Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Grand Designs
Power Windows is that rarest of animals; a perfect album. Every track, the mood of the album, is electric. It is also one of the very best Rush albums. Polished, slick and glossy but more importantly, it is infused with layered depths of emotional and musical intelligence.

Grand Designs and Middletown Dreams overflow with excitement, powerful pulsating...
Published on 23 Nov. 2008 by G. Young

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mine Got Stuck
So, Rush's 10th studio album. What to make of it?
Well, it's better than Grace Under Pressure, let's damn it with faint praise!
It would have made a good 4 track EP of you dropped Grand Designs and the last three.
There are way too many Keyboards on it, the passage of time hasn't been at all kind to those 80s synth sounds, it sounds like OMD in parts too,...
Published 22 months ago by Pesto Fingeration


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A work of genius, 25 Jun. 2002
By 
Rich (Wurzel Country, U.K.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Power Windows (Audio CD)
IMHO this, along with 'Exit... Stage Left', is Rush's finest hour. From the opening statement-of-intent that is 'The Big Money' to the damning indictments of weapons of mass destruction and over-zealous 'patriotism', it hits the spot every time. Peart's lyrics have never been more incisive, and Geddy Lee attacks his shiny new Wal bass with obvious relish -- just check his fantastic playing on 'Marathon...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars rush in the 80's, 25 Sept. 2010
By 
Mr Blackwell (scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Power Windows (Audio CD)
Fantastic musicianship as per usual,a welcome return to the mix for Alex Lifeson,with the guitar and lead solos more noticeable than the last couple of releases. Much of this disc,for me,remains a heavy rock version of Steely Dan,musical perfection sometimes at the cost of raw excitement,well played,constructed and flawless.almost too perfect.

Best tracks 'Big Money' ' & 'Mystic Rythmns','Manhattan Project & 'Territories'

While its not my favourite era 1984-89,this is certainly the best album,its a big bold production with the Bass performance of Geddy under pinning everything as usual,Pearts drumming dynamic and Alex's rightful return as wonderful as it was unexpected, as the rating says i like it ,its just not a 5 star disc for me,it also helped Rush survive the 80's,bringing in more fans,Rush transcending genres,sadly many of the new fans cant accept that long standing Rush fans may hold differing opinions,sad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Soooo close !!!, 31 Mar. 2009
This review is from: Power Windows (Audio CD)
This album came so very close to eclipsing Signals in my own humble opinion. Big Money is a powerful opener, Territories lets Alex Lifeson off the leash in short bursts and Mystic Rhythms is a melodic if laconic closing track. However, Marathon is the stand out track amid this extremely strong collection. I love Power Windows far more than the previous Grace Under Pressure (whch was itself a decent album) and Rush have struggled to recapture much of this song writing quality in subsequent albums which have started to contain too many 'average' tracks by their own high standards ... but I suppose after over 30 years it must be hard to keep churning out stuff of this standard. If you want a decent taster of Rush at their creative best buy this album (along with Signals and Hold Your Fire)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Power Windows My 1st Love!!, 5 April 2009
This review is from: Power Windows (Audio CD)
This was my first RUSH Album in the Vinyl years!!

I was growing up as a Teenager and trying to find my way! this album has many great songs(Grand designs, Big money, emotion detector,mystic rythms, middletown Dreams) which i found uplifting and moving. It wasnt until i went onto their back catalogue that i discovered they were a 3 piece band, the sounds and arrangements made me think they had 4 or 5 members.
in the last 22 years i have seen them 4 times live and recently replaced my old Vinyl and Cassettes with a full set of CD's , Hence my Purchase!

In my view there is not a bad track on this CD!.. in my view there is no one to match them!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible Upgrade In Audio Quality, 23 July 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Power Windows (Audio CD)
I used to have this album as a vinyl version back in the 80's.... all I knew then was highly compressed sound being drawn through worn/fluffy needles, or worse still, cassette copies adding to the muddy sound.
I heard the MP3 version on a friend's player put through a home theatre sound system... some of it made my hairs stand up... I'd never heard this album so well presented... you can actually hear everything along with everything you couldn't hear on scratchy, old vinyl. If you liked the album back then, jump into the 21st century and get the MP3 version, it's a completely different experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A high point in the ever-evolving sound of Rush, 25 Mar. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Power Windows (Audio CD)
"Power Windows" was the first ever album which I heard on cd. When this album was first released back in 1985, a friend then working in the oil industry (and hence rather wealthy!) brought round a portable cd player, and this was the first album which was played. To say that I was blown away would be an understatement- I couldn't believe the depth or clarity of the music, and I resolved to buy a cd player at the earliest opportunity. As an impoverished student this wasn't possible for some time, so I made do with a tape recording of the cd- even this was infinitely better than hearing it on vinyl! To this day, I am still amazed when I hear remastered versions of old albums, and hear intricacies I never heard first time round.
Getting back to this album, it marks a continuing departure away from the heavier sound of the seventies and early eighties towards a more original sound which Rush continued to explore well into the nineties. I prefer this to 1984's "Grace Under Pressure"- but only just. Both to me are better than their later eighties albums, which were too over-produced and lacked the energy of this album or its predecessors. The themes explored here, of ambition alternately thwarted and pushed to extremes, were highly resonant during the height of the Thatcher-Reagan years. However, as is usually the case with Rush, there is little on this album which sounds dated, and it still sounds as fresh today as it did then. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is somehow a special album., 9 Jan. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Power Windows (Audio CD)
Got the version where Amazon give the CD free and you buy the MP3 tracks.

This is like the Yes 90125 album - it kind of stands out.

For the trivia officianados, a power window is mainly two things:
1 yes the slidey thing on the car that lets rain in via a switch
2 when factories want to do a big run of stuff or foundries melt a load of metal, they tell the power companies in advance - the power company lets them know the time period when there will be sufficient extra capacity laid on for that purpose without it dragging the whole grid down - this period of power availability is the 'power window'.

Inference being, there is a window of opportunity when things could be created, and Rush took it to make this album?

So there. I am turning to close the blinds now - a little slow, a little stout...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Epic., 1 May 2013
By 
Mr. A. Moss (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Power Windows (Audio CD)
Despite it's age there's freshness to this album that seems to make even todays rock music sound arthritic. Pathetic even.

This Rush album, above all others, seems to pull in the best bits of all it's predecessors AND the ones that followed, and in doing so becomes the gold standard by which all other rock albums - and not just Rush - must be judged by.
Power Windows hits like an early malicious Tyson blow, with the trio harnessing all their powers into a cacophony of crash chords (Big Money), orgasmic guitar solos (Emotion Detector), keyboard meltdowns (Marathon), crazy bass licks (Territories) and merciless, intelligent drumming throughout (well,what else did you expect?). Truly the ultimate soundtrack for the greed driven aspirations that still drive us.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic 80's Rush., 7 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Power Windows (Audio CD)
Released in 1985, Power Windows doesn't have a weak track on it, in my view. It has nice synthesizers and searing, sparkling, guitar solos. Every song is catchy and melodic. With some thought provoking lyrics. A totally enjoyable listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rush - Power Windows, 2 Mar. 2012
This review is from: Power Windows (Audio CD)
A fantastic album from a great band. Brand new. Perfect seller. Fast shipping. Buy it again without hesitation. 100% recommended. Brief but concise communication
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Power Windows
Power Windows by Rush (Audio CD - 1987)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews