Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An album of constant change and contrast
If James will be remembered as an underrated band, then this will always be their underrated album. I can't say it's understated though-this is full-blown James in every sense of the word. Loud yet meloncholy, camp yet sexy, it really is an album of contrasts.
The melodies are among the bands greatest, eash song plays with your every expectation (Play Dead and Lost...
Published on 12 May 2002 by Mr. A. Dickson

versus
4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mix of really good and really bad
Strange mix of styles in this album. The first 4 tracks are pretty much pure James. Then there are a couple of dance tracks (not my style), then 3 great tracks - my best of the album. Play Dead starts sounding like a dance track, but then changes and I love it. Avalanche and Homeboy are probably my favourite tracks of all. Watering Hole is a really bad track that...
Published on 21 Mar 2002 by Brian Shaw


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An album of constant change and contrast, 12 May 2002
By 
Mr. A. Dickson (Harrogate, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Whiplash (2001 Reissue) (Audio CD)
If James will be remembered as an underrated band, then this will always be their underrated album. I can't say it's understated though-this is full-blown James in every sense of the word. Loud yet meloncholy, camp yet sexy, it really is an album of contrasts.
The melodies are among the bands greatest, eash song plays with your every expectation (Play Dead and Lost A Friend especially). Then there's Booths lyrics: covering more themes than Laids raw emotion, here the focus shifts from relationships to sexuality (Homeboy), the environment (Greenpeace) and even suicide (Blue Pastures).
The album contains highlights in abundance, from the sexy, pop-drenched beauty of 'She's a Star', to the lyrically rich, optimistic 'Tomorrow' ('i see you falling, how long to go before you hit the ground? you keep on screaming: don't you see me here? am i a ghost to you?).
In perspective with their other albums, Whiplash falls just short of Laid and Millionaires, but far surpasses Gold Mother and even outshines the brilliant Seven.
A band in true contol of the sonic power they possess. Enjoy

'Help comes, when you need it most'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most James-like album going, 21 Aug 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Whiplash (Audio CD)
This really is right up there with Laid (and the best of, obviously) in the title for best James album. It's easy to see where they had come from with this; Watering Hole could easily have been on Laid, Lost A Friend has Gold Mother written all over it and Tomorrow is almost big enough for Seven. Avalanche currently holds 4th place in my list of favourite James tracks (behind Sit Down, Born Of Frustration and Just Like Fred Astaire), with Go To The Bank coming a close fifth.
If you like the stuff off the Best Of, you could certainly do worse than this for another James album. This really is brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best - in my opinion, 11 Jan 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Whiplash (2001 Reissue) (Audio CD)
Next to Seven (it was my first and still my favourite) this is probably my favourite album (not including best ofs). It a mix of different styles but I like that. It contains two of my favourite songs Tomorrow and Lost a Friend. I still can not understand why James is such a niche band, hardly ever heard on the Radio and then only "Sit Down". Probably the greatest band that most people have never heard of.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars James' progressive album, 12 Dec 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Whiplash (Audio CD)
I can't believe how well this album is put together. It begins with the soul-stirring "Tommorow" and moves onto the almost reflective "Lost A Friend". "She's A Star" is the best track on this album and stands up there with "Sit Down" as the best James anthems. The songs like "Go To The Bank" grow on you, even though they feel un-Jamesy at first. You have to marvel at such a unique band with Tim's unique vocals, James never fade away...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Still good, 6 Oct 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Whiplash (Audio CD)
This is the band that has brought us great album like 'Seven andGoldmother'. This album is full of keyboards and guitar melodies, which form electricity within their songs. Songs like 'She's a Star' will stick in your head for days as Tim Booth's vocals will ring and ring in your head for days. There are some other good songs on the album such as 'Lost a Friend and Avalanche' which are not ground breaking but more of a look at what they used to do back in the old days of there previous albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Vintage James, 11 April 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Whiplash (Audio CD)
The joy of James is that the songs are atmospheric, whether that atmosphere is wistful or bouncy, sad or fun. This album is a fine example of why listening to James can be so enjoyable. Recent albums have been more hit and miss and miss. This album cracks the whip and hits, hits, hits.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mix of really good and really bad, 21 Mar 2002
By 
Brian Shaw (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Whiplash (2001 Reissue) (Audio CD)
Strange mix of styles in this album. The first 4 tracks are pretty much pure James. Then there are a couple of dance tracks (not my style), then 3 great tracks - my best of the album. Play Dead starts sounding like a dance track, but then changes and I love it. Avalanche and Homeboy are probably my favourite tracks of all. Watering Hole is a really bad track that spends far too long doing nothing. Then the acoustic Blue Pastures - different, but the lyrics are great (though very dark). Overall, I like most of the tracks, but I always skip about a quarter of the album. Some good music and good lyrics, but probably not the first James album you should buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Whiplash
Whiplash by James (Audio CD - 1997)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews