Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love to love this album, 29 Jun. 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Love To Love You Baby (Audio CD)
This record sparkles and shimmers with brilliance, love to love you baby will never be topped, at sixteen minutes it seems too short, i would be happy if it went on forever, it just gets better and better as it unfolds, surely her best ever and one of the absolute pinnacles of popular music.
The other tracks understandably live a bit under its mammoth shadow, but are gems in their own right, Pandora's box is probably the best but to be honest its all just so great you should do it the favour of just floating around in it from beginning to end, that is if you can stop yourself reaching for the repeat button as track one draws to a close
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An EP actually but a really great one!!!, 15 Mar. 2007
This review is from: Love To Love You Baby (Audio CD)
I thought this couldn't work as an album since it has only 6 tracks. But the highlight title track lasting 17 minutes is very uplifting and it gets your feet dancing for all that long. I'll have to tell you that the other tracks are also very good. Many reviewers disagree on that. Anyway, Need-A-Man Blues is uplifting and danceable as well using Donna's erotic vocals and the other 3 tracks are slows. Pandora's Box is a little close to R&B, Full Of Emptiness's music is a little close to Ike Turner's music and Whispering Waves is a ballad to take you away. The Full Of Emptiness Reprise doesn't have an important role but it's another 2 queen of disco minutes. It's her 1st US and 2nd european release and it's worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars had a crush on donna summer all my life, 15 Sept. 2007
By 
This review is from: Love To Love You Baby (Audio CD)
i first heard 'love to love' in the seventies, when i was a kid.
it was absolutely fantastically awesome and mindblowing! not like the stuff so many artists are putting out now.

it really rocked my world and i have been a donna summer fan ever since. i grew out of the 'love' phase but i really hold her and her music dear. i can whole-heartedly recommend donna summer to anyone who hasn't yet heard her hypnotic and mesmerizing sound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally Donna Summer Casablanca Titles Remastered in 2012, 2 Sept. 2012
This review is from: Love to Love You Baby (Audio CD)
To say it has been a long time coming that Universal Music upgrade Donna Summer's early catalog is an understatement It has been in most cases (except for Bad Girls given an upgrade in 2003 with a Deluxe Edition) 20 years or more. And of course it takes Universal Music Japan to do so.Despite the exceedingly high prices for these Japanese titles, her first CD Love to Love You Baby sounds refreshed and I was struck by the improvement. The difference is especially heard on the tracks that follow the 16 minute version of Love to Love You...Improved sonics such as bass and I even heard some instrumentation I hadn't heard on the older CD. The CD also comes with a fold out white insert complete with English lyrics and Japanese lyrics. On this insert it clearly says "24 bit remastering." I think there had been some question whether this CD and the other 7 titles reissued (I Remember Yesterday, Love Trilogy, Four Seasons of Love, Once Upon A Time, Live & More, Bad Girls and On the Radio Vols. 1 & 2) were remastered. Well based on this title, to me is sounds like the answer is yes. I look forward to hearing the others when they arrive. Happy listening to all you Donna Summer fans. Donna R.I.P. your music lives on sounding better than ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Goodbye to another Pop Legend..., 25 May 2012
By 
FAMOUS NAME (UNITED KINGDOM) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love To Love You Baby (Audio CD)
Another great legend sadly now gone...

It's hard to believe for those of us old enough to remember; it's almost forty years since Donna Summer brought us her unique style. This was Ms. Summer's `debut' album featuring her legendary performance and her first hit single: `Love To Love You Baby' which peaked at number four way back in January 1976 in its entirety. No less than sixteen plus minutes long - without a boring single second in sight!

The GTO label spawned some of the most exciting new acts during the seventies - and Ms. Summer was one of their most successful artists scoring hit after hit, and at one time having no less than three singles in the charts at the same time during 1977! This album here includes that first hit, but it would be another year and a half before she would rocket to the top spot with `I Feel Love' featured on her album: `I Remember Yesterday'. (see my Review for that title)

This is a BEAUTIFUL album, and apart from the said single, `Whispering Waves' is probably the most beautiful here - though it really is so very hard to choose from such a great and classic album...

Just six tracks in total, but worth its weight in gold!

Unique and instantly recognisable - Donna Summer passed away on 17th May 2012.

God Bless You Donna - sleep peacefully - and thanks for the great legacy...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic record from an all-time great, 23 July 2012
By 
J. Ferry "Heraclitan" (Menlo Park, CA, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love To Love You Baby (Audio CD)
For me, Donna Summer's early work was classic. She (with Moroder) took disco somewhere new, gave it a new modern, electronic, almost robotic yet passionate edge, leading directly to the birth of electronic dance and trance and other great music of the last 20 years. Love to Love You Baby is a classic and this 15 minute version is the best of them all. I could listen to it a million times and then hit start once again. It is absolutely stuck on repeat, if you get my drift. RIP Donna.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Madonna of her day, 22 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this album out of nostalgia. It was great to dance to at school discos.
The main track which is the title track is just a treat and goes on for ages.
The way she sings the sensual lyrics is amazing and nobody has surpassed her for this style since.
I have also bought her 'A Love Trilogy' album and that also has a deliciously long opening track.
Brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars SIMPLY BRILL, 15 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love To Love You Baby (Audio CD)
THIS SONG ROM THE LOVELY BELATED MISS SUMMER WAS AND STILL IS A FANTASTIC SONG WHICH IM SURE WILL STAND THE TEST OF TIME,ITS A SHAME DONNA IS NO LONGER WITH US
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Disco fun!, 8 May 2015
By 
Mark West (Kettering, Northants United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love To Love You Baby (Audio CD)
Top quality early disco, this highlights Summer's superb vocal range (and the audacity to have the title track take up one side is wonderful!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bought for the long version of Love to love you baby, 27 Mar. 2014
By 
R. Cox "Rob C." (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love To Love You Baby (Audio CD)
Seventies disco classic, what more can I say. Play on a good stereo & enjoy. The other tracks are ok but it's all about the title track.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Love To Love You Baby
Love To Love You Baby by Donna Summer (Audio CD - 1992)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews