Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review from NewAgeMusicWorld.com
When you say the names Jon Anderson and Vangelis Papathanassiou, most people tend to classify the discography of the two legendary artists by Progressive Rock and Electronic, Soundtrack or Film Score. This is for the most part true, but like many famous musicians of today, one genre category is never enough to satisfy their creative ambitions in entirety.

Jon &...
Published on 1 Jun 2011 by John P. Olsen / Review Publicist

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good album
Bought this just for the 3 best known songs on it, so I got what I wanted out of it. The rest of the album may grow on me over time.
Published 7 months ago by battenburg


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review from NewAgeMusicWorld.com, 1 Jun 2011
This review is from: The Best Of Jon & Vangelis (Audio CD)
When you say the names Jon Anderson and Vangelis Papathanassiou, most people tend to classify the discography of the two legendary artists by Progressive Rock and Electronic, Soundtrack or Film Score. This is for the most part true, but like many famous musicians of today, one genre category is never enough to satisfy their creative ambitions in entirety.

Jon & Vangelis was the successive collaboration when celebrity Yes vocalist Jon Anderson teamed up with the master of electronic music, Vangelis Papathanassiou. Their partnership back in the 1980's produced some incredible melodies which remain ageless classics and a favorite selection for devoted aficionados of both artists, in addition to their individual solo projects which began their rise to stardom. Jon Anderson is currently performing his North American concert tour in 2011.

The Best of Jon & Vangelis is an excellent album from the two artisans who joined forces during those earlier years, which today seem so long ago. The Best of Album in particular is one I would suggest to those less than familiar with their collaboration effort. The songs State Of Independence & I'll Find My Way Home have been two of my personal favorites for many years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Timeless classics, 18 July 2002
By 
Lukas Mariman (Berchem, Belgium) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Best Of Jon & Vangelis (Audio CD)
Near the end of the 1970's, Jon Anderson, of "Yes" fame, teamed up with Greek virtuoso composer/performer Vangelis for a series of albums.
This 1984 compilation album contains a great selection of some of their best songs taken from several of them.
As an introduction to the work of Jon & Vangelis, this album is excellent. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars yes, why not?, 26 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of Jon & Vangelis (Audio CD)
Just about 4 stars, especially if you are a fan.

No really weak tracks on this one. I certainly liked most of them. Almost all their high profile tracks are here, including the marvelous 'I hear you now' and 'I will find my way home'.

Available at a very competitive price from some sellers. Enough said.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A BLAST FROM THE PAST., 7 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of Jon & Vangelis (Audio CD)
A great CD of the very best of Jon & Vangelis. Well worth having in your CD collection. Great in the car.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 31 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What a perfect way to chill listening to music as I sit Fly Tying. It is a complete switch off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good album, 20 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of Jon & Vangelis (Audio CD)
Bought this just for the 3 best known songs on it, so I got what I wanted out of it. The rest of the album may grow on me over time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good album, 13 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of Jon & Vangelis (Audio CD)
have always like jon and vangelis and this is a good album it has a lot of there more popular songs on it a pleasure to listen to
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Blasts from the past, 26 April 2014
By 
Biffo (The last English retreat) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of Jon & Vangelis (Audio CD)
High quality songsmithing and singing. State of indepedence is a gem, either by Jon or Donna Summer, good to hear again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best of Jon & Vangelis, 24 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of Jon & Vangelis (Audio CD)
Love this CD. Always nice to listen to something different. Have always enjoy this artist's
work and was not disappointed with this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 9 Feb 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of Jon & Vangelis (Audio CD)
This a present for a family member, I had the pleasure of listening to this cd whilst at their home. I have bought myself this album. Fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Best Of Jon & Vangelis
The Best Of Jon & Vangelis by Vangelis (Audio CD - 1989)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews