Customer Reviews


49 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic rock album from the Scorpions
To begin to appreciate this album, you have to look at the circumstances surrounding it's recording. Ulich Roth had left the Scorpions after 4 studio and 1 live album, and Michael Schenker had left UFO. Michael briefly rejoins the Scorpions and plays on 3 tracks on this album, the rest feature the Scorpions' new guitarist Matthias Jabs. From the opening track,...
Published on 28 Aug. 2001

versus
13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Ruined by re-mastering
One of my all-time favourite albums made all but unlistenable by a screwball (re)mastering engineer. Everything, every single instrument and vocal, is adjusted to be at exactly the same volume completely ruining the balance of the music. Without quiet bits you haven't got loud bits! It even sounds bad in the car it's that poor.
Unfortunately one of many albums...
Published on 4 Feb. 2009 by bobm


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic rock album from the Scorpions, 28 Aug. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Love Drive (Audio CD)
To begin to appreciate this album, you have to look at the circumstances surrounding it's recording. Ulich Roth had left the Scorpions after 4 studio and 1 live album, and Michael Schenker had left UFO. Michael briefly rejoins the Scorpions and plays on 3 tracks on this album, the rest feature the Scorpions' new guitarist Matthias Jabs. From the opening track, "Loving you Sunday morning" to the closing track, "Holiday", the Scorpions are perfect. Every track is a Scorpions classic. There are high-energy rockers and two soulful ballads. Check out "Is there anybody there" and "Another piece of meat" for sheer brilliance. This album really has stood the test of time, the Scorpions still play many of these songs today (check out the Acoustica DVD). I realise that every Scorpions fan owns this CD, if you don't, do yourself a favour and buy it. You won't be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Immaculate, 24 May 2006
By 
Nev Daimler (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Lovedrive (Audio CD)
If I could award an album six stars, I'd do so without hesitation for `Lovedrive', undoubtedly the Scorpions' finest studio moment. From the opening chords of `Loving You Sunday Morning' to the closing notes of `Holiday', this record is sheer hard rock perfection. It's the first work of the definitive Scorpions line-up and it's easily their best. With Uli Jon Roth having moved on to a solo career, the band had lost a gifted guitarist blessed with originality and flair and, for better or worse, their sound would never be the same. However, instead of continuing (and undoubtedly stumbling) along in the same direction, they closed that chapter of their history, brought in a new, more metal-hearted guitarist and redefined their sound.

`Lovedrive' is slick, professional and sophisticated. Every track is a classic and every moment is an absolute joy and as such it's difficult to find a low point and impossible to pick a favourite song. `...Sunday Morning' is a deliciously chilled-out melodic rocker, `Another Piece of Meat' and `I Can't Get Enough' are fiery metallic monsters. `Always Somewhere' is a ballad par excellence, the beauty of which is matched later by the simply exquisite `Holiday' and with `Coast to Coast', the Scorpions made one of the great instrumentals of the heavy rock world. `Is There Anybody There' provides a different vibe and a chance for a great singalong yet fits the mood perfectly, and the title track is a masterpiece, possessing a gutsy, driving bass and what is without question one of the finest heavy metal guitar solos in existence, courtesy of guest Michael Schenker.

If I were to pick any flaw in this masterwork, it would be the occasional lyric - they've never been the strong point of the band. Fortunately Klaus Meine can often be indecipherable, so it hardly matters.

This is definitive Scorpions, an album that has stood the test of time and still sounds remarkably fresh, yet has the indelible mark of classic Seventies hard rock. It remains an essential purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 18 July 2007
By 
This review is from: Love Drive (Audio CD)
I bought 'Lovedrive' on vinyl in 1979 and it is still my favourite hard rock album of all time - ever. It is hard , fast, well-produced and the vocalist, Klaus Meine, is a legend. The guitar work is exceptional.

Each track is a classic. 'Lovedrive', 'Loving you Sunday morning' and 'Can't get enough' are the epitome of hard rock while 'Always somewhere' and 'Holiday' are classic ballads. 'Is there anybody there ?' possesses a reggae under-beat. Buy this and you won't regret it. It will be played at my funeral !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the buisnes, 21 Sept. 2001
By 
Mr. Martin Davies "blackcatdavciq" (united kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love Drive (Audio CD)
i was never a big fan of heavy rock,but this cd opened many new aspects of rock to me. on the one hand you have no holds barred rock,in tracks like another piece of meat,to far removed mood inspired tracks like always somewhere,to guitar orionated rock,in coast to coast. if any rock inoriated fan does not have this album,do yourself a favior and buy it now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Ruined by re-mastering, 4 Feb. 2009
By 
This review is from: Lovedrive (Audio CD)
One of my all-time favourite albums made all but unlistenable by a screwball (re)mastering engineer. Everything, every single instrument and vocal, is adjusted to be at exactly the same volume completely ruining the balance of the music. Without quiet bits you haven't got loud bits! It even sounds bad in the car it's that poor.
Unfortunately one of many albums given this treatment recently, apparently it's done to sound "lively" to people using ipod earphones.
Buy the old, unrematered, version if you can get hold of one to hear it how the Scorpions wanted it to sound....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great melodic metal lives on!, 3 July 2012
By 
Michael Dobey (colorado springs) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lovedrive (Audio CD)
This was great melodic metal and it made the scorps popular among metal fans far more than their earlier output had. Some people call this arena rock , all that means is that this band was good enough to sell out arenas! Other bands were stuck in small venues and could never capture the fanbase that this great band did. Up until this point the scorps were heavily hendrix influenced among other styles and it was great stuff with uli roth playing his best. But this sound was a new direction and it was more melodic than what can before. This one set the standard for the band in coming 3 decades. It even has Michael Schenker on a few tracks again , the first since 'fly to the rainbow'. Mathias Jabs has to take credit for the way the new sound flows and I loved the older scorpions. I really did but this was the type of cd that every song was filled with flowing energy. They still play some of these songs live too. The sound is great on this cd so that's a added bonus. There are no bonus tracks though and the scorps need a boxset someday to put all their rarities on and there are many of them. I have many rare tracks on single cd's etc. Anyways this is a great one to grab for all fans of 1980's sounding metal. And this was released in 1979!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Their worldwide successs starts here., 3 Feb. 2015
This review is from: Lovedrive (Audio CD)
Now this is more like it! After recording a few average, or below average albums throughout the 70s; the Scorpions finally deliver a better, more accessible set packed full of rocking tunes such as Another Piece of Meat; Loving You Sunday Morning; Coast to Coast, and the excellent title track. I like that lyric "my scorpions got it's sting".
And theres the controversial cover art. A man reaches his hand to grope a womans breast, only to find out that she put copious amounts of chewing gum on the nipple, and, well you know the rest!
Always Somewhere is the quieter of the tunes, and musically anticipates an 80s rock sound 1 year early. Best track on the album is Holiday. This "lighters in the air" acoustic orientated ballad is a masterpiece and makes you want to sing along to it. Along with In Search of the Peace Of Mind, this is their best song.
I think that the Scorpions finally got it right with Lovedrive, and was a vast improvement on earlier recordings. The record buying public acknowledged that too; making Lovedrive their first charting album in Britain, and made Is There Anybody There? their 1st hit single, peaking at #36 and #39 respectively.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You never forget the first time, 6 Aug. 2008
This review is from: Love Drive (Audio CD)
My first rock album - and no it wasn't for the cover! - and 30 ish years later it's still a belter. The instrumental coast to coast, Always somewhere and the outstanding Holiday for the lighter waving brigade, and for the front row sweaty armpits another piece of meat. No-one commands a stage like the Scorpions..... must be something to do with class.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Muff's Favourite, 17 Jan. 2009
This review is from: Lovedrive (Audio CD)
This is a fantastic album. Long before Metallica came on the scene the best rockers from Germany produced this blinding record. So after many years playing the grooves out of my vinyl copy I bought this CD. Any self-respecting hard rock/heavy metallist would love this album. But for me, after this album my love affair with the Scorpions was over. While Mathias Jabs is certainly no mean guitarist, I think the band were at their best playing their exploratory almost progressive rock style with Ullrich Roth at the guitar helm. Previous albums like, lonesome crow, fly to the rainbow, in trance, virgin killer and taken by force should all be listened to before finding whatever method necessary to destroy the cheesey "winds of change" -berlin wall made famous song. Puke. The Scorpions only really got it right once after Ulrich Roth left and that is this album, LOVEDRIVE.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love Drive!, 16 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love Drive (Audio CD)
Not going to go on too much but just to say what a brillant album.Have always been a Scorpians fan and have seen them several times over the 'heavy metal years'.Recently since hitting my early 40's have found myself listening to much more older music as there's so many good albums out there,have felt the calling to start buying the entire back catalogue of the Scorpians,everyone reviews this album as a great one to own-and guess what there right its brilliant!what a band.
Only bad thing i would say about my purchase watch out for the production side of it as my version with original recording is of poor sound quality,still brilliant and worth buying but if you can find a re-mastered version it would be much better.
Buy this album you wont regret it from a fantastic band that will always be great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lovedrive
Lovedrive by Scorpions (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews