Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Brilliant
For any JJ Cale fan (or anyone else for that matter), this double cd should be a must-have. Fifty tracks for a fiver!! It would still be good value at THREE times the price (which is what I paid for it a few years ago!).

But regardless of price, this compilation is a very representative sampling of the great man's work, filled with marvellous music and giving...
Published on 29 Jan 2007 by Wilf

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too much of a good thing
The best stuff on this album is great and I would recommend buying it at the price but there are also some duff tracks and too many of the cliched chug along rockers that he can knock out in his sleep. Buy it and transfer the best to another CD on your computer.
Published on 27 Feb 2011 by Mr. A. Ruff


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Money well spent, 5 Nov 2009
By 
Clare Bailey (Aberdeenshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Anyway The Wind Blows: The Anthology (Audio CD)
If you like JJ Cale then this is money well spent - all the song you would want. I used to have lots of his music on tape (what's that I hear you say!!) and never got round to replacing them to CD - so very happy with this purchase
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars first real taste of Mr Cale, 11 Mar 2009
By 
This review is from: Anyway The Wind Blows: The Anthology (Audio CD)
I'd heard him before. This was the first time I listened to a comprehensive selection of his best work.

It's all the subtle stuff, which took me a while to catch, that really makes his work stand out as a compelling case for being one of the best in his category (which is...? I'm not too sure).

Doesn't matter if his voice is not the greatest, or that some of the songs could have been longer, just to keep the feeling going. The songs get stuck in your head. The harmonies vibrate in your heart and gut. And driving in heavy traffic just becomes a passing of time.

Not every song I wanted is there, and not every one that is there stands up to his very best, which is why I'd give it four and a half stars. But that half a star less doesn't really mean a lot. Just buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 22 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Anyway The Wind Blows: The Anthology (Audio CD)
Loved this album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic, 2 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Anyway The Wind Blows: The Anthology (Audio CD)
Good value for the amount of tracks you get. Some classics and just great songs throughout. A great way of getting to check out JJ Cale
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it, 1 Jun 2013
This review is from: Anyway The Wind Blows: The Anthology (Audio CD)
Heard this cd whilst shopping had to ask about it bought it over lunch and love it easy listening relaxing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars J J Cale cd " Anyway The Wind Blows", 7 Jan 2013
By 
Eamonn Durning (2,Ashleigh Close, College Farm Road, Letterkenny, Co. Donegal Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Anyway The Wind Blows: The Anthology (Audio CD)
Very good value for money as per usual from this company.Merchandise first class and quality is superb as expected,cd is great as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars JJ Cale is good, 15 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Anyway The Wind Blows: The Anthology (Audio CD)
Good mix of Music. would recommend for anyone. I enjoyed the first cd more but the 2nd cd had good music as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic JJ Cale, 20 Dec 2010
By 
N. Margerison "neil" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Anyway The Wind Blows: The Anthology (Audio CD)
Classic Cale with a good spread of tracks including many of his most famous. Good value (yawn) - but it is. A fine collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 25 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Anyway The Wind Blows: The Anthology (Audio CD)
This is a standard response filler, as I really don't want to go into any detail about why I have rated this product as I have
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars anyway the wind blows, 12 Nov 2010
By 
k bowes - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Anyway The Wind Blows: The Anthology (Audio CD)
Heard an awful lot about this singer/composer and all good! But this was rather a let - down as it seemed to be a lot of shortened versions of songs! or is this his usual way of recording? I take it that it must be as it is an anthology after all!! Quite dissappointing.

k.bowes
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Anyway The Wind Blows: The Anthology
Anyway The Wind Blows: The Anthology by J.J. Cale (Audio CD - 1997)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews