the other ones on there. It is still a good song, that will appeal to all audiences, not just rock fans, and is a good finish to the album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Pop / Rock album for its time, 28 Aug 2009
By 
P. Burn (Staffs, U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hysteria (Audio CD)
Probably Def Leppards finest album. A trend setter at the time it was released. Catapulted them to the big time and then went on to conquer the U.S.A (which even the mighty Oasis Or Robbie Williams cannot do).

All tracks solid, no fillers. You've got the Pop songs (Rocket), Middle of the road Pop Rock (Animal, Pour some sugar on me), Main Rock (Gods of War & Run Riot) Ballads (Hysteria, Love Bites). Remixes on CD 2 not as great as originally thought but the b sides and Release Me are great to hear. Never the less great packaging and updated notes make it a must buy for anyone who was there when it happened OR those who weren't but are into music from that period. Saying that, i think it is one of those rare albums that has stood the test of time and still sounds great and sits quite comfortably with the music that is been listened to today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hysteria? Armageddon it!, 25 Feb 2010
By 
P. J. G. Horswell "The Philster" (Horsens, Danmark) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hysteria (Audio CD)
There really isn't too much to say, the music does it all. Let me explain, anyway.
I first purchased this cd back in '88 as a spotty teenager, looking for the next thrill. I got it. I was blown away by pretty much the whole album. Stand out tracks for me then, and indeed still, are Gods Of War, Hysteria, Animal, Love & Affection and Armageddon It, not to mention P.S.S.O.M.
This was the last album to feature the late, great Steve 'Steamin'' Clark on guitar, before his untimely death. But, what a legacy to leave for others to enjoy.
The music has been critisized for being too polished, but the boys have prooved time & time again that they can perform these songs live to a T. The melodical qualities of the songs are fantastic and lend themselves perfectly to the art of the foot-tapping.
I can only recommend this album wholeheartedly, knowing i'm not failing or helping anyone to waste precious hourly wage. Buy and be happy. Sounds great in the car, living room, local pub, kitchen, headphones, even while you're sitting on the porcelain throne!
You won't be disappointed.

Phil, Danmark.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the finest rock albums of all time, 23 Aug 2002
This review is from: Hysteria (Audio CD)
WHen you mention Def Leppard, most people think they are a heavy U.S band. Wrong on both counts. Infact Sheffield's finest truly surpassed themseleves on this album, and many would consider it as one of the finest rock albums of all time (consistently coming in top 10, 20's etc). Animal is probably the best track since its appeals to such a wide spectrum of listeners with its catchy lyrics and riff lines - true poprock.Other highlights are (for me) Hysteria and Gods of War. At no point does this album get too heavy or even repetative. Its in a simliar vein to Bon Jovi's Slippery When Wet (the other great pop rock album of the time)with catchy tunes you'll keep singing in your head for days. I have been listening to this album almost continuosly for over 13 years - now, that can't be bad can it?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quote "memory is an organism's mental ability to store, retain, and recall information", 2 Nov 2009
This review is from: Hysteria (Audio CD)
One hell of a great Rock Classic British/Us Band of my time. Please forgive me I just can't help but sit back, feet up and smile when I put this Master piece CD in my ghetto blaster with the volume up full. I loved the Bon-Jovi, U2, Journey, Dare, Ronald Rat ect ect era and very much still do, and legend has it that many of these bands where influanced by Def Leepard, my personal opinion that this is in my top five best "album that I own collection" and it rarely gets missed out every two weeks when it's music time. I have owned this album for over 15 years and it's as good now as it was then, I never get tired of it, I can't say I love every song in this album, two or three songs kinda kills it for me not the album tho' but only one Album so far and is The Joshua Tree - U2, however out of 100 I rate it at 90 which is good folks trust me. This album will grip you by the throat and hold you there for some time simply for it's melody, crisp sounding guitar riffs and some great coruses that will help you chill out or freak out, whether you're in the home, office or in the car it will have you tapping something thats attached to your body foot, hand's, fingers or your head but you will not be alone!. Their best album by a clear mile I dont think you will be disappointed, if you are there's always Gun........ I Sit back, feet up fag in one hand, coffe in the other and enjoy the memories all flooding back with the best of british playing in the background.

Just Bluddy Buy it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Def Leppards best album is a rock classic., 28 May 2009
By 
Dragonlord (Cornwall) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Hysteria (Audio CD)
For all you big Def Leppard fans out there is is a newer Deluxe Edition of Hysteria which is worth having because of all, the bonus tracks tracks you get in the two cd set and a small book. Hysteria sold over fifteen millioin copies worldwide and is a great softish rock album. I love all the songs on Hysteria it was one of the first albums I brought original on tape with My Grandfather. The best tracks are Women, Animal, Love Bites, Pour Some Sugar On Me, Hysteria and Gods Of War which has more meaning to it now then when Hysteria first came out in 1987. Most true rock fans will like this classic album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Hysterical about Hysteria, 9 Feb 2003
By 
J. Maher (Rochdale , Lancs, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hysteria (Audio CD)
Def Leppard's finest work and one of the greatest rock albums of all time. I have had the album since it's release in 1987 and I still play it and never grow tired of it. It's to Def Leppard's credit that they made this album.
It's an album that nearly was never made Rick Allen the drummer lost an arm in a car accident after the success of Pyromania, disagrements with producers, scrapping songs plus other mishaps but when all seem lost enter their white knight Robert John "Mutt" Lange who helped put the band's confidence back together, contributed to the songwriting and produced what can be best described as the most polished clinically clear rock album that has ever been made.
The songs are just wonderfully catchy from the opening bars of Women to the heart churning Love and Affection. This album produced 6 hit singles in the UK now that is highly unusual from a Rock album and 7 hit singles in the band's spiritual home the USA even though they orginally from Shefield UK.
The album hit no1 on both sides of the Atlantic. So many classic tunes on the album you will be listening to them for years. The clever sexual inuendo lyrics of Animal, Pour Some Sugar On Me, Armageddon It! But the best track and probably the greatest song they've writtten is the clever 'Gods Of War' a damming indicment back in the late 80's of Reagan and Thatcher's lust for conflict with Libiya.
Now the song's clever lyrics and addition of Reagan and Thatcher's voices add gravitas to the track. Now you could quite easily substitute both for Dubya and Blair Iraq for Libiya.
Just lie back close your eyes and enjoy this superb piece of Rock masterclass.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I don't regret watching Coyote Ugly, 12 Sep 2007
By 
Mr. A. W. Lamb (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hysteria (Audio CD)
It was a tuesday night and my housemates and I couldn't decide what to watch on TV, either Coyote Ugly or The Rock, ultimatley it came down to a flip of the coin and we chose the former. In between the female feelgood factor and soppy sotryline was a song that seemed to play through most of the dancing scenes. I asked my friends what it was and they responded "Pour Some Sugar on Me, by Def Leppard". I was intrigued, it was catchy and mostly important ROCKING!.
For a fortnight I struggled to get the tune out of my head, so finnaly I bought Hysteria, you will not be dissapointed if you. This album is probably the bands finest work with almost every track being catchy and memorable. If you enjoy the soft rock of Boston and Journey or the Glam Metal of Poison and Warrant then this album is perfect for your tastes, and even if you dont you will no doubt find it pleasing. If worse comes to worse you can be assured that if you stick it on at a party you will have everyone singing by track 5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Probably the best album ever made!, 2 July 2007
By 
Phil (Bedfordshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hysteria (Audio CD)
You really don't have to be a rock fan to love this album, everything about it is awesome! Ignore the idiots who slate Def Leppard for not being a 'metal' band.... they are not supposed to be! This album has something for everyone, rock fans, pop fans and even metal fans. 18+ million people can't be wrong!!! The original was amazing and the Deluxe version (released in 2006) gives re-mastered sound, an expanded booklet and a selection of live tracks and remixes. If your a music fan, your collection DESERVES this album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hysteria
Hysteria by Def Leppard (Audio CD - 1999)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews