Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A True Contender For Best Album of the Nineties.
With Stanley Road Paul Weller has managed to prove to his fans and his critics that he is still an important musician even in his solo days. He hasn't just written 12 good songs, instead, he's written one great album. A factor in any great album is the overall feel that perpetuates each song, making them all feel as though they deserve their place and complimenting the...
Published on 7 Mar 2006 by S. G. Toyne

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars One Star
Unplayable, had to bin it.contacted seller who immediately refunded cost.
Published 1 month ago by R Chenery


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Great music., 20 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stanley Road (Audio CD)
This is a class album from Weller, with some wonderful tracks on it. I would say it just tops his Wild Wood album. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A superb album, 21 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stanley Road (MP3 Download)
I bought this album after hearing Broken Stones on Chris Evans' Radio 2 show. Although this album is quite old now (about 17 years old) it is one of the very few albums you will hear where every track is strong. Changing Man, You Do Something To Me, and Broken Stones are particularly good. There simply isn't a weak point in this album!

Weller's vocals are supple; in Porcelain Gods he sounds remarkably like David Bowie in his Tin Machine incarnation. The musicianship is excellent, and the album embraces a range of moods: exuberant, melancholy, mellow; intense.

This is an album that I want to listen to again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Not a duff track - fantastic, 25 July 2012
This review is from: Stanley Road (Audio CD)
probably Weller's most commercial album and the quality of the songs shows why. From The opening riff of the Cahngingman to the final chord of Wings of Speed this is a masterpiece in songwriting and the band is so tight. If you liek albums like Neil Young's Harvest you'll love this. Soem heartrending songs as well as straight rockers like Out of the Sinking (you might remmeber this from Sky Sport's Football coverage). Top album of the 90s.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Absolute Quality, 17 Feb 2010
By 
J. Owen (Ashford,Kent.England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Stanley Road (MP3 Download)
Think of songs that define periods of your life then this would definitely be one of them.Think of lazy summer days,1995,Oasis,Wonderwall,Champagne Supernova,Wild Wood or (Live Wood) and Stanley Road.Absolute Quality
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sublime, 4 Jan 2010
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Stanley Road (Audio CD)
Excellent album, especially "You do something to me", one of best love songs I've ever heard. Other tracks great too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Weller's 90s statement, 25 Aug 2006
This review is from: Stanley Road (Audio CD)
Sold like hot cakes and contained a handful of classics and a wider batch of good tunes.

It's opening salvo of "Changingman" and "Porcelain Gods" certainly suggested a man at the peak of his powers.

The blue-eyed soul classic of "Broken Stones" remains this albums high-point. The classic mod bluster and shine of "Out Of The Sinking" comes in second place.

Other high-point is the beautiful and sadly often over-looked "Time Passes...".

But overall a very, very good album.

Only down-side is "You Do Something To Me". Made for brit-flicks starring Martine McCutcheon and Ray Winstone.

Other than that, an album worthy of respect and affection. Brilliant sleeve as well...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars One Star, 5 Nov 2014
By 
R Chenery (norwich england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stanley Road (Audio CD)
Unplayable, had to bin it.contacted seller who immediately refunded cost.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 3 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stanley Road (Audio CD)
what agreat classic album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 23 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stanley Road (Audio CD)
Paul weller at his best
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars i love it, 15 May 2013
By 
Darren TOBIN (Hilton Derbyshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stanley Road (MP3 Download)
i can't wait to listen to this cd soon I am looking forward to that I have been wanting buy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Stanley Road
Stanley Road by Paul Weller (Audio CD - 1999)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews