Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
20
4.9 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 August 2013
As an album, Really is one of Cales best, the epitome of the man. Everything's in it's place, the whole thing sounds simple, yet a studious listener will clearly hear that this is simplicity artfully conceived. As for the SHM remaster, well, the mini CD sleeve is perfect, the sound isn't a major improvement on the original Mercury CD (810314-2). There's an improvement in the bass response and overall a slight brightening but it's not a million miles away from the UK edition. However i'm less sure about what tapes/mixes has been used in the remaster here as there are certainly major differences between the CD i've had for years and this one! Two examples: Probably my favourite part of the Mercury CD I've had for years was the short guitar solo in the middle of 'I'll kiss the world goodbye', just beautiful. However on the SHM CD, guess what - there is no guitar solo at all! Another one: On my original Mercury CD 'Right Down Here' has a short ad-lib and bluesy organ interlude around the 2 minute mark. On the SHM remaster, little evidence of any organ, but instead a guitar interlude followed by some trumpets which also don't appear on my original CD. I could probably spend hours finding all the differences but i'd just like to know why it appears a different master/mixes appear to have been used here - missing that guitar solo on 'i'll kiss the world goodbye' is simply indefensible! Overall the SHM CD is a typical Japanese plush CD, but as for these differences i'd like to know more.
55 comments| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 December 2001
JJs second album is a typically laid back affair, all songs recorded within days of each other in backwood studios in Tennesse. Some classic tracks such as "I'll Kiss this world Goodbye " and the brooding "Right Down Here", the album swirls through several different moods of his usual excellent mixture of country blues, rock and jazz. Not quite as exceptional as his debut Naturally, but still has some sublime guitar licks and comes throughly recommended.
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2013
This is the second classic from JJCale and if you have not heard it and you like a mix of blues rock country you must hear him! He has since produced another 15 or so albums but think Naturally and Really are the top classics so start here!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2005
Compared to his famous first album 'Naturally", this album is much more coherent in style; which is more sparse, more soulful. The intimacy of the first is allopver the place; the songs are less minitures of guitarplaying, and more structured.
For those who haven't heard of the great man; his guitar playing influenced Mark Knopfler (heavily) and Eric Calption (although he denies it now). JJ Cale humsings & his songs are Americana avant-la-lettre; a mixture of Country & Blues,with a dash of Folk, Jazz and Soul, without becoming too 'arty'or intellectual, firmly bedded in the great pool of American musisc
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2011
Revisited this album on CD and its still as fresh and fantastic as it was in the 70's. Tracks - everyone a winner. Highly recommend this JJCale album. He is still playing and producing music to a high standard and with Clapton so cant be bad.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2010
JJ Cale's second album is his best in my opinion, the whole album flows very smoothly and is an interesting mix of bluesy, slightly jazzy and rock, with some noce slide guitar and piano, and JJ's understated vocals..
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2009
Bought as a Christmas present, this old treasure from the past is the epitomy of seasonal peace. If more people listened to JJ Cale there would be many more smiles and far less strife.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2013
Very worthwhile and essential if you love JJ Cale. All the tracks are great and its a continuous follow-on/addition to 'Naturally'. Catchy... plus I loved it from the first play.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2012
This is a must have for Cale fans, early stuff,1972.
No standout hit singles,just good laid back music.
I have listened to almost nothing else for weeks since buying this CD.
Ultra cheap price from Amazon,buy it if you have £3.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2015
Brilliant album - reminiscent of my teenage years..
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£5.05
£5.49

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)