Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Breathtaking, 25 Jan 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Cake (Audio CD)
Definitely one of the albums of the 90s - in fact one of the best albums of ALL time. Gorgeous melodies with heartbreaking lyrics. Will bring out EVERY emotion in you. BRILLIANT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Trillionpenny tears, 26 Feb 2001
By 
Eyal Golombek (Israel) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cake (Audio CD)
I wasn't that impressed by the CD after the first few listenings. It sounded like many other acoustic scottish pop bands. But than one day, while relocated with my family in the USA, I put it in the CD player and the revelation has occurred - the beautiful sounds of sentimantality and inspiration emenated by this great album can't let go - I listen to it few times a year and time after time it almost brings be to tears - a true masterpiece
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars get cake now, 25 Dec 2001
This review is from: Cake (Audio CD)
This is one of those CD's where every track is just top quality. The Trashcans were lazily lumped in with the baggy/ indie dance movement in the early 1990's but their lyrical and musical scope is as wide as the sky. Obscurity knocked for them however, but on the evidence of this and later albums you'd imagine them to be rich and famous. Listen to it and fall over!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of those treasures, 11 Jan 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Cake (Audio CD)
This is one of those CDs that you can listen to thousands of time and like it more as you go. Clever lyrics and guitar jangles to make Johnny Marr jealous. "Maybe I Should Drive" and "Only Toungue Can Tell" are two of my favorites, but the whole CD is great and stands the test of time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An unplugged classic before the idea was invented, 21 Jan 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Cake (Audio CD)
I've just started replaying "I've Seen Everything" after my at least once-a-week-fix of the classic unplugged style of "Cake" ever since I found it by chance back in 1991. The acoustic brilliance of guitars and voices in chilling harmonies on Cake is a tribute to the talents that went into the compositions as well as the production of this album. In fact I would give it five stars just for the acoustic production. Even now I get a tingle with lines like "Tales of Music and Movement" imagining these guys getting a pat on their heads in music class from their primary school teachers. It didn't take long for Cake to grow on me, and I guess I'm still converting to the more plugged-in `I've Seen Everything". Really wish for more from this band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Happy memories..., 16 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cake (Audio CD)
Had this on cassette about 1991 but tape got mangled a few years later. Finally found this on cd at a decent price. Brilliant debut album, I've got all the others since. Lots of guitars and witty lyrics. The band are still going and should be way bigger than they are. Superb!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Magnificent, 20 Dec 2013
This review is from: Cake (Audio CD)
Possibly one of the best records of the decade and maybe the last 40 years, a fantastic mix of rich melodies and lyrics and contains the immortal lyric of "I looked at my watch and I am half past caring" fantastic !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Under rated?, 7 Aug 2013
By 
This review is from: Cake (Audio CD)
This album is an absolute classic. It still finds its way to my playlist on iPod or even when the cd goes in to the car. How the songs obscurity knocks and only tongue can tell we're never huge is a mystery. There isn't a bad song on the album. Worth 10 of anyone's money!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A classic waiting to be discovered., 25 Oct 2011
By 
os - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Cake (Audio CD)
This album should be required for just about every pop /rock guitar band. Listen and enjoy as the Trash Can's entertain with their wittily oblique guitar driven tunes and their handy way with a lyric. They compress more feeling ,emotion and irony into one track then most outfits manage in a career. The secret to their success is combining jaunty jangly guitar rhythms with lyrics that deal with the pains of finding one's way in the World, realizing that just about everything is more difficult then at first it appears. Hence titles like 'Obscurity Knocks'.Yet the mood is never sour or cynical, it's more accepting and willing to make light of life's up's and down's. A much more healthy approach it could be said.

One day the Trash Can Sinatra's will be rediscovered.Critics will be falling over themselves to claim that they knew all about the TCS all along. Well, lets hope that day is soon, and maybe they'll gain the success that their rich catalogue suggests they deserve.Herers's hoping....

I simply can't praise this album enough.Recommended.

Cake
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cake
Cake by Trashcan Sinatras (Audio CD - 1996)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews