Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars14
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£10.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 August 2011
A great selection of KISS klassics, this legendary greatest hits collection hit record store shelves in april 1978. Their updated version of strutter named "strutter '78" was recorded especially for this album. In my album collection this is one of my most prized possesions. This album had the songs:
1. strutter 78 11. deuce
2. do you love me 12. 100, 000 years
3. hard luck woman 13. detroit rock city
4. calling dr. love 14. rock bottom [intro]/she
5. let me go, rock'n'roll 15. rock and roll all nite
6. love gun 16. beth
7. god of thunder 17. makin' love
8. firehouse 18. c'mon and love me
9. hotter than hell 19. cold gin
10. i want you 20. black diamond

P.S. if you like this album get "the cure galore"
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 20 December 2008
the first of what would ultimately become a steady flow of compilations this is a great place to start your love affair with kiss,sure some are remixed,strutter 78 a new version,but all in all a great compilation,it would be some time before it would be bettered.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2006
I have previously reviewed all of KISS' albums; all 18 studio records, the five live albums, the four solo albums, the tribute album and the compilation albums. Some are fantastic (or better) and some are not as great. For me as a KISS fan, all are worthy. Double Platinum is the only album for which even diehard fans will struggle to find a purpose.

Despite being the first of the compilations, it is the least interesting, there is virtually nothing to recommend it. Compiled from KISS first six studio albums, the tracks have been remixed, generally to poor effect, 100,000 Years in particular is ruined and Calling Dr. Love just sounds plain silly. Then there is the re-recording of Strutter in Strutter '78. This song serves little purpose other than to prove just how important quality production is to music; what was once a magnificent rock song sounds like a feeble and limp pop-rock jam. The only song that makes the album even remotely worth getting is a very good remix of Hard Luck Woman, other than that there is really nothing at all.

For the new fan looking to start there collection - start elsewhere, there are better compilations and album out there. For the completionists - this should be the last one you buy!
55 comments|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2012
these remixed versions of the earlier released songs. At the time this hit disc was seen as a greatest hits package. It had a hit single in the u.s. 'strutter 1978" on it. which sounds quite different and more dancey perhaps. The songs are mixed diffferently and the sound is different. Which means that this is not re-recorded but instead had studio people make a new version of older songs mix wise. which was a interesting idea. Kiss fans liked this one but most of us liked the original versions better. So this is one that fans should grab after getting the early catalog probably. hit single regardless.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2014
Brought this for my Dad as a present because he is a huge fan of KISS. He absolutely loved it. It came in perfect timing for his birthday with no problems. RECOMMEND!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2001
This CD has all the best tracks from all the pre Alive II albums. It has all the well known classics such as Detroit rock City and great songs that arn't as popular for example Duce or Strutter (the best live version i have ever heard!). All in all this is a very worthy Greatest hits for the first few years in Kiss-tory. Buy it now!!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2003
For those that wonder (and didn't already) know, a lot of the tracks on this album were remixed. At the time the producers also chose to alter some things compared to the original tracks. For instance, the drums enter much later on Hard Luck Woman than they do on the version on Rock and Roll Over. For Calling Dr. Love there's some editing done where a part of a chorus disappears. And the intro to Rock Bottom suddenly shows up all by its lonesome right before She. So, in a sense it's an interesting album (but not because of the re-make of Strutter, which is, incidentally, a new studio track) because you'll hear "new" versions of old KISS songs. Unless you own Killers or Smashes, Thrashes and Hits... a lot of the Double Platinum versions ended up there.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2012
It's got all of their classic era hits, but to be honest the remixes don't match the originals, and I guess if you want just one collection, then get something with "Lick it Up" and "I was made for Loving You". That said, there's loads of good tunes on it, so 4*s.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2010
simply the best.the ultimate kiss collection.also includes "strutter 78"!!do not miss....kiss are rock n' roll...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2014
Very good !! I'm up with the purchase, well worth it, I will buy again for more stuff,thanks very excellent!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)