Customer Reviews
5


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sublime understatement
Quite simply this album is perfect. JJ Cale is a genius and this for me is his masterpiece. Not one note could be removed without flawing the whole. If you like the covers of his songs made popular by artists such as Eric Clapton then you will be delighted by the originals. I guess I've owned this album for a decade now and yet I never tire of listening to it however wide...
Published on 10 Aug. 2001 by Andy Myers

versus
7 of 40 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars WARNING J J FANS!
The above two reviews are inaccurate and misleading! True J J Cale fans will realise that the track Katy Kool Lady is in fact not Katy Kool Lady at all but an obscure track that none of us have heard before.
Published on 27 Mar. 2005 by e-maneamon


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sublime understatement, 10 Aug. 2001
This review is from: 5 (Audio CD)
Quite simply this album is perfect. JJ Cale is a genius and this for me is his masterpiece. Not one note could be removed without flawing the whole. If you like the covers of his songs made popular by artists such as Eric Clapton then you will be delighted by the originals. I guess I've owned this album for a decade now and yet I never tire of listening to it however wide my collection of other music. Close the curtains, dim the lights, pour a large glass of something and kick back and then put the world to rights...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Second phase, 26 Jun. 2007
By 
D. J. H. Thorn "davethorn13" (Hull, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 5 (Audio CD)
1979's '5' came three years after Cale's previous effort and marked a significant change in his recording ethic. The production on '5' is a little heavier and more polished than on his earlier albums. It doesn't make for a better album, but the material and the playing is, as usual, peerless. Another difference is song length. The longest track on Cale's debut album barely topped three minutes, but here, backed by brass and strings, the moody 'Sensitive Kind' runs to over five. 'Friday', which is cast in Cale's usual blues mode, is over four.

Superb, twirling blues licks open the compelling 'Thirteen Days'; the smouldering 'Boilin' Pot', which is even slower, is just as effective. 'I'll Make Love To You', raided by Eric Clapton for his 'Backless' album, is more uptempo, the most commercial track on the album. 'Don't Cry Sister', 'Fate Of A Fool' and 'Mona' are more in the slower blues mode of the first two tracks. The most distinctive tracks are 'Too Much For Me', a personal favourite that has the spareness of his earlier work and the less impressive 'Let's Go To Tahiti' and 'Katy Kool Lady'. Cale's earlier albums are better, but '5' is still a great effort.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An amazingly mellow album way before its time, 3 Mar. 2001
This review is from: 5 (Audio CD)
I haven't had the opportunity to listen to this album for a number of years and finally decided to treat my self and purchase the CD version...it didnt matter that I cant remember the words, after all this time I can remember the feel good factor of this whole collection...J J Cale enjoyed making this album, you can hear it in every note, just looking at the track listing brought back memories of nights by the fire lsitening to 'Boiling Pot' or 'Katy Cool Lady' I particularly like 'Friday'. I am not a lover of country style music,however,J J Cale both surprises and entertains with his style, it has all the flavour of the american country song at it's best without the 'Twang', I would recommend this to anyone, it has somthing for everybody, trust me.....purchase and enjoy!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 27 May 2008
By 
D. Caskie (Falkirk, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 5 (Audio CD)
This is a great album, my favourite. Let's Go to Tahiti, Friday,Thirteen Days, Don't Cry Sister, Sensitive Kind. This was made for CD, 15 years to early. Okay I like JJ,but this to me is the peak. And Eric Clapton hasn't covered a single track of this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars J J Cale at his best, 9 Nov. 2010
By 
Mrs. J. A. Leytham-gain (Lichfield, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 5 (Audio CD)
I just love this album and bought it to replace my original cassette. It's one of Cale's best and his Katy Kool Lady is for my very special daughter, who, not surprisingly is Kate. It's her song.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Satisfied with purchase !, 2 Oct. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 5 (Audio CD)
Thanks Amazon for stocking old classics such as this. As usual, hassle free buying and delivery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great little album..., 16 April 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 5 (Audio CD)
Really enjoyed listening to this CD, I'd only heard JJ Cale with Eric Clapton, listening to this you realise that its JJ who's been influencing EC all these years. Great laid back tracks, getting better with each listen - well worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars He was right, 23 Jan. 2010
By 
This review is from: 5 (Audio CD)
The review Dave wrote was right.
5 is excellent but Okie is another matter... If there is an odd one out in the early work it's "Really".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Laid back heaven, 28 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 5 (Audio CD)
With the passing of J.J. Cale last year, my wife wanted to replace her old scratched vinyl copy with a CD version for Christmas. Coincidently, I had just bought John Mayer's 'Paradise Valley' album which includes a great version of J.J.'s 'Call Me the Breeze' as a tribute. Although still a 'young turk', Mayer himself is no slouch with the guitar having worked with Clapton and B.B. King, and he clearly reveres J.J. Cale's peerless guitar playing as a great influence on his own. Yes, some of the arrangements on '5' sound a little dated, but when you've got this guy in the driver's seat, you just groove with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic, 21 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 5 (Audio CD)
every wanted to know the inspiration for Clapton's folk/blues era, listen to this and to the original and best Cocaine and others. wonderful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

5
5 by J.J. Cale (Audio CD - 1979)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews