Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 1 of the stand out Albums of the Brit pop era.
Menswear nuisance is certanly 1 of my favourite albums from the brit pop era. with many fairly well known singles such as 'Daydreamer' and 'Being Brave'. i think menswear offered an alternative to Oasis and Blur and had there own distintive sound. i would recomend this album to any Indie music fan.
Published on 18 Oct 2001

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as bad as people claim.
Menswear are often dismissed as "Britpop also-rans", but the band's music isn't actually that bad. If you liked music from the Britpop era then this is definately worth the purchase price. Not as good as 'Parklife' or 'Jollification', by a long way, but people who liked those albums should like this.
Published on 26 Jan 2001 by matt@kaym1.fsnet.co.uk


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 1 of the stand out Albums of the Brit pop era., 18 Oct 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Nuisance (Audio CD)
Menswear nuisance is certanly 1 of my favourite albums from the brit pop era. with many fairly well known singles such as 'Daydreamer' and 'Being Brave'. i think menswear offered an alternative to Oasis and Blur and had there own distintive sound. i would recomend this album to any Indie music fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great upbeat guitar indie album, 31 Jan 2001
This review is from: Nuisance (Audio CD)
A very, very underated album, at the time of it's release it was largely ignored by the 'Quoasis and Blur bandwagons. Superb if you want to simply stick on something thats gonna get yer goin on a Friday night. Fab!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nuisance-Menswear, 2 Oct 2011
This review is from: Nuisance (Audio CD)
Well another great find...I got this Cd in a Pile of Cds I bought off Ebay in a Box of 100,sometimes you find a Gem and I really like this Cd,almost dumped it,glad I didnt.It totally rocks,gonna play it on my Radio show.The Lunchtime Album Show on Justin.Tv.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not as bad as people claim., 26 Jan 2001
By 
This review is from: Nuisance (Audio CD)
Menswear are often dismissed as "Britpop also-rans", but the band's music isn't actually that bad. If you liked music from the Britpop era then this is definately worth the purchase price. Not as good as 'Parklife' or 'Jollification', by a long way, but people who liked those albums should like this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Britpop's First Made-To-Order Record, 23 Jan 2004
This review is from: Nuisance (Audio CD)
Poor old Menswear. Now labasted as the high water mark of Britpop absurdity, even at the time they seemed almost too perfect. Formed in the legendary Good Mixer in Camden, Melody Maker coverstars before even releasing a record, and with good looks even Smash Hits readers could appreciate, the world was at their feet...
But how mighty the backlash would be! Mentioning Menswear now will provoke cries of derision and contempt not even reserved for dull dadrock makeweights like Cast and Ocean Colour Scene. To be a manufactured indie band seems to be a far greater crime than being dull as dishwater.
But is the album really that bad? Well, debut single 'Daydreamer' hit the Top 10 despite having only one chord and being cobblers, really. But 'Sleeping In' is a cheery enough Beatles pastiche and i certainly know more than one person that gets misty eyed when they hear the understated ballad 'Being Brave'. The rest of the songs are distinctly variable in quality, with the hidden track at the end being ironically my favourite song on the album. It certainly isn't the disaster it is reported to be, despite the overall manufactured air. And they did at least seem to be having some fun.
If you're looking for a history of Britpop, the flawed 'Nuisance' deserves as much prominance as 'Parklife', 'Definitely Maybe' and 'Different Class' as a record of the times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A killer album, 27 Mar 2005
This review is from: Nuisance (Audio CD)
This is a top album with some cracking tracks - I'll Manage Somehow, Little Miss Pinpoint Eyes, Piece of Me, Around You Again to name just a few.
And lest we forget, Being Brave.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars awesome, 2 Jun 2005
By 
l delahay (great yarmouth, norfolk United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Nuisance (Audio CD)
Buy this album just to hear being brave which is awesome.
People are jusy jealous that they could never release anything as good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Nuisance
Nuisance by Menswear (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews