Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars9
5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£3.24+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 50 REVIEWERon 25 August 2012
This is an amazing album - I mean just the 1 disc original release, although the 2 disc re-release is no doubt the thing to get - with Jimmy Somerville in superb voice. His sound takes you somewhere no other singer does - for me it goes back to his Bronski Beat hits which had a tremendous impact on my teenage self, and which I thought were the voice of gay desire itself. No one else was standing up for gay love in pop at that time, and he has continued to be a brilliant advocate and political in the best sense. The cover versions on this album, Hurts So Good and Someday We'll Be Together - are two of the most joyous, while the singing on Heartbeat is classic Jimmy, with the expressive vibrato used to beautiful effect, and sudden soaring into the stratosphere in repeats of the chorus. For me the best two tracks are probably Dare To Love and A Dream Gone Wrong - these are the two that have the most pathos, which is what he captures so incomparably, although the range of feelings he can access is amazing. I love the cover and liner photos too - Jimmy looks so ecstatic on that beach, and his midriff is very alluring where his trousers scoop down into the shadow ... it matches the music perfectly.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2013
I have liked Jimmy Somerville for years although not bought any of his solo stuff. I have to say after buying this album I think this might be his best stuff. Three or four songs on this album are top notch and the rest of the album is not bad either.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2010
Jimmy's best album in my opinion; and also the album that had some of my friends (who hate Jimmy's voice) listening with interest. His vocals on the title track are amazing and the track itself is very poignant. Much better than his most recent album.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 8 August 2012
Finally being given the treatment it so richly deserves, the back catalogue of Jimmy Somerville's major label releases from the 80's and 90's have been remastered, repackaged and re-released in deluxe format. This includes his debut with Bronski Beat "The Age Of Consent / Hundreds And Thousands", the two albums he recorded with Richard Coles as The Communards "Communards" & "Red / Storm Paris" and his two solo recordings "Read My Lips" and the album on this page "Dare To Love".

The wealth of bonus material that these new releases contain make them all essential purchases for fans and hopefully will expose Jimmy's talent to a new fanbase. Many of the extra tracks for all five titles are making their digital debut with these deluxe editions. Most welcome indeed. There are also some glaring omissions from the series such as no 12 inch mix of "Smalltown Boy" on The Bronski Beat album and no extended version of "Mighty Real" on "Read My Lips", for casual fans they won't be missed as the album cuts are pretty good. Most hardcore fans will already have these mixes on the superb 2cd compilation released a few years back "The Very Best of Jimmy Somerville" which included a whole cd of remastered extended versions. If you don't own this release and consider yourself a casual fan, this compilation is highly recommended but make sure you get the two disc version.

For many reasons "Dare To Love" is my favourite Jimmy solo album and this deluxe edition compiled by Edsel & Rhino Music takes the listening experience to the limit. Very classy packaging, an extensive booklet with lyrics to all songs, cover artwork and a very personal 2012 interview with Jimmy about life during 1994-95. There were so many different mixes of the three single releases that this album could have easily been a 3cd set but that would be pushing it. On the whole the choice of what to include and leave off achieves the correct balance of new to cd, rare b sides and promo only releases etc. The mastering is superb, especially for the main album which sounds pristine. This fan is one happy punter. If you Dare To Love, I Dare you to listen. You will be rewarded with the joyous sounds of one of the shining lights of pop music and that unmistakeable voice....what a ride......Superb!

"Someday We'll Be Together.."
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2012
Great artists, great songs and a must for any communards or bronski beat fans or who love jimmy's voice and who wouldn't?
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2016
Classic Jimmy Somerville with an extra CD of remixes you have to have .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2014
This is a brilliant album and shows Jimmy Somerville at his best.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2015
excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2015
Very good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£16.74
£11.39

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)