Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Commercial high point, 14 May 2006
By 
Nev Daimler (West Yorkshire, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Love At First Sting (Audio CD)
It's hard to find fault with such a successful album; the Scorpions were already a big name in the rock world, but 'Love at First Sting' propelled them into the major league, making them one of the biggest hard rock acts of not just the mid-Eighties but of all time. Released five years after Uli Jon Roth had departed and the classic Scorpions line-up had been born, 'Love at First Sting' was a solid combination of hard rocking mentality, heavy metal excess, commercial sensibility and the honest creativity of five talented musicians.

However, despite its popularity, 'Love at First Sting' is not without flaws. It holds several classic Scorpions tunes, including what is undoubtedly their finest power ballad - 'Still Loving You', but it's also peppered with filler material, half-baked tunes that pass the listener by and fail to stick in the mind. Hence, at the time, 'Love at First Sting' was considered to be arguably the weakest album made by the definitive quintet of Klaus Meine, Rudolph Schenker, Matthias Jabs, Francis Buchholz and Herman Rarebell.

It's starts impressively enough; 'Bad Boys Running Wild' is a brooding, menacing hard rocker let down only by its somewhat ridiculous title and 'Rock You like a Hurricane' is a triumphant slab of metal, ticking all the right boxes (dodgy lyrics, sing-a-long chorus and fiery guitar solo). The band scored a significant hit in the US with this single, enough for it to get a mention in an episode of The Simpsons. Third track 'I'm Leaving You' is a delight, with it's rather wistful but upbeat tone and 'Coming Home' became the perfect live set opener, the gentle intro creating a perfect contrast to the bombastic metal onslaught of the main song.

But, the sheer quality of the gorgeous mid-paced rocker 'Big City Nights' is marred by it being bracketed by the lame effort of 'The Same Thrill' and the dreary plodding of 'As Soon as the Good Time Roll'. Even 'Crossfire' fails to liven up proceedings, despite its militaristic feel. Hence, the album as a whole tends to drag its feet.

Fortunately, the best moment is saved until the end and the aforementioned 'Still Loving You' is a towering piece of lighters-aloft, misty-eyed majestic hard rock, one of the finest rock ballads of all time. The generally tedious nature of the proceeding ten minutes can be forgiven and for this song alone, 'Love at First Sting' is well worth the purchase price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still Loving This . . ., 29 Aug 2003
By 
David Cranson (Birmingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Love At First Sting (Audio CD)
Ol' Klause always did have a fine voice. Never more so on the standout track here. 'Still Loving You' is by far their best ballad (and I use that word advisedly) ever.
This isn't any wimp-out job of later years, but a slow building, heart-rending, cry from the heart, slowly but surely reaching it's climax of screaming, wailing guitar and emotion drenched, pleading voice. What a way to end an album! Quite frankly any rock band would give their all to write this type of rock-ballad.
So what of the preceding stuff? All present and correct, sir! 'Bad Boys Running Wild', 'Rock You Like A Hurricane', 'Coming Home', 'Big City Nights', & 'The Same Thrill' - their rocksong-for-the-heck-of-it track.
Not exactly high-brow music but very emotive. Not only that it's wonderfully fabulous!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Triumph of Teutonic rock, 1 Aug 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Love at First Sting (Audio CD)
The Scorpions achieved their greatest success in the UK with their epic 'Wind of Change', inspired by the fall of the Berlin Wall, but devotees of the band recognise this earlier album as perhaps their finest achievement. Singer Klaus Meine may have a German accent, but Heavy Rock is a universal language which the Scorps (as they are known to their legions of fans) speak fluently. A savage peal of guitars and the album is underway, with Meine offering a timely warning of the danger posed by 'Bad Boys Running Wild'. Faced with this threat, the listener is offered a stark choice: 'if you don't play along with their games... then you'd better get out of the way'. What would YOU do? If you can't decide, Meine's startling cry of 'Get out ze vay!' has the ring of genuine urgency. Next track is the legendary anthem 'Rock You Like a Hurricane'. If Meine's sincerity was ever in question, the listener is left in no doubt by his mid-chorus screech of 'Gonna rock you baby!!' that he is indeed intent on rocking his fortunate lady 'like a hurricane'. The tone set, the album proceeds with classic following classic. I would pick out Meine's moving tribute to the power of rock, 'The Same Thrill', the euphoric 'Big City Nights', and the groundbreaking power ballad 'Coming Home'. Also worthy of mention is the thought-provoking 'Crossfire', in which Meine ponders the dangers of global nuclear proliferation to the inspired backing of military drums. His question, 'Why cannot people that we made the leaders of the world/Understand that we don't wanna fight?' remains as relevant now as it was on the album's release. The LP's totemic status is confirmed by closing track 'Still Loving You', perhaps the ultimate Scorps classic. This heart-shredding rock ballad sees Meine promising to 'try to change/The zings that killed our love' to an understated backdrop of squealing guitar pyrotechnics from the able fingers of Rudi Schenker. Meine's final cry of 'Still loving you babee!!!' confirms beyond doubt that this was a song especially close to his heart - and, after hearing it, I cannot believe that the lady in question refused to take him back. Only the most stony-hearted listener could hear to this track without feeling their eyes begin to water. And so concludes the (brilliantly titled) LP, 'Love at First Sting', an album apt to leave listeners shocked, reeling, unsteady on their feet, and in some cases prone to nausea and vomiting. Such is truly the power of rock and, more specifically, the mighty power of this Scorps classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you like your Rock classic......, 11 Dec 2012
By 
R. Pestridge - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love At First Sting (Audio CD)
I bought this for the timeless 'Rock You Like A Hurricane' which is, by far, my favourite on this album. Having said that, this is the sort of album I can put on and listen to the whole way through because there's very little filler (This was made in 1984, before downloading changed the way people listened to music!). From the first to last, quality shines through. Other stand out tracks for me are 'Bad Boys Running Wild', 'Big City Nights', 'As Soon As The Good Times Roll' (a slow burner!) and the obligatory big ballad still manages to pack a punch at the end. Would recommend to any fan of Classic Rock.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love at first ting, 19 Nov 2011
This review is from: Love At First Sting (Audio CD)
I first bought this album as an LP in 1985 and then digitally recorded (DDD) cd when that was released in the 1990's. the band were apparently unhappy with the quality of this digital recording and although I loved it , there is something harsh about the individual instuments that make the recording perhaps not an easy issue.This despite the quality of the songmanship.
This new remastered version seems to have resolved the subtle issue that I have with the original recording and the sound of the instruments seem to blend together better.
It was well worth the purchase and it is a case of 3rd time lucky in respect of formats that I have bought this album in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars love at 1st sting, 5 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love At First Sting (Audio CD)
son in law loves i.It was a birthday gift for him..I will b lookin for more for him thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the boys from hanover delivering a hurricane, 9 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love At First Sting (Audio CD)
scorpions at the peak of their powers,from the effervescent "bad boys running wild" to the stirring "still loving you" they display intensity,raw energy,grace and emotion.a must-have for any rock fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Almost 30 years old and still a great album, 11 Dec 2013
By 
Mr. J. Taylor (Dalgety Bay Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love At First Sting (Audio CD)
I already know this album as I originally bought it on audio cassette back in 1985. I am now in the process of updating my music collection into CD'S. It sounds just as good as it has done all those years I had it on tape.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars scorpions, 17 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love At First Sting (Audio CD)
a good rock n roll album from a timeless band i grew up with in my teenage years all those years ago
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Album!, 18 Sep 2013
This review is from: Love At First Sting (Audio CD)
A classic Scorpions album at a very competitive price and in very good condition, if you, like me, prefer to have your music in a tangible physical form shopping through Amazon is an ideal way to track down rare or discontinued albums. Very pleased with my purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Love At First Sting
Love At First Sting by Scorpions (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews