Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic rock album from the Scorpions
To begin to appreciate this album, you have to look at the circumstances surrounding it's recording. Ulich Roth had left the Scorpions after 4 studio and 1 live album, and Michael Schenker had left UFO. Michael briefly rejoins the Scorpions and plays on 3 tracks on this album, the rest feature the Scorpions' new guitarist Matthias Jabs. From the opening track,...
Published on 28 Aug 2001

versus
10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Ruined by re-mastering
One of my all-time favourite albums made all but unlistenable by a screwball (re)mastering engineer. Everything, every single instrument and vocal, is adjusted to be at exactly the same volume completely ruining the balance of the music. Without quiet bits you haven't got loud bits! It even sounds bad in the car it's that poor.
Unfortunately one of many albums...
Published on 4 Feb 2009 by bobm


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Scorps at their very best, 21 Sep 2010
This review is from: Love Drive (Audio CD)
This album is a timeless classic - the mix of hard rock and unusual sounds ( instrumental/ballads/etc) make it an interesting and highly enjoyable listen
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars TRACK LIST:, 1 Sep 2010
By 
D. J. Hern "DaveJH" (Material World (Just visiting)) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lovedrive [VINYL] (Vinyl)
1. Loving You Sunday Morning
2. Another Piece Of Meat
3. Always Somewhere
4. Coast To Coast
5. Can't Get Enough
6. Is There Anybody There?
7. Lovedrive
8. Holiday
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Muff's Favourite, 17 Jan 2009
This review is from: Lovedrive (Audio CD)
This is a fantastic album. Long before Metallica came on the scene the best rockers from Germany produced this blinding record. So after many years playing the grooves out of my vinyl copy I bought this CD. Any self-respecting hard rock/heavy metallist would love this album. But for me, after this album my love affair with the Scorpions was over. While Mathias Jabs is certainly no mean guitarist, I think the band were at their best playing their exploratory almost progressive rock style with Ullrich Roth at the guitar helm. Previous albums like, lonesome crow, fly to the rainbow, in trance, virgin killer and taken by force should all be listened to before finding whatever method necessary to destroy the cheesey "winds of change" -berlin wall made famous song. Puke. The Scorpions only really got it right once after Ulrich Roth left and that is this album, LOVEDRIVE.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Teutonic(!) - sorry . . . :o), 29 Aug 2003
By 
David Cranson (Birmingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lovedrive (Audio CD)
The Scorps have become a bit of an enigma in recent years, but way back here is where they strode on after the departure of Uli Jon Roth into spaced out circles. The band themselves crunched on in fine fashion releasing some of their best known and finest work over the succeeding years.
Standout on this album include 'Lovedrive' itself, 'Holiday', 'Coast To Coast & 'Can't Get Enough'. They always did one full-on/rock-out/couldn't give a- track on their albums, and the latter was the one on this album.
They may be dismissed nowadays by most people, but for finding out where they (re)started this is a good album . . .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lovedrive - Is the Scorpions at their very best !, 9 May 2003
By 
c j haws (Hertford, Herts United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Lovedrive (Audio CD)
This album has only eight songs on it, yet five of them have managed to make on to the Best of Scorpions compilation album. That is really a testament to the quality of the songs on this album. This album still sounds as good today as when it was first released. An absolute masterpiece !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love this Lovedrive., 7 Jan 2003
This review is from: Lovedrive (Audio CD)
This is My favourite Scorpions album. It has 8 Songs on it, "Loving you Sunday morning" you know is great because it made it on the "Bad for Good, Very best of" CD. "Always Somewhere" and "Holiday" are wonderful ballads which every one enjoys. "Coast To Coast" and "Lovedrive" Are 2 of my albsolute favourites. "Coast to Coast" Is an instrumental, quite wonderfully played. Lovedrive is almost like a Best Of album because all the songs are great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of their best!, 15 Oct 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lovedrive (Audio CD)
The vivacity of this album has not changed for me for the best part of 35 years! Every time I listen to it I am anticipating every next track. Great album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Looking for love in the back of a Taxi?, 13 April 2013
By 
Pesto Fingeration (Chez Vegas, Englandland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Lovedrive (Audio CD)
Do you like Arthropods?
Do you like Love?
Do you like Driving?
Do you like Rude Olf?
Do you like Germans?
DO YOU VEEL ALLLRRRRIIIIIIGGGGGGHHHHHHHTTTTTTTT?????
Well if you do, get this!

I came to the Scorpions after the release of Tokyo Tapes which was the swansong of the Uli Roth era Scorpions.
This here Lovedrive features new boy Matthias Jabs and old boy Mad Michael Schenker. One of whom is not too shabby, the other a Guitar GOD.
Opener the laid back Rock of Loving You Sunday Morning doesn't prepare you for the FULL ON FEROCIOUS FACE MELT of Another Piece of Meat, so good it made my nodding dog's head fall off! Always Somewhere is lighters in the air time and Coast to Coast let's old Klaus Meine take a rest. I can't get enough ups the pace again before we get the Reggae Metal of Is There Anybody There? So that's where Rush got the idea from? Lovedrive the track itself has just become today's earworm because I typed it and then we all get nice and chilled on a Holiday.

All in all a KRAKKING good album with more good tracks than a squadron of Panzers.

YOU VILL ALL OBEY ZER ORDERS UND BUY ZIS! SCHNELL!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lovedrive
Lovedrive by Scorpions (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews