Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hard Rock to Soft Rock, pity!
This is Def Leppard's debut album from 1980 and by far their heaviest hard rock offering.
Unfortunately, they found their fame and fortune, by playing Stateside radio friendly rock on their following albums.
I suppose, you can't blame them for that.
This album is hard rock through and through, no weak tracks or fillers.
I remember the first time I...
Published on 24 Aug 2011 by Metalstar

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ROCKS OFF!!!
People always associate Def Leppard with the kind of sugar coated, big haired, commercial rock they dealt out in the late 80s and early 90s. However, that was not always the case.
'On Through The Night' was Leppard's debut album and came out at a time when heavy metal was enjoying a resurgence in the UK in 1980. This album sees the band taking their place besides...
Published on 8 Feb 2009 by Stotty


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ROCKS OFF!!!, 8 Feb 2009
By 
Stotty (Bolton, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On Through The Night (Audio CD)
People always associate Def Leppard with the kind of sugar coated, big haired, commercial rock they dealt out in the late 80s and early 90s. However, that was not always the case.
'On Through The Night' was Leppard's debut album and came out at a time when heavy metal was enjoying a resurgence in the UK in 1980. This album sees the band taking their place besides bands like Iron Maiden and Saxon, who spearheaded the rebirth of metal at the time, and it's a quite remarkable debut, when you consider how young the band members were back then.
The first three tracks, 'Rock Brigade', 'Hello America, and 'Sorrow Is a Woman' get the album off to a storming start. The first two being good balls out rockers with good riffs and lots of energy. The latter being a haunting, dark, brooding ballad.
'Wasted' and 'Rocks Off' are a good pair of galloping metallers and both 'Overture' and 'The Walls Come Tumbling Down' show an epic side to the band.
The whole album has echoes of Thin Lizzy, UFO and even Judas Priest at times, and the enthusiasm and energy with which the band rattle through these tracks make 'On Through The Night' a really entertaining album to listen to. It's a shame that the band have tried to distance themselves from it.
Anyone who has any doubts about Leppard's hard rock credibility, based on the music they have made post 1984 needs to unearth this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hard Rock to Soft Rock, pity!, 24 Aug 2011
This review is from: On Through The Night (Audio CD)
This is Def Leppard's debut album from 1980 and by far their heaviest hard rock offering.
Unfortunately, they found their fame and fortune, by playing Stateside radio friendly rock on their following albums.
I suppose, you can't blame them for that.
This album is hard rock through and through, no weak tracks or fillers.
I remember the first time I heard the raw energy of "Rocks Off" so many years ago, and that track still sounds great today.
British heavy rock pounds out with "Wasted", "Satellite", and what an awesome guitar riff on "Answer To The Master".
They show their song writing talents on "When The Walls ... and the finale "Overture".
The dual guitar attack of Steve Clarke and Pete Willis is captivating throughout, their riffs and solos are memorable and original.
It's a pity (well for me anyway), that songs like Photograph from 1983's Pyromania, catapulted them into stardom and then into the world of American pop rock.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Rock Brigands!, 4 Aug 2011
By 
ratmonkey (Hardy Country) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On Through The Night (Audio CD)
This is good ole fashioned rock and roll - 80s style. It's a shame that their sound changed to the over-gleaned transatlantic shine that they peddle now, as their debut, despite not being a classic by any means, at least sounds far more honest and lots more fun. Today when Leppard do fun party tracks they are usually wince-inducingly apalling or the album, 'Yeah' (shudder). But back in 1980 there was a new sound. A rumbling, galloping, riffy, solo -ey heavy rock sound. It was the sound of early Iron Maiden and the NWOBHM upstarts. And, briefly, it was the sound of Def Leppard. For about 2 or so albums.

'Rock Brigade' is a great little song without ever being a great little song - if you get me?(?). It's got a nice catchy chorus but it's no masterpiece. However it opens proceedings well and it's not a bad introduction to the band. 'Hello America' is much the same. These are 2 absolutely fine, rocking, cheesy tracks that will not change your life in any way. Which is kind of nice. 'Sorrow is a Woman' is the first attempt at the power ballads they became so adept at later on in their career. It's ok but no barn-stormer. 'It Could Be You' is where it all starts to get interesting. It's a great, catchy tune that is easily re-hummable. Excellent chorus. 'Satellite' is another good but no cigar track, although it is rather more sombre than the opening 2. 'When the Walls Came Tumbling Down' is another excellent track. It's almost a prog song. It starts with wind and an english plummy narration and turns into a serious tune with an even more serious chorus. My favourite.

'Wasted' is a good, mid-tempo rocker. 'Rocks Off' shouldn't be good but some heroic widdly bits and and almost-Maidenesque gallop saves it. 'It Don't Matter' is another pretty fair number along the same lines as 'Wasted' only with a better chorus. 'Answer to the Master' sounds like a less heavy early Metallica track. It's groovy and fun and actually quite metal for Leppard. Who'd o' thought? 'Overture' however lets it all down. A 7 minute epic is usually a chance to have a bit of fun. It's starts well enough with ominous acoustic picking but even after many listens it all sounds a bit boring.

Still, it's not at all a disaster. In fact it's on par with High and Dry, even slightly better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Def Leppard "I", 10 Nov 2002
By 
M. D. Rathbone (Runcorn, Cheshire - UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: On Through The Night (Audio CD)
As a debut album it’s good whilst not outstanding. However, this was Def Leppard before “Mutt” Lange, before Phil Collen - and these guys had just about left school!!
The stand-out tracks are “Hello America” or “Sorrow is a Woman”. There’s no doubting the raw energy and enthusiasm on the album but it hasn’t aged very well alongside the later back catalogue.
If you’re looking for an introduction to Def Leppard then go for one of the later albums (Hysteria or Adrenalize) then come back to this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 8 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On Through The Night (Audio CD)
Everything was well done
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars On Through The Night - Def Leppard, 14 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On Through The Night (Audio CD)
I have always been a big fan of Def Leppard, and in my opinion, this CD did not disapoint.
I loved it. What nore can I say?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great C.D!, 3 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On Through The Night (Audio CD)
I love Def Leopard & as I didn't have this album in my collection, I decide it was a must, really enjoyed listening to it. If you are into this great band, you will appreciate this brilliant album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Original and best, 25 Mar 2013
By 
T. Baugh "Timbo" (SE London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On Through The Night (Audio CD)
Been looking for this for a while as I first remember hearing it as a teenager in the early 80's and 'rocks off' stood out as a memorable track for me. Bit of a mixed bag, but still better than the Def Leppard they became when they were at their height of popularity - bit too commercial for my liking!
For me, it was their best album but that's because nostalgia takes over and they were closer to the 'NWOBHM' sound that I like to find - a bit less polished but with energy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A very good album!, 23 Feb 2013
By 
G. Malloy (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: On Through The Night (Audio CD)
Overall I'd say there isn't a duff track on this album, some are better than others, but none are awful, and in my humble opinion Wasted and Rocks Off are still perhaps the best two tracks they have ever laid down, I never tire of hearing them! Trust me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Don't Polish The Diamond, 7 Dec 2012
This review is from: On Through The Night (Audio CD)
I remember mulling over the largely ecstatic reviews of Hysteria during the band's zenith and scratching my head.

It was barely adequate, in terms of engagement or excitement; perhaps akin to a small dose of classic Dire Straits, say.

Here with the album merrily cranking away in the background, it could be a classic slice of Tommy Vance from the era in question.

This is raw Heavy Rock and yes, Metallic in parts; great breaks, top notch rhythm section-marshalling, charging riffs, tremendous harmonies and all conducted with a critical soupcon of frenetic underproduction yet the album is still perfectly formed, melodically, is superbly tight and completely effective, sonically - more than capable of touring in support of any Greats Of The Day you care to name and in the same sphere of brilliance as Maiden's debut LP.

So how and where did it all go wrong?

I suppose the call of filthy, Yankee Doodle lucre and tens of thousands of twinkling stadium hoisted lighters: for this, you can't blame the lads for raking in those untold riches but to we small band of deluded purists, it nonetheless represents one of the worst 'sell outs' not just from the Class Of NWOBHM but all those originating from the heavier end of the rock spectrum, period.

Indeed, you may not care for the way the likes of Maiden and Rush have sometimes tracked but these ensembles have never really 'shattered the illusion of integrity' (check out Rush's 'Headlong Flight' on their just released Clockwork Angels LP - blending techniques that first dealt out orgasmic mosh on Bastille Day in 1975 with aspects of their evolving but no less emphatic genius.)

In summary, a truly stunning debut. And that's that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

On Through The Night
On Through The Night by Def Leppard (Audio CD - 1989)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews