Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Superb - A Great Listen
I have to say at first I wasn't really sure about this album, it's only 24 minutes long and it was written for a film, it might not be that enjoyable to listen to! Boy was I wrong! It may only be 24 minutes but what a 24 minutes! There's only 1 song on the album (Wag The Dog), the rest are instrumental, but I found I was listening to them all over and over again. There's...
Published on 31 Jan 2002

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
A disappointing CD all round. Most tracks are very dull and, to me, the musical highlight of the film, the vocal backing to the presidential ad, is not included. I guess for fans of the composer it works, but if you're just a fan of the film, don't bother!
Published 19 months ago by Biggles


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Superb - A Great Listen, 31 Jan 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Wag The Dog (Audio CD)
I have to say at first I wasn't really sure about this album, it's only 24 minutes long and it was written for a film, it might not be that enjoyable to listen to! Boy was I wrong! It may only be 24 minutes but what a 24 minutes! There's only 1 song on the album (Wag The Dog), the rest are instrumental, but I found I was listening to them all over and over again. There's some Chet Atkins in there, some Shadows, and of course there's Knopfler's own unique style. Particular favourites of mine are Working On It and In The Heartland, although they are all first class. Mark Knopfler, I salute you. Everybody else, buy this album right now, you will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fine soundtrack to a superb film..., 28 Feb 2008
By 
Mr. B. Jackson "mad_vicar" (Anglo Celtic Isles) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wag The Dog (Audio CD)
'Wag The Dog' is one of my favourite films, and I watch it regularly. It has all the elements I find appealing - politics, intrigue, skullduggery, impeccable performances from the entire cast. And, of course, this evocative soundtrack by the multi-talented Mr. Knopfler.

Yes, at 24 minutes, it might be a tad short for those who expect a full hour from an audio CD. But what an excellent 24 minutes! If you are into the film, or merely just interested in Mr. Knopfler's work - both with Dire Straits and solo projects, this CD is a must-have. Just set your player onto 'REPEAT' and you'll get your fill!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not the film soundtrack, and short, but still one of Knopfler's best, 2 Aug 2010
By 
The Guardian (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wag The Dog (MP3 Download)
This is a short but first class collection of eight pieces from the soundtrack of the "Wag the Dog" film (starring Robert De Niro & Dustin Hoffman), all written and performed by the incomparable Mark Knopfler. For anyone who has seen the film, it's important to understand that this collection does not feature the songs by other artists (like Edgar Winter or Willy Nelson) on the original soundtrack, only those composed and performed by Knopfler - copyright issues, probably.

Seven of the numbers are instrumental; only the title track has vocal. It's a great mix: catchy, upbeat yet relaxing, a quality offering from a musician/composer of long experience now confident, mature and at the height of his creative talent.

Although short, it's actually one of Knopfler's best. You'll find yourself listening to it often.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mark knopfler at his best, 4 May 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Wag The Dog (Audio CD)
As this was a film score for an American movie I was unsure what to expect. I should have known better. This is classic Mark Knopfler. From first play it is top quality with Knopfler's unique ear for a catchy tune as usual to the fore. He makes it all sound so easy. If you liked Princess Bride - you will love this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, short, CD of top quality Mark Knopfler music, 28 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wag The Dog (Audio CD)
This excellent CD is short in comparison with his usual albums but that is film music, for you. The tracks have to be listened to, as film music but the quality and enjoyment is all there ; with an obvious large touch of humour. First class 'compact' Compact Disc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy Knopfler listening., 13 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wag The Dog (Audio CD)
This is an easy listening C.D. I used it to improve my guitar playing, Its easy to pick up, and adds to your play list.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 11 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wag The Dog (Audio CD)
A disappointing CD all round. Most tracks are very dull and, to me, the musical highlight of the film, the vocal backing to the presidential ad, is not included. I guess for fans of the composer it works, but if you're just a fan of the film, don't bother!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love, 7 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wag The Dog (Audio CD)
I just love listening to this CD - Mark Knopfler at his best - sheer euphony in my ears. Remember to push the Repeat button :-). Love - love - love.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gift Purchase, 28 Oct 2011
By 
J. M. Cadle "Jan Cadle" (Torquay, Devon) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wag The Dog (Audio CD)
A gift purchase so I can't really review, but it was well received. I believe that it is not up to the usual Mark Knoppler!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not Bad, 27 Oct 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wag The Dog (Audio CD)
Film soundtrack music. Didn't realise this on purchase. Good MK material but not that memorable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wag The Dog
Wag The Dog by Mark Knopfler (Audio CD - 1998)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews