Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic rock album from the Scorpions
To begin to appreciate this album, you have to look at the circumstances surrounding it's recording. Ulich Roth had left the Scorpions after 4 studio and 1 live album, and Michael Schenker had left UFO. Michael briefly rejoins the Scorpions and plays on 3 tracks on this album, the rest feature the Scorpions' new guitarist Matthias Jabs. From the opening track,...
Published on 28 Aug 2001

versus
11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Ruined by re-mastering
One of my all-time favourite albums made all but unlistenable by a screwball (re)mastering engineer. Everything, every single instrument and vocal, is adjusted to be at exactly the same volume completely ruining the balance of the music. Without quiet bits you haven't got loud bits! It even sounds bad in the car it's that poor.
Unfortunately one of many albums...
Published on 4 Feb 2009 by bobm


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic rock album from the Scorpions, 28 Aug 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Love Drive (Audio CD)
To begin to appreciate this album, you have to look at the circumstances surrounding it's recording. Ulich Roth had left the Scorpions after 4 studio and 1 live album, and Michael Schenker had left UFO. Michael briefly rejoins the Scorpions and plays on 3 tracks on this album, the rest feature the Scorpions' new guitarist Matthias Jabs. From the opening track, "Loving you Sunday morning" to the closing track, "Holiday", the Scorpions are perfect. Every track is a Scorpions classic. There are high-energy rockers and two soulful ballads. Check out "Is there anybody there" and "Another piece of meat" for sheer brilliance. This album really has stood the test of time, the Scorpions still play many of these songs today (check out the Acoustica DVD). I realise that every Scorpions fan owns this CD, if you don't, do yourself a favour and buy it. You won't be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Immaculate, 24 May 2006
By 
Nev Daimler (West Yorkshire, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Lovedrive (Audio CD)
If I could award an album six stars, I'd do so without hesitation for `Lovedrive', undoubtedly the Scorpions' finest studio moment. From the opening chords of `Loving You Sunday Morning' to the closing notes of `Holiday', this record is sheer hard rock perfection. It's the first work of the definitive Scorpions line-up and it's easily their best. With Uli Jon Roth having moved on to a solo career, the band had lost a gifted guitarist blessed with originality and flair and, for better or worse, their sound would never be the same. However, instead of continuing (and undoubtedly stumbling) along in the same direction, they closed that chapter of their history, brought in a new, more metal-hearted guitarist and redefined their sound.

`Lovedrive' is slick, professional and sophisticated. Every track is a classic and every moment is an absolute joy and as such it's difficult to find a low point and impossible to pick a favourite song. `...Sunday Morning' is a deliciously chilled-out melodic rocker, `Another Piece of Meat' and `I Can't Get Enough' are fiery metallic monsters. `Always Somewhere' is a ballad par excellence, the beauty of which is matched later by the simply exquisite `Holiday' and with `Coast to Coast', the Scorpions made one of the great instrumentals of the heavy rock world. `Is There Anybody There' provides a different vibe and a chance for a great singalong yet fits the mood perfectly, and the title track is a masterpiece, possessing a gutsy, driving bass and what is without question one of the finest heavy metal guitar solos in existence, courtesy of guest Michael Schenker.

If I were to pick any flaw in this masterwork, it would be the occasional lyric - they've never been the strong point of the band. Fortunately Klaus Meine can often be indecipherable, so it hardly matters.

This is definitive Scorpions, an album that has stood the test of time and still sounds remarkably fresh, yet has the indelible mark of classic Seventies hard rock. It remains an essential purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 18 July 2007
By 
This review is from: Love Drive (Audio CD)
I bought 'Lovedrive' on vinyl in 1979 and it is still my favourite hard rock album of all time - ever. It is hard , fast, well-produced and the vocalist, Klaus Meine, is a legend. The guitar work is exceptional.

Each track is a classic. 'Lovedrive', 'Loving you Sunday morning' and 'Can't get enough' are the epitome of hard rock while 'Always somewhere' and 'Holiday' are classic ballads. 'Is there anybody there ?' possesses a reggae under-beat. Buy this and you won't regret it. It will be played at my funeral !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Ruined by re-mastering, 4 Feb 2009
By 
This review is from: Lovedrive (Audio CD)
One of my all-time favourite albums made all but unlistenable by a screwball (re)mastering engineer. Everything, every single instrument and vocal, is adjusted to be at exactly the same volume completely ruining the balance of the music. Without quiet bits you haven't got loud bits! It even sounds bad in the car it's that poor.
Unfortunately one of many albums given this treatment recently, apparently it's done to sound "lively" to people using ipod earphones.
Buy the old, unrematered, version if you can get hold of one to hear it how the Scorpions wanted it to sound....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the buisnes, 21 Sep 2001
By 
Mr. Martin Davies "blackcatdavciq" (united kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love Drive (Audio CD)
i was never a big fan of heavy rock,but this cd opened many new aspects of rock to me. on the one hand you have no holds barred rock,in tracks like another piece of meat,to far removed mood inspired tracks like always somewhere,to guitar orionated rock,in coast to coast. if any rock inoriated fan does not have this album,do yourself a favior and buy it now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You never forget the first time, 6 Aug 2008
This review is from: Love Drive (Audio CD)
My first rock album - and no it wasn't for the cover! - and 30 ish years later it's still a belter. The instrumental coast to coast, Always somewhere and the outstanding Holiday for the lighter waving brigade, and for the front row sweaty armpits another piece of meat. No-one commands a stage like the Scorpions..... must be something to do with class.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars cd, 14 Nov 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lovedrive (Audio CD)
Had this album on Vinyl but decided I need it as a cd so that I can turn it into a digital format great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good memories, 24 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lovedrive (Audio CD)
I bought this cd because i had it on record years ago,i keep getting cds which i had in my record collection this sounds just as good as it did when it first came out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Muff's Favourite, 17 Jan 2009
This review is from: Lovedrive (Audio CD)
This is a fantastic album. Long before Metallica came on the scene the best rockers from Germany produced this blinding record. So after many years playing the grooves out of my vinyl copy I bought this CD. Any self-respecting hard rock/heavy metallist would love this album. But for me, after this album my love affair with the Scorpions was over. While Mathias Jabs is certainly no mean guitarist, I think the band were at their best playing their exploratory almost progressive rock style with Ullrich Roth at the guitar helm. Previous albums like, lonesome crow, fly to the rainbow, in trance, virgin killer and taken by force should all be listened to before finding whatever method necessary to destroy the cheesey "winds of change" -berlin wall made famous song. Puke. The Scorpions only really got it right once after Ulrich Roth left and that is this album, LOVEDRIVE.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Teutonic(!) - sorry . . . :o), 29 Aug 2003
By 
David Cranson (Birmingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lovedrive (Audio CD)
The Scorps have become a bit of an enigma in recent years, but way back here is where they strode on after the departure of Uli Jon Roth into spaced out circles. The band themselves crunched on in fine fashion releasing some of their best known and finest work over the succeeding years.
Standout on this album include 'Lovedrive' itself, 'Holiday', 'Coast To Coast & 'Can't Get Enough'. They always did one full-on/rock-out/couldn't give a- track on their albums, and the latter was the one on this album.
They may be dismissed nowadays by most people, but for finding out where they (re)started this is a good album . . .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lovedrive
Lovedrive by Scorpions (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews