Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Where the Scorpions really sting
Raw and aggressive, 'Blackout' is the sound of the Scorpions stripped down to their grinding, metallic hearts. While other of their albums may be more accomplished, none possess the pure hi-octane heavy metal that is ever-present here. Opening the gates, the title track hurtles out of your speakers and savages your ears like a rabid wolf and second track 'Can't Live...
Published on 14 April 2006 by Nev Daimler

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ok
if a true scopions fan, then you will want this in your collection, but, if only a casual fan, then maybe not. It`s not one of their best, but still worth having
Published 12 months ago by lloydie4


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Where the Scorpions really sting, 14 April 2006
By 
Nev Daimler (West Yorkshire, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Blackout (Audio CD)
Raw and aggressive, 'Blackout' is the sound of the Scorpions stripped down to their grinding, metallic hearts. While other of their albums may be more accomplished, none possess the pure hi-octane heavy metal that is ever-present here. Opening the gates, the title track hurtles out of your speakers and savages your ears like a rabid wolf and second track 'Can't Live Without You' drops the pace but increases the bass, pummelling you into delirious submission before they turn down the aggression while maintaining the energy on 'No One Like You'. A Scorpions classic in the midst of an album full of classics, the use of light and shade is hugely effective when the chorus comes thudding in. 'You Give Me All I Need' follows the same lyrical vein of love and sex, but its run-of-the-mill hard rocking is set alight by a brief but incendiary guitar solo from Rudolph. 'Now!' gets the album back up to the speed it first came at you, with some furious fretwork and a rhythm section running like a full-steam locomotive and long-standing live favourite 'Dynamite' has exactly what the title suggests - the capacity to blow your head off. Only on 'Arizona' do the band take a breather; everything about the track is more laid-back and the music is perfectly in tune with the lyrics, a sweet reminiscence of a particularly memorable lover.

If this album were a zoo, then 'China White' would be the elephant enclosure - a huge, pounding monster, it's undoubtedly the heaviest the Scorpions have ever sounded, with a wonderful, twisted guitar dominating the sound. It creates the perfect prelude to the melancholic cool-down of beautiful closing number, 'When the Smoke is Going Down'.

'Blackout' is a definitive album of early 80's heavy metal, an album that stood out when it was released and stands the test of time, still sounding remarkably fresh in today's metal landscape. Not just a Scorpions classic, this is a metal classic that deserves continued appreciation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You beauty !!!, 6 May 2007
By 
DavyA (Newcastle Upon Tyne, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Blackout (Audio CD)
A really excellent Scorpions album. If you want a bit of quality heavy rock then this album would be a really worthwhile addition to your collection . Blistering & frantic from start to finish, with only the briefest of pauses along the way, there isn't a single disappointing track on this record. The album kicks off with the really energetic "Blackout" which pretty much sets the tone for the rest of the album - some excellent guitar work & really enjoyable rock tunes.
I can't pick a duff track - "Can't Live Without You", "Now", "Dynamite" are amongst the pick of an outstanding crop. Well worth treating yourself to. Possibly,arguably, their finest work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vorsprung durch Technik!, 28 Jan 2008
By 
J. Crampton "Jamie Crampton, Film nut" (Bedford, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Blackout (Audio CD)
Some feats of German engineering are so awesome that one can only gaze in wonderment and this album, fom 1982, is just such a beast. The Scorps, who had clumsily managed to lose not one but 2 highly-rated guitarists in their 10 year or so history (to 1982) in "mad" Micky Schenker and the enigmatic, mysterious and outright bonkers Uli Jon Roth, must have been written off by many at the start of the 1980's. Then this appeared, Kerrang! cover and all, and quite simply it's rock, rock, rock all the way. From opener "Blackout" to "Now" at the end of side 1 with just a brief pause on track 4 "You Give Me All I Need" for a breather, then kicking off again with "Dynamite", a wee diversion into less heavy territory with "Arizona" (about the only track I'm not entirely convinced about) to round off with "China White", an epic along the Kashmir-esque lines, all riffs, swirls and histrionics, and rounding things off nicely with the lighters-up "When The Smoke Is Going Down".
It's not a long album (only 2 tracks hang around for over 4 minutes and it barely manages 40 minutes in total) but that's part of its appeal - tease you then leave you wanting more, those naughty mullet-haired, pyramid-forming sexist German people!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars inspiring heavy rock/metal from a band at their very best, 25 May 2008
By 
amir m (glasgow, scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Blackout (Audio CD)
from 79' to 84' the scorpions produced 4 albums that couldn't be touched with regards to superbly produced energetic punchy metal melody. blackout is perhaps the band's finest achievement of that period - the most "metal" of all scorpions releases. forget the scorpions that would regrettably lose their cool and be known as a "power ballads" band. this album has it all: top song-writing, fantastic arrangements and a delivery that just grabs you by the balls. lead player matthias jabs is on fire. singer klaus meine's vocals are blistering. he would never again reach this level of performance. the production from the legendary dieter dierks (the 5th scorpion) is clinical and crisp. i've never heard a better "metal sound". it's little wonder that the scorpions during this period would inspire future metal acts like guns n roses and ratt.

unsurprisingly their are many scorpions classics on this record - title track blackout, can't live without you, dynamite etc etc. as others here have said the ultra heavy "china white" is a metal gem. "arizona" is a personal favourite.

the clarity of this digital remaster is something to behold finally letting this classic work be heard as it should be. an essential record for anybody into metal and hard rock.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Scorpions At Their Best, 2 July 2001
This review is from: Blackout - Scorpions (Audio CD)
Any Scorpions fan will see this album for what it is - BRILLIANT! This was the first Scorpions album I heard back in the early 80's and still remains my favourite of the Schenker/Meine duo. If any real rockers don't like this then I'm afraid your brain dead! My favourite track has to be CHINA WHITE. It reminds me a bit of early Sabbath - but hey being compared to the MASTERS OF REALTY can't be bad!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb stuff., 12 May 2003
This review is from: Blackout - Scorpions (Audio CD)
Fast, fun, frivolous. Corny, catchy, classic.
This is music to lift your mood. It's old enough that the corniness of the lyrics just raises a smile rather than causing embarrasment. The music is exciting and exhilarating. The Scorpions are a band who are good at disguising how good they are: brilliant playing and song structuring are hidden behind their catchy, hooky numbers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have, 6 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blackout - Scorpions (Audio CD)
Possibly the best Scorpions album ever. 9 tracks and no fillers, just killers. Ballads, rockers, heavy metal : nothing but a GREAT record
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brings back memories of the 80's, 2 Jan 2014
By 
Mr. J. Taylor (Dalgety Bay Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blackout - Scorpions (Audio CD)
Currently updating my CD collection by replacing my old record/tape collection. I first saw the Scorpions on the tour for this album in 82. when the smoke is going down and cant live without you are the best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars no blackout here lights on, 17 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blackout - Scorpions (Audio CD)
bought as well to replace3 my old vinyl copies so happy as an elephant in custard with my purchase been a long time fan of these boys
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blew me away, 24 July 2010
This review is from: Blackout (Audio CD)
Fantastic powerful album, so hard to blieve that Klaus was having voice problems. Blackout is a thundering powerful studio anthem which kicks of the album nicely. Can't Live Without You is another powerful song with great guitar work and vocals. Dynamite packs a punch showing the great vocal range and the guitar tallent of Matthias Jabs and Rodulf Schenker. China White has a very heavy riff and Klaus' voice has great power on this track. The lyrics are quite and dark and doom laden, great song writing by the band. The ballads You Give Me All I Need and When the Smoke is Going down show the Scorpions tallent of being able to go from dark and heavy to gentle and meaningful fab songs. No One Like you is a fantastic track the guitar work and vocals are of a very high quality.
All in all a great album well worth buying if you are a Scorpions fan or a rock fan !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Blackout - Scorpions
Blackout - Scorpions by Scorpions (Audio CD)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews