Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

  • Cal
  • Customer Reviews

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars28
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
22
4 star
6
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£7.78+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 December 2009
I love the gentleness of this haunting music, it's so relaxing. What a talent this man has.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2013
Delightful, melodic, haunting, gentle, Irish-flavoured music. Wonderful, unique.guitar sound, as one would expect from Mark Knopfler. Gives a warm glow as I listen—it can't be ignored.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2013
What more can be said about one of this countries greatest talents. Mark Knopflers talent made Dire Straits one of the greatest bands of all time and that talent continues today in his , numerous, albums and in particular, his music for film. This superb album is played by a group of the very best musicians, in their respective fields and of course the music is first class.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2001
The guitar melodies are subtle lyrics of one's mind. The short tones 'Waiting for Her' continuing in 'Meeting Under the Trees' shortly entice you away in seconds. However, the enchanting tracks 'Irish Boy', and 'The (Long) Road' convey the aura of inspirational but peaceful clarity of mind and spirit. You are sure to feel your loved one's embracement - whether near or far.... Enjoy both!
0Comment|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2013
I love the haunting music in this CD and found it very listenable to and enjoyable for those quiet nights indoors.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2012
Bought this for my sister who is an avid Mark Knopffler fan. I wasn't aware she already had the vynl version. She appreciated the later technology though. This is a very dated music selection now from the film Cal, but the guitar licks, bends and the sheer sound only Knopffler can make with an electric guitar really come out on this album. If only I could play like that!!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2014
The music on offer here is relaxing, uplifting, and takes the mind on a gentle voyage of relaxation.
Knopfler is at his best here, combining virtuoso guitar performances with soul- stirring undertones from the accompanying instruments.
Highly recommended.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2013
What guitar work the bloke is unquestionably a genius and this shows in this film soundtrack dont know what other superlatives to lay upon this but if you like Knopfler make this one for your collection
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2011
Being a fan of Mark Knopfler I have a collection of his CD's and this is one I have cosidered for some time.
The price was vg. and it is a great moody style listening experience, I am now trying to source the DVD of the film but
have only been able to find an expensive video. hopefully it may be on one of the TV channels.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2012
if you like mark knopflers other soundtracks you will love this. a very absorbing and relaxed album with some great playing. some memorable pieces such as the long road and the guitar motif that runs throughout the album is superb. enjoy
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£5.99
£5.99
£5.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)