Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Grand Designs
Power Windows is that rarest of animals; a perfect album. Every track, the mood of the album, is electric. It is also one of the very best Rush albums. Polished, slick and glossy but more importantly, it is infused with layered depths of emotional and musical intelligence.

Grand Designs and Middletown Dreams overflow with excitement, powerful pulsating...
Published on 23 Nov 2008 by G. Young

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Power Windows
Not the best album produced by Rush but always been a fan of the unusual vocal, if you are a Rush fan you will enjoy but not their best piece
Published 10 months ago by MARK SHAW


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Grand Designs, 23 Nov 2008
By 
G. Young (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Power Windows (Audio CD)
Power Windows is that rarest of animals; a perfect album. Every track, the mood of the album, is electric. It is also one of the very best Rush albums. Polished, slick and glossy but more importantly, it is infused with layered depths of emotional and musical intelligence.

Grand Designs and Middletown Dreams overflow with excitement, powerful pulsating basslines, combined with some of Neil Peart's most heroic, unusual, complex and exciting drum fills, fully brought to life by the lush, full bodied production.

Elsewhere, Marathon and Emotion Detector burst with feeling via Alex Lifeson's stunning guitar work. The Big Money will make you wonder how on earth three musicians can create something that sounds so vast. I find the songs pulse with energy and vibrancy, almost like a living thing, the craftmanship and quality of the songwriting is first class. This is one of those records that can transport you to another place, it is like taking a walk on a dark evening with lightning in the sky and a brilliant full moon, remote in the blackness, this is a record that will make you feel alive.

Power Windows is one of the best rock albums you will ever hear. Rush blended electronics with the full power of traditional instrumentation to create something quite extraordinary. To fully appreciate this album in its correct context I strongly recommend the previous studio album, Grace Under Pressure (an album approaching perfection) and Hold Your Fire - the latter being the sister record to Power Windows as it shares many rhythmic similarities and contains further developments on the the themes of power and emotion. Also, Rush experiment further with the fusion of electronic and acoustic instrumentation. Rush have never been afraid of taking chances, they are musical scientists exploring sprawling new avenues of sound with a rare honesty and bristling intelligence. For me, Power Windows rates amongst their best work, alongside Hemispheres, Permanent Waves, Moving Pictures and A Farewell To Kings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Deep, powerful and quite exquisite, 22 Oct 2004
By 
This review is from: Power Windows (Audio CD)
This is the only Rush album that I own .. which is odd, because this is one of my all time favourite albums. A friend lent me a cassette copy of this in 1991 whilst at Uni. I listened to it at night, in bed with my walkman - and it has left a deep impression on me. Later I purchased it on CD.
I usually am not one for deep lyrics, which I feel can often be pretentious and just get in the way of the music. Normally my ear gravitates towards instrumental performances. However this album has it all - fantastic instrumental performances and beautifully crafted lyrics that poetically yet efficiently ram the point home. The use of synthesisers (a new departure for Rush at the time - I think) is just perfect, blending wonderfully with Geddy Lee's superb bass lines and Lifeson's distant and reverb laden guitars, giving the album a smooth and mystical vibe. Production is 1st class - Pearts drums sit nicely with Lee's bass in the mix. Fantastic, memorable melodies - many of the vocal lines have real hooks and you can't help but sing along. This album is just beautiful - I can't praise it enough.
That's my opinion - as a non Rush aficionado!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rush's finest, 20 Sep 2006
This review is from: Power Windows (Audio CD)
This was the first Rush album I listened to and despite loads of other songs I like spread across several albums this is my favourite. Here they found a perfect balance between great lyrics and great song writing and the arrangements are not as full on as in earlier recordings yet still have maximum impact. Always sublime to put the vinyl on and after the crackling wait for the opening of the first track.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best SYNTH album of the 80's... no doubt about it!, 6 July 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Power Windows (Audio CD)
Power Windows was released in October 1985, smack bang in the middle of 80's as u'd expect from rock titan's rush, excellent and intelligent songs await the listener with ABSOLUTELY NO FILLER WHATSOEVER!
Rush's career at this point featured the highest level of synthesizer in any of their albums, but power windows is so much more than the usual pop synth style trash circulating around in '85.
It was in my opinion ever since it's release been overshadowed by rush's previous rock staples 'hemispheres' and 'moving pictures'

Power windows or infact any of their 80's syntheiser albums will ever be regarded as their best, it is however still a classic no doubt about it, although this type of music in particular will never appeal to everyone it is definatly an album of it's time taken at face value and not comparing to so many other of rush's amazing releases, it is likely that power windows will become both a top 5 rush fan favourate and to also the casual listener.

THE BIG MONEY - AH what a cracking start to an album, well balanced guitar and synth throughout, an amazing riff chorus and solo from Lifeson also compliment the song greatly, a live and Hit favourate easy to see why outstanding song... 10/10

GRAND DESIGNS - Great song again very intriguing synth bursts you can see the relativity with the lyrics with the comment i made above 'so much style without substance' indeed! 9/10

MANHATTAN PROJECT - An umbelivable gem of a song amazing quality control on synths by geddy, very melodic but packs a punch too, could never imagine power windows a classic without this song! special mention to the intricacy and accuracy of the peart's drumming at the end i wonder sometimes are they human it's that good. 10/10

MARATHON - A breathtaking song to say the least, full of catchy synth hooks abound behind very melodic soloing from lifeson but most people including myself find the synth chorus the real gold in this song i cannot fault this song either 10/10 should be 11!

TERRITORIES - Probably the most guitar work of the 8 songs should be very welcomed by rush's 70's fans, A very very good song indeed in between the loud plunging of geddy's synth work, lifeson gives it his all on guitar but credit here must be given for Geddy's vocals which are arguably the best yet from any rush song, i can't imagine this song disapointing anyone! 10/10

MIDDLETOWN DREAMS - Apropriatly titled, here synth is on full blaze quite mellow in relation to the previous three but the ending for power and melody gives any of the songs on Power Windows a good run for their money absolutely not a throw away number! Great song 9/10

EMOTION DETECTOR - Well if geddy here was experimenting on how melody could bring a tear to the listers eye here he succeeds.
Full marks on bravery this song could well have been a huge failiure, fortunatly it isn't this song contains the most synth in all of rushes huge back catalogue that dosn't go over the top... very enjoyable! 9/10

MYSTIC RHYTHMS - Here the last song, and the best one is absolutely incredible, the range of back drops and flashy synth at the start of the song and between the chorus creates a very atmospheric and eerie tune (Creaking doors as well) hugely complex and melodic beyond imagination the three guys here are on red alert and maximum ability is clear to see one of rush's best songs 11/10 can't get better than this seriously!

Hope this review helps you out i can't recommend this album enough if your an 80's fan in any way, If not stay clear at all costs!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A work of genius, 25 Jun 2002
By 
Rich (Wurzel Country, U.K.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Power Windows (Audio CD)
IMHO this, along with 'Exit... Stage Left', is Rush's finest hour. From the opening statement-of-intent that is 'The Big Money' to the damning indictments of weapons of mass destruction and over-zealous 'patriotism', it hits the spot every time. Peart's lyrics have never been more incisive, and Geddy Lee attacks his shiny new Wal bass with obvious relish -- just check his fantastic playing on 'Marathon...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly polished RUSH, 22 Mar 2001
This review is from: Power Windows (Audio CD)
Power Windows is an album to be listened to as often as possible. Thoroughly enjoyable in both music and clever lyrics, it captures hopes and dreams that never get accomplished in "Middletown Dreams" and "Emotion Detector" but also the darker side of human achievement and greed in "Manhattan Project" and "Territories".
This is a more polished and refined album than some earlier ones and the music has more style and melody than raw enthusiasm but it is no less captivating and delightful for the change of direction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Frontiers, 14 Mar 2012
By 
ratmonkey (Hardy Country) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Power Windows (Audio CD)
Rush, I have come to appreciate, are an anomaly of a band. On some albums they can be frustrating, on others inexplicably daring. Occasionally they can produce a song that seems like it has always been there floating around in the air waiting for its disparate tones to be configured. And on other occasions they can make something that seems, on the outside, to be completely boring and useless. Invariably there is a collective mind controlling the output and every one of their albums expresses passion and workmanship like you wouldn't believe. Despite this they have produced mixed results within their constant experimentation. 2112 was near perfect, A Farewell to Kings far from it, ditto Hemispheres. However on the latter 2 there were sparks of genius among a wholly inconsistent structure (20 minute songs wallowed next to 4 minute ones, next to 10 minute opuses etc). During the 80s however their experimentation continued but, as with all Rush albums, using the tools of the time. This is both a plus and a minus as a lot of their early to middle albums do sound completely derivative of the time in which they were created, making a lot of their 80s albums sound very dated. But if you can look beyond the synths and fake trumpeting then you should find a wonderful world to explore in just 8 tracks. Power Windows has gone down on my list of albums I had low expectations of, that have become one of my favourites. Yes - it's a stunning album.

'The Big Money' is actually my least favourite of these but it is still a great opener. Lively and poppy and fun, it exudes both artistry and technical nous with a nice jangly 80s guitar sound. 'Grand Designs' takes a while to bed but is the real precursor of what is to become. The chorus is subdued and underplayed and quite beautiful. 'Manhattan Project' is the first 'classic' as such. Again it takes a while to appreciate but the lyrics and music work together so well. Indicative of the sound of the whole album, it is gentle and melodious but in a surprising way. 'Marathon' is near perfect and has one of the best choruses ever which slowly builds to a crescendo of delight.

'Territories' is more akin to the Rush of old but still regains a lot of melody and rhythm and is a great song. 'Middletown Dreams' is another 'perfect' song with a chorus so gentle you almost miss it. 'Emotion Detector' is more of a single with a very immediate chorus but it is one of the best songs I have heard. And 'Mystic Rhythms' completes one of the most consistently excellent Rush albums perfectly. It is soft and beautiful and worms its way into your head.

At the moment this is my favourite Rush album by a mile. It's not as progressive or experimental as, say, 2112 but the music speaks for itself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars power trio at its best, 27 Oct 2007
By 
Mr. M. Dunn "msyrinx" (north east, england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Power Windows (Audio CD)
i've loved rush since the late 80's. i think, if you have no love for the 80's you may struggle with this release. if you wonder at the quality of rush, dream theater or other 80's greats, then take a listen to this. as a big fan of rush, from fly by night to present day, and as a drummer (with persuasion toward bass)this is rush at it's peak. really, there's little anyone ever did to surpass it. it's a beautiful album. one of the few i own which is great start to finish. this is rush. timeless. the best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A high point in the ever-evolving sound of Rush, 25 Mar 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Power Windows (Audio CD)
"Power Windows" was the first ever album which I heard on cd. When this album was first released back in 1985, a friend then working in the oil industry (and hence rather wealthy!) brought round a portable cd player, and this was the first album which was played. To say that I was blown away would be an understatement- I couldn't believe the depth or clarity of the music, and I resolved to buy a cd player at the earliest opportunity. As an impoverished student this wasn't possible for some time, so I made do with a tape recording of the cd- even this was infinitely better than hearing it on vinyl! To this day, I am still amazed when I hear remastered versions of old albums, and hear intricacies I never heard first time round.
Getting back to this album, it marks a continuing departure away from the heavier sound of the seventies and early eighties towards a more original sound which Rush continued to explore well into the nineties. I prefer this to 1984's "Grace Under Pressure"- but only just. Both to me are better than their later eighties albums, which were too over-produced and lacked the energy of this album or its predecessors. The themes explored here, of ambition alternately thwarted and pushed to extremes, were highly resonant during the height of the Thatcher-Reagan years. However, as is usually the case with Rush, there is little on this album which sounds dated, and it still sounds as fresh today as it did then. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic 80's Rush., 7 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Power Windows (Audio CD)
Released in 1985, Power Windows doesn't have a weak track on it, in my view. It has nice synthesizers and searing, sparkling, guitar solos. Every song is catchy and melodic. With some thought provoking lyrics. A totally enjoyable listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Power Windows
Power Windows by Rush (Audio CD)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews