Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly good., 20 Dec 2002
By 
Dr Nick "Dr Nick" (Sheffield, S Yorks United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Night Songs (Audio CD)
Cinderella were discovered by John Bon Jovi, and quickly made an impact on the music scene. this was their first release, and once you get past the frankly dreadful cover, you'll discover a pretty good collection of tunes. This is a rock band with a heavy bluesy influence, not too heavy (about the same as early Bon Jovi, in fact), with a vocalist who sounds not a million miles from Brian Johnson of AC/DC, if slightly more tuneful.
They managed to come up with some great riffs, including Shake Me, Somebody Save Me, Push Push, and the title track, as well as an excellent ballad - Nobody's Fool (graced with a tasty solo). And Tom Keifer (vocals) isn't a bad lead player either.
Worth a bit of nostalgia.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Glam Rock, My Butt, 2 April 2006
By 
J. Pearson "mr_pee" (Northampton, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Night Songs (Audio CD)
They might have been pretty boys but they played like old pro's that had studied Aerosmith, AC/DC, early Def Leppard and the blues. They knew how to rock and they knew not only how to carry a good tune, but Tom Keifer also knew how to write great rock music. It's just a shame that the depressing influx of grunge made 'hair metal' unfashionable & put paid to Cinderalla's career, because TK could have been a major star.
It's a debut that far outweighs any others from the time, with the exception of Tesla and GNR. At the time, and definitely now, AC/DC would have killed for a track like Shake Me. Nobody's Fools is one of those great ballads, a kind of long lost brother for the Leps' "Love Bites".
But then again, if you're reading this it's because you want to & not because you need convincing that you should buy it, because you probably already own it. I could wax lyrical for hours.
A classic rock debut.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hair Metal at its best, 25 July 2007
This review is from: Night Songs (Audio CD)
The 1st album from the brilliant Cinderella. Anybody who likes Classic Rock with a twist of glam and a hint of blues combined will like this. Songs like "Shake Me" and "Nobodys Fool" bring back so many memories of Rock City in Nottingham in the late 80's, the site of skinny long haired pretty boys with leather trousers and cowboy boots on strutting their stuff to songs like this make this album a good reminder for me of times gone by. Tom Keifer is an excellent song writer and musician. Good stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic glam rock 'n' roll, 19 May 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Night songs (1986) [VINYL] (Vinyl)
This is a belter. Great production, awesome rock songs with a touch of glam tinted blues thrown in. The guys voice is one of the best in this genre. Standout tracks hve to be the great rocker 'Shake Me' and the huge ballad 'Nobodys Fool'. Highly recommended peice of 80's rock.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 1st killer album, 30 May 2011
By 
This review is from: Night Songs (Audio CD)
unfortunately this is one of the worse covers ever for me, but the best music is in this album (CD). my kid which 23yrs after this album was released had been born likes this CD \m/ a lot . this album contains the best music from the 80s they came at the best time with the best songs this album contains songs with feelings and emotions in every word n riff and they had hits with nearly all the songs and untill trhis day they are the fans fav in every gig + they can play their own instruments and they write their own songs for me this is what made get into rock n roll they didn't just fill the album with half cooked songs or do more covers then they should like many other bands . they were discovered by bon jovi but they had established their own i.d. buy this CD . iv always had this album on cassette till 2004 and then the CD turn came as i had played my cassette more times then a cassette can take \m/ i wish they re-master this CD as its an important piece in my collection . \m/
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Never judge a book by its cover!, 17 Dec 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Night Songs (Audio CD)
The clearest memory I have of Cinderella is fighting though a bedraggled crowd, in freezing cold rain, at the 1987 Monsters Of Rock Festival, when the introduction to `Once Around The Ride' was being cranked into life. The contrast between the surroundings and the bands daft moniker is as stark as the contrast between the cover on this cd and the music contained within. The cover sports possibly the worst example of hair metal known to modern man (or was that Dokken on Under Lock and Key?)- a riot of massive puffed up hair, big lipstick, sashes and laughable pouting from the man called, er, Fred- and there it is again, that daft band name, in big pink letters, lest you forget... So you'd have to be pretty hardcore to work past the sleeve and get into the music. And boy is it worth it. This is a great debut album. Spawned from an effective coming together of the pop sensibilities of Aerosmith/early Skid Row and the harder bluesy sound of AC/DC this thing rocks big style. The big riffs just keep coming from the churning Push Push to the stabbing Somebody Save Me, born aloft on a massive drum sound. And it's not all black and white. Like the Skid Row debut (also Bon Jovi finds) there is the half decent ballad in there (Nobody's Fool) and the atmospheric churning title track. This is a great summery, feel good cd but I do wonder how many people never made it past the cover - perhaps this lesson was learned, as the follow up album just had a white sleeve....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Blast from the past, 5 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Night Songs (Audio CD)
This album I once had on Vinod years ago and I hear a track from it at a recent gig. Had to get it on cd. BRILLIANT!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars rock at its best, 9 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Night Songs (Audio CD)
A real treat for rock lovers heavy but tuneful music, but dear me look at that cover who dressed these blokes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars blast from the past, 10 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Night Songs (Audio CD)
found my vinyl copy of this recently and can't play it, so just had to get the cd. Amazed it was still available. For all the boys look like victims of an accident with a spin-dryer, I love the sound they make. Off to embarrass the kids by putting this in the car for the next school run!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 80's Hair Raising Metallers, 4 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Night Songs (Audio CD)
Cinderella had everything an 80's Hair Metal band could need. They had Big Hair, check. They had the songs, check. They had the look, check. They also had a secret weapon, Tom Keifer's distinctive voice.
Shake Me has appeared on many 'Best of the 80's' compilation cds, but here you get 10 tracks of bluesy, rock 'n' roll. Cinderella prove why they are one of the 80's best rock bands.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Night Songs
Night Songs by Cinderella (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews