Customer Reviews


84 Reviews
5 star:
 (68)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


36 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The epitomy of musical excellence
I can confidently say that for me 'Moving Pictures' is the best rock album of all time. Rush moved through several styles during the seventies, and by the time MP was recorded they had evolved into the most technically proficient rock musicians in the industry. Their songwriting had also evolved to a point where they became more concise with their tunes, less concerned...
Published on 13 Aug 2004 by A. Robinson

versus
15 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars For completists only
I was looking forward to hearing this classic album in a new light, but having given both cd and dvd a spin, I'm left feeling somewhat underwhelmed.

Comparing the 2011 cd to the previous version issued in 1997, there's very little discernible difference in the sound. Those of you looking for a louder ballsier mix will be disappointed. Having said that, I'm glad...
Published on 14 April 2011 by John Stout


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

36 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The epitomy of musical excellence, 13 Aug 2004
By 
This review is from: Moving Pictures (Audio CD)
I can confidently say that for me 'Moving Pictures' is the best rock album of all time. Rush moved through several styles during the seventies, and by the time MP was recorded they had evolved into the most technically proficient rock musicians in the industry. Their songwriting had also evolved to a point where they became more concise with their tunes, less concerned with writing the lengthy prog epics of their 70's output. They achieved this without, in any way 'selling out' MP is a wonderfully produced album, which compliments the bands very tight playing. The album excites the listerner with the driving instrumental masterpiece 'YYZ', Inspires with the memorable 'Tom Sawyer' and entrances with the epic (only epic on the album) 'The camera eye' Rush have always been masters of creating exciting rock music. They also bring prog rock ideas to life and give them structure without compromising the more positive prog conventions - good musicianship, conceptual songwriting and being open to jazz and classical influences, but without the pomp. Moving Pictures is the point in their career when everything great about this unique Canadian band came together on one fine album. If you only ever buy one Rush album, let this be it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


63 of 64 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's messing with your mind!, 12 April 2011
By 
J. Milner "jcmilner" (Hull, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
For those of us who still mourn the failure of the SACD format, it's time to raise the flag for the saviour of high resolution music. And what better band to demonstrate the ability of the blu-ray format than Rush. Always known for their instrumental prowess as well as their knowledge and exploitation of studio technology it is almost as if their music has been crying out to be presented in this way. 2011 sees the overhauling of the Mercury years, last remastered in 1996. Some will question the need to revisit these albums again as the previous remasters were far from disappointing. But 15 years is a lifetime in technology and the changes that have taken place in this time have made the need to re-evaluate music in both an artistic sense and technological sense much more important then ever. CD is in it's demise (sadly and uneccessarily I believe) and SACD and DVD Audio captured a niche market but in reality they arrived 10 years too late and were unable to cut through the apathy of the music buying public.
Moving Pictures, being the biggest selling album of their career, was always going to be a good place to start. It kind of set a new style of music in motion for Rush with an added emphasis placed on keyboards but without pushing the major traits of their music to the back. It is a very intricately layered sound and even listening to the original LP there is so much detail for the listener to absorb. With the blu-ray format we are now able to experience a new depth of sound - 256 times the resolution of CD - and it stands to reason that those intricacies are now heightened to an astonishing level. Moving the sound into 5 channels has allowed the layers to expand and breathe and, in that respect, open themselves up to our awareness. I have listened to Moving Pictures so many times on LP, tape, CD, remastered CD that I thought I knew everything that was going on in there. How pleasant and rewarding to know that I can now play this album but find detail that I couldn't hear before. Imagine if you've been holding your breath and suddenly you let it all out. It's a bit like that here. Suddenly all that detail that WAS there but inaccessible is now there for the ears to take in. The Camera Eye in particular is the highlight of this disc. It is quite overwhelming and you literally do feel enveloped in the soundscape. No gimmicks have been employed. There's no ridiculous sound panning. Instead the extra channels have created an amazing clarity and accuracy in which every layer of the mix can finally be heard. Dynamic and pure is what I would call it. To still be enlightened to such an extent by a 30 year old recording is testament to the skill which Rush and Terry Brown employed in the studio but also to the skill and belief in recorded sound that mixing engineer Richard Chycki has displayed. Having displayed his skills with the remixed Vapor Trails tracks on Retrospective 3, here is a man who is an absolutely brilliant addition to the Rush team. Long may their relationship prosper because if this the beginning of the regeneration of Rush's most beloved of albums then I think my faith in music is about to be restored.
Difficult to realistically assess if the new CD remaster is better than the 1996 version. If anything it has a more analogue feel to it. The 1996 remasters were perhaps a little clinical sounding. Here we have a wider stereo spectrum and the added clarity this brings. Dynamics are intact as they should be on a Rush album. Mastered at Masterdisk where the original first issue Rush CDs were prepared in the mid 80s. However, on this occasion, Andy VanDette is the man behind the faders. He did a superb job on Retro 3 and will hopefully be responsible for the rest of the catalogue later in the year.
Should be a good year for Rush fans. The Mercury era albums never tire of being heard - they are each unique and every exploration in to any of them reaps new rewards.
Kudos to Universal for getting behind blu-ray audio (as they did with Tom Petty also). All the major labels should realise that a whole new market for catalogue exploitation has just opened up and I, for one, am excited for the future of recorded sound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Unique Achievement!, 14 Nov 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Moving Pictures (Audio CD)
Following the popular 'Permanent Waves,' Rush continued to build on their success that had been sown in the previous year. Although only seven tracks long, each one is packed with excellent musicianship and revealing lyrics. Standout tracks include the 10 minute extravaganza 'The Camera Eye' with its themes of paranoia and secrecy, and 'Whitch Hunt' detailing the superstitious nature of people towards their fellows. 'Limelight' is a high paced, energetic techno-rocker, and makes use of synthesisers which would be used to greater effect on later albums. Elsewhere, the instrumental, 'YYZ' shows the trio working fluidly as ever; Neil Peart's inventive drum work coupling with Geddy Lee's solid bass lines leaving scope for Alex Lifeson's thrilling guitar solos. As an album, Rush's greatest work was arguably this one, closely rivaled by '2112' & 'Permanent Waves,' and highlighting their underated sound and ability which are still largely ignored today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Moving Pictures -What a Classic, 16 Mar 2007
This review is from: Moving Pictures (Audio CD)
I bought this Album when I was 14 and at 38 still listen to it regularly.

This was my introduction to Rush and in my opinion is the best by far.

It's an album that I never overplayed but find myself continuosly revisiting it time and time again and have never got tired of listening to it which I think emphasises how good it is.

This Album at the time was a very modern sound and still hold's its own emphasising it's impact at the time.

Pearts drumming is technically impossible and I still do the air drumming in the mid section of Tom Sawyer (I can't Help it).

You either Love or Hate Rush but the latter must have never heard this one. If you like good rock music (Not the Hair,teeth,Groin and Ego Stuff), musicianship, well thought out meaniningful lyrics and a dark undertone- this is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Even the whippersnapper likes it!, 8 Jun 2007
This review is from: Moving Pictures (Audio CD)
I bought this on LP squillions of years ago and after a while it crawled in a box and went to live in the loft. A month ago I bought it remastered on Cd and it totally blew me away AGAIN! It is played to death in my car and folks are starting to say 'Oh No Not THAT one again' Don't worry these are the ones that usually squeal each time Westlife are on the telly!

My son the wee whippersnapper who is into Razorlight, Arctics, etc generally despises my 'Dad-Rock' but even he was air-drumming to Tom Sawyer and YYZ et al. That speaks volumes for this album.

I cant think of another album where the first three tracks are so utterly fantastic. I'be heard all the Rush albums and nost are good to fantastic but this is THE album to get into this trio.

Check out Red Barchetta too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Prog rock at it's finest, even in the 80's, with Rush., 31 Aug 2005
This review is from: Moving Pictures (Audio CD)
In 1981 Rush recorded Moving Pictures which has to be one of the best in there catalogue. Contains one of there most popular songs 'Tom Sawyer' which is ok. 'Red Barchetta being my favorite on the album. YYZ is also a class instrumental despite that i do prefer the live version where Neil Peart has a drum solo which lasts for over three minutes. Anyway i find this band to be one of the best in rock, to be perfectly honest. Geddy Lee has a soft voice but is very passionate, and Alex Lifeson is a fantastic guitarist and the band as a whole are just very overlooked in the rock world apart from there fan base which extends all over. 'Vital Signs' which is the last track on the album is also one of my favorites by Rush. Along with 2112 this is one of my favorite rush albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic bridge between 70's prog and sharper 80's sound, 15 Dec 1999
By 
This review is from: Moving Pictures (Audio CD)
I detested this album when it first came out because it marked such a change in style for Rush, a 70's Zeppelin soundalike to progressive rock band.
But time is a great healer and now I regard this as one of their best pieces of work. It was a change in style but this was a positive step. It showed the group's ability to move with the times while still retaining the key elements of their sound.
Moving Pictures contains soaring guitar solos, which will satisfy the more "metal" oriented listener, but it also has the first expressions of the band's desire to experiment with synthesisers and create a much sharper sound then on previous records such as 2112 or Hemispheres.
But perhaps the key to this albums greatness are the lyrics. Rock bands, particularly heavy rock bands, are not often noted for their ability to write about anything but fast cars and fast women. Rush lyrics cover a wide range of subjects and have a depth which might be suprising.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All Time Classic- As fresh as it ever was!, 30 Jun 2007
This review is from: Moving Pictures (Audio CD)
I just nominated this as an album for Liz Kershaw to play on her 'Punters Picks' feature (Saturday mornings, BBC 6Music online and DAB radio here in the UK). I was reappraising my music collection recently and had a sort of 'what could you not live without' list made out. This was near the top. Even though I like all Rush's albums from the 80's, I still identify this as being the album that changed their course into the band I love. The first four tracks are as good as it gets, Tom Sawyer, Red Barchetta, YYZ and Limelight. Amazing that each song is followed by another masterpiece. Nowadays the price you pay for these albums as very low indeed. If you've never tried Rush, start here. You're not risking a lot of money and you'll open a new horizon of musical adventure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A hugely satisfying and epic album, 27 Sep 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Moving Pictures (Audio CD)
I have long been an admirer of Rush; their monumental catalogue of endlessly inventive and technically brilliant music has never ceased to amaze me. 1981's `Moving Pictures' finds Rush at the absolute pinnacle of their career, and midway through their transition from a hard rock power trio to the electronica heavy Rush of the late 80s. It has been their most commercially successful album to date, and is undoubtedly the most satisfying.

No-one can doubt the musicianship of Rush and it is never more evident than in `Moving Pictures'. Neil Peart's drumming is, as always, tight and complex, Alex Lifeson's virtuoso electric guitar positively soars, and Geddy Lee proves why he has long been regarded as one of the most proficient bassists in rock music, and all this while making fairly extensive use of progressive electronic technology adding an extra dimension to the music.

The album is one of the most `complete' I have ever heard. The first four tracks; `Tom Sawyer', `Red Barchetta', the instrumental `XYZ' and `Limelight' are all Rush classics, each one an anthem, though all the tracks are good ones; Rush have a skill of creating a rich musical sound that feels almost orchestral. There are only 7 tracks on the album in total, but it doesn't matter, because the album feels perfectly weighted, the songs perfectly ordered, and the length seems spot-on. It is difficult to describe, but this is an album that demands to be listened from beginning to end, and leaves the listener totally satisfied.

Rush's magnum opus and one of the very best rock albums of all time, no question.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a legendary album remastered in audiophile 5.1, 26 April 2011
I own the CD + bluray pack since several weeks now and already listened it several times.

The bluray multi-channel soundtracks sounds amazingly on my system (Onkyo TX-SR608 amplifier + KEF KHT-3005 SE speakers). Both PCM and DTS HD-MA tracks sound pretty identically and are a model of definition, instrument separation and equilibrium. I didn't notice significant differences between PCM and DTS HD-MA soundtracks; surround effects are well present but could be too discrete to some listeners (well this can be corrected by pushing up the volume of the surround speakers). Ortherwise, the high rez stereo PCM track is to forget as it doesn't offer more than a classical CD does (not a big problem as the multichannel tracks already make the job).

Nothing to say about the CD. It sounds exactly the same as the 1997 remaster.

In conclusion, I recommend the CD + bluray combo to every Rush fan who wants to discover again this fantastic album in 5.1 (a respectable and well-calibrated 5.1 system seems to be required to fully enjoy the experience). For those who don't have a 5.1 system, I see no reason to buy the Deluxe edition (either DVD or bluray combo) as the CD sounds exactly as the regular version of Moving Pictures (1997 remaster).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Moving Pictures
Moving Pictures by Rush (Audio CD - 1997)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews