Customer Reviews


66 Reviews
5 star:
 (46)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Man is divided into two distinct types...
those who have this album and those who want to get it!
This is one if not the best album of the last twenty years and yet I only heard of it one night watching TV.
Nothing else was on, so I flicked on VH1 to watch "Great Albums" and this came up. Now I'd heard of Bon Jovi. I remembered when I was much younger going on the London underground and seeing Bon Jovi...
Published on 19 Nov 2004 by slw614

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A rather pointless special editon of a great album
Bon Jovi had been struggling to hit the big time with their 1st two albums and their third would be the deciding factor on whether or not the band would be commercially viable for Mercury Records. Fortunately, the bands teaming up with rock producer Bruce Fairbairn, engineered Bob Rock and songwriter Desmond Child proved to a step in the right direction. Layered with...
Published on 8 Aug 2011 by G. M. Radcliffe


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A rather pointless special editon of a great album, 8 Aug 2011
By 
Bon Jovi had been struggling to hit the big time with their 1st two albums and their third would be the deciding factor on whether or not the band would be commercially viable for Mercury Records. Fortunately, the bands teaming up with rock producer Bruce Fairbairn, engineered Bob Rock and songwriter Desmond Child proved to a step in the right direction. Layered with the sound establishing with their debut and their second album, the band furthered their nack for catchy hooks and created on of the most successful album of all time spawning 2 USA number 1 singles with 'You Give Love A Bad Name' and 'Livin' On A Prayer' this album is still popular.

I had a few gripes about this edition of the album. First all all we only have 3 additional songs - live tracks recorded from 1986/1987. There are no outtakes from recording session, no b-sides just three sub-standard recorded live version of songs that have appeared on number singles (though recorded at different times). A second CD of B-Sides, outtakes and live songs would have been sensible but having purchased it the words 'rip-off' ring true. My second issue is the packaging. Fans were promised new photos with the packaging but what we get is a blurry snap of the band. A biography detailing the Slippery When Wet years 1986-1987 replaces the lyric book of the 1998 special edition which was far superior. The CD does give you access to online content and you are able to buy, yes buy, an MP3 of a live song from bonjovi.com.

Believe me you are not missing out if you skip this edition of the album. If you new to Bon Jovi and want to buy Slippery When Wet buy the 1998 remastered edition because it's better value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Man is divided into two distinct types..., 19 Nov 2004
This review is from: Slippery When Wet (Audio CD)
those who have this album and those who want to get it!
This is one if not the best album of the last twenty years and yet I only heard of it one night watching TV.
Nothing else was on, so I flicked on VH1 to watch "Great Albums" and this came up. Now I'd heard of Bon Jovi. I remembered when I was much younger going on the London underground and seeing Bon Jovi posters everywhere. The only songs of theirs I knew were 'Livin' on a prayer' just because at any decent club, party or school disco, this song gets played, and 'It's my life' because it came out when I was mid-teens and vaguely remembered it (and liked it).
Watching this programme I was hit with a furore of musical magic especially 'Livin' on a prayer', and must confess that my first thought was "I now know what album that song is on."
I still had not heard a large portion of the album and again must admit buying it pretty much for the one song. However, when I got it home and put it in, I was determined that this album I should listen to fully and so put it in, almost anxiously waiting for song 3 ('Livin' on a prayer') to come on. Yet, by the end of the second song ('You give love a bad name'), I knew, somehow, that I had stumbled upon an album that is nothing short of a classic. I played the rest of the album and the rest they say is history. Beware though, no song-skipping because if you do that and do not play each and every song on this album at full length, then you will miss out!
This album has the unique ability of not having a bad song on it, even though there are weaker ones, and yet having a multiple choice of songs that could be the best on it. This has already been done in another review but I'll just give my brief synopsis on each of the songs plus a 5 star rating:
1. 'Let it rock'- 4/5, slow starter, but the length of the song actually does it proud. By the final chords you'll be waving your arms and screaming wildly as if you're in that great rock concert that never happened!
2. 'You give love a bad name'- 5/5, just by the song's opening, you can tell that a fist-pumping classic is on the way! The 'best song ever' until you put on...
3. 'Livin' on a prayer'- 5/5, isn't the title enough to get you reminiscing of the great disco evenings of old? Will be remembered as a classic and their best known song!
4. 'Social disease'- 3/5, you think someone's been tampering with the CD at the song's opening. Slightly disappointing chorus to a song that is still actually a great deal of fun!
5. 'Wanted dead or alive'- 5/5, unnerving start makes the end product all the more satisfying.
6. 'Raise your hands'- 4/5, great, fun song that'll have everyone singing the chorus!
7. 'Without love'- 4/5, not as slow as 'Never say goodbye', but still a moving melody.
8. 'I'd die for you'-3/5, everyone else likes this more than I, as I think that it is the weakest song on the album, mainly because the others are just so absolutely unbelievably brilliant. It is still, however, a solid song.
9. 'Never say goodbye'- 4/5, some have said that this song is boring but I completely disagree. This song really is superb in how moving it is.
10. 'Wild in the streets'- 4/5, only song that wasn't written by lead guitarist and backing vocalist Richie Sambora and lead signer Jon Bon Jovi. Jon Bon Jovi's solo effort is an extremely uplifting song (which let's face it you need after song 9) that's a good way to crown a superb album!
11. 'Wanted Dead or Alive' (Video only)- 5/5, same song, just with the bonus of its video. Well worth putting the disc in your PC or whatever to check it out.
The music on the album is fit for all sorts of moods and all sorts of places. I listened to this on a long distance car ride with a load of friends in which everyone was singing (poorly) at the top of their voices. Alternatively, you can just pump your fists privately in your bedroom ( not to mention air-guitaring), or stick it on in the background at a large garden party and know that nobody will mind.
This is quite simply, a superb album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This Album Defined 80's Rock, 19 Sep 2012
This review is from: Slippery When Wet (MP3 Download)
Ok so this version is a re-release, but the original album was Bon Jovi's swansong. Their third album which had to be big, and it was!

Every track is strong on the album, if you are new to Bon Jovi then it is the first album that I would recommend anyone to listen to and buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Woa, a loaded gun, a contender for the best rock album ever, 9 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Slippery When Wet (MP3 Download)
This is Bon Jovi album is the bands biggest selling album with over 28 million copies sold to date, a No. 1 US and No. 6 UK album.

"Livin' On A Prayer" was the first rock track of its genre that I appreciated back in 1986. This along with "You Give Love A Bad Name" must rank individually as two of the best rock songs of all time, and they did have the distinction of becoming the first consecutive No. 1 US rock singles by the same band. "Wanted Dead Or Alive" is another absolute classic. "Never Say Goodbye" although the last and least successful of the four singles (by the time of its release as a single the album sales had rocketed) is also stunning.

I've mentioned the big singles, but right from the off with "Let It Rock" you know the album is high drama, high energy. Other tracks such as "Social Disease", "Without Love" are more than mere album fillers. Each track is worthy of its contribution to this rock master piece.

What makes this album stand out in the genre is that the lyrics are crystal clear unlike other rock bands who could easily fall into the trap of just being noisy. This is not he case here. The music is loud, but perfectly balanced so it draws you in, gets you playing air guitar and rocking along.

The special edition which features live versions of the big hits serves to re-enforce the talent of the group as a top live act and also as musicians.

It is their musical ability and balance that have probably allowed Bon Jovi to stand the test of time unlike some of their contemporaries who were left behind at the end of the eighties.

The hour spent listening to this classic has just flown by, which is an indication of how good this album is, as it shows there no reason to advance it on at any point.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ultimate party rock album, 25 Aug 2001
This review is from: Slippery When Wet (Audio CD)
slippery when wet is simply the best of the 80s rock albums. From the opening keyboard solo of let it rock to wild in the streets the group take you for a ride. anyone also fedup with the number of ballads released recently will be glad to see only one on the album, Never Say Goodbye. The album also contains arguably the groups best song, the sing-a-long classic Living On A Prayer and also holds a few others in the same vein such as Raise Your Hands (a presonal favorite) and You Give Love A Bad Name. The album also features their original and best cowboy song,Wanted Dead Or Alive re-released recently as Wanted 2001 on their Live Album. Bon Jovi would go on to make more serious (and perhaps better) albums such as Keep The Faith and the darker These Days but this is their ultimate feel-good album and is head and shoulders above last years attempted return to this style of music, Crush.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Slippery When Wet is a classic 80's rock album., 28 May 2009
This review is from: Slippery When Wet (Audio CD)
This was the first album I brought on tape back in 1986 when I was eight years old. This remaster copy is excellent sound quality and has a video of the song Wanted Dead Or Alive, one of the best tracks which you can play on your computer. Slippery When Wet sold over seventeen million copies worldwide and is overall Bon Jovi's best album. Every song is good on this cd you have Livin' On A Prayer which is their most famous song and You Give Love A Bad Name was a big hit too. The song I Die For You is a great love song and Never Say Goodbye holds a special place in My heart for when I moved house back in 1987. Bon Jovi was the first rock band I got into and rock music has be one of my favourites ever since.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Bon Jovi album, 17 Aug 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Slippery When Wet (Audio CD)
I think this is one of the best and rockiest albums the Bon Jovi have ever done. It has some of their greatest songs such as You Give Love A Bad Name, Wanted Dead Or Alive and Livin' On A prayer. It really show how powerful Jons voice is and Richie guitar playing is just amazing. It really shows what rock music's all about.
If you are a new Bon Jovi fan this is definalty the album to start with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic!, 1 Jun 2000
By 
This review is from: Slippery When Wet (Audio CD)
This, people, is the quintessential Bon Jovi album, the one which launched them, all the songs get into your brain and take up full time residence there! Amazing tunes and infectious hooks and anyone who's seen this band live knows they can back it up anytime, anyplace, anywhere! Oh and will someone please give Richie Sambora the credit he deserves? He's without doubt the most underated guitarist about today! Make no mistake, this is one of the albums which took rock music to the masses! A classic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing album!, 30 July 2004
By 
P. Woods (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Slippery When Wet (Audio CD)
I've only just started to like these guys. All my life I have heard "Livin' on a prayer" and when I got to this age I just had to get the album. Good choice. It's brilliant! They're my best band of the 80s.
Let it rock: It's a nice opener for you. It just shows you that better songs are coming. It takes a while to start off, but once it takes off it's brilliant. 5/5
You give love a bad name: I love this one! The guitar playing is amazing and I love the vocals. Catchy chorus. Nice solo to. 5/5
Livin' on a prayer: Arguably my favourite, but I can't decide between this and "You give love...". Extremely catchy. Everyone I know loves this. You gotta hear the end. 5/5
Social desease: It starts off very well, but it has a weak chorus. Probably my least favourite song. 3/5
Wanted dead or alive: One of their most famous songs. It sounds scary at the start, but it gets lighter. Nice acoustic playing to a slow-paced song. Electric guitars come into the song after the middle. 4/5
Raise your hands: One of the better songs. A bit hard to understand at times, but it's another catchy song. 5/5
Without love: I like Jon's singing on this one. A nice slow calm song, but it can be fun to sing. Great chorus. 5/5
I'd die for you: You think this is goanna be a fast, fun song, but it's quite touching. Nice keyboard playing and great lyrics. I love the backing vocals. The chorus has to be sang. 5/5
Never say goodbye: Probably the slowest song on the album. Relaxing, but it can be a bit boring. 4/5
Wild in the streets: It sounds a bit different to the others, but it's a good song to end the album. It's fun and fast. Good backing vocals and chorus. 5/5
I only own three Bon Jovi albums, and if I get anymore this would probably still be my favourite.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An album full of quality music, 16 Nov 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Slippery When Wet (Audio CD)
This CD contains a real selection of quality tracks from Bon Jovi. The music on this CD is of a really high standard considering it was some of their earlier work. The track Wanted still sends shivers down my spine with its nerve tickling introduction and ending and not forgetting, of course, Living on a Prayer - an all-time Bon Jovi classic. A great discovery is the track Never Say Goodbye - one of my favourite not so well known songs of all time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Slippery When Wet
Slippery When Wet by Bon Jovi (Audio CD - 1986)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews