Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Brilliant
For any JJ Cale fan (or anyone else for that matter), this double cd should be a must-have. Fifty tracks for a fiver!! It would still be good value at THREE times the price (which is what I paid for it a few years ago!).

But regardless of price, this compilation is a very representative sampling of the great man's work, filled with marvellous music and giving...
Published on 29 Jan 2007 by Wilf

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too much of a good thing
The best stuff on this album is great and I would recommend buying it at the price but there are also some duff tracks and too many of the cliched chug along rockers that he can knock out in his sleep. Buy it and transfer the best to another CD on your computer.
Published on 27 Feb 2011 by Mr. A. Ruff


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Brilliant, 29 Jan 2007
By 
Wilf (Gloucester, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Anyway The Wind Blows: The Anthology (Audio CD)
For any JJ Cale fan (or anyone else for that matter), this double cd should be a must-have. Fifty tracks for a fiver!! It would still be good value at THREE times the price (which is what I paid for it a few years ago!).

But regardless of price, this compilation is a very representative sampling of the great man's work, filled with marvellous music and giving glimpses of various of JJ's influences including Cajun and Latino, and all done in his inimitable style. There's even at least one rare live recording which is not only a very good track, but special because of the man's avoidance of publicity. In fact, if you are not already a fan, the chances are good that this is because he has successfully evaded your notice - indeed, it almost seems as if he has spent his entire career trying to escape his own success! Makes a nice change, in my opinion. Nevertheless, you know what they say about talent!

If you've never heard any of JJ Cale's music, then I really would urge you to give it a go. And, at the price of this double cd, you really wouldn't be making a very big mistake now, would you?!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Excellent JJ Cale Introduction, 21 May 2009
By 
This review is from: Anyway The Wind Blows: The Anthology (Audio CD)
If you like honest music played with feeling and emotion then this isaone for you to consider
JJ Cale is a master of understatement where other players would shred wail and roar he is content to purr, only occasionally shifting gear, but that doesn't mean this is dull, laid back or bland rather the music is open and uncluttered - simple without being simple as it were
No wonder that he is so highly rated by the likes of Eric Clapton and Mark Knopfler amongst others

You will know a load of these songs and for the sake of a fiver you will get 50 yes 50 tracks and over 150 minutes of prime JJ Cale tracks - all of which will leave you with several questions amongst them being
1/ Why haven't i listened to this guy before
2/ Which of his albums should I buy next
3/ who else should I tell about this guy

Honestly I've been buying music since I was 15 and its only been this year (and some 34 years later) that I've actually gotten around to buying some JJ Cale

Do yourself a favour and get a hold of this CD - its a stunner and great for your car or your IPOD too

Give it a spin and I'm sure you'll agree with me and the other JJ Cale fans out there
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Great Man's greatest, 16 Nov 2007
By 
Sid Nuncius (London) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Anyway The Wind Blows: The Anthology (Audio CD)
This is a wonderful album. I have loved JJ Cale since I first came across him in the mid-70s. I still have his first 8 albums on vinyl and was looking for something to play in the car. This is nearly perfect as a compilation album, with almost all my favourites (no River Runs Deep, Gypsy Man or Katy Cool Lady, though) and not a duff track among them. Almost all the greats are there - and they really are great.

You can't possibly go wrong with this double CD. If you already know and like JJ Cale then it's bound to have 50 songs you like (and many which you love), and if you don't you've nothing to lose. An absurdly low price and you'd have to be made of stone not to be seduced by Crazy Mama and After Midnight. It's worth it for these two alone, and there are another 48, many of which are just as good.

Recommended in the strongest possible terms. Risk a few quid - you won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Soft rock at its best, 6 July 2009
By 
Peter Durward Harris "Pete the music fan" (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Anyway The Wind Blows: The Anthology (Audio CD)
J J Cale enjoyed making his music but he didn't enjoy the limelight, otherwise he could have been a much bigger star. As things turned out, he made several brilliant albums, mixing country, blues and rockabilly in his own distinctive way, with his vocals being less prominent than on other people's records. Apparently, he preferred it this way. J J had been learning his craft for some years before recording his 1972 album Naturally, which wasn't actually his debut album, but it was the album that made people take notice of his music.

This anthology is compiled from Naturally (4 tracks), Really (3 tracks + 1 unreleased from same sessions), Okie (6 tracks), Troubador (4 tracks + 1 unreleased from same sessions), 5 (4 tracks + 1 unreleased from same sessions), Shades (3 tracks), Grasshopper (6 tracks), #8 (5 tracks + 1 unreleased from same sessions), Travel-log (4 tracks), Number 10 (3 tracks), Closer to you (2 tracks) and a previously unreleased live track, all presented in chronological order.

J J's breakthrough came via Eric Clapton's 1970 cover of After midnight, which J J originally recorded in the sixties, first as an instrumental track but later with vocals. The success of Eric Clapton's version led to J J writing more songs for the album that became Naturally. The eye-catching raccoon picture apparently symbolizes J J's elusiveness. The four tracks from Naturally featured here (Call me the breeze, Crazy Mama, Magnolia and another re-recording of After midnight) are wonderful and their inclusion here is justified, but I was surprised that they did not include Clyde. Still, you can't include everything even on a double CD.

Plenty of people have covered J J's songs, but J J is happy that they do. Eric Clapton has covered several of J J's songs following his early success with After midnight, but plenty of others have covered them too. J J admits that his own music is too raw and rough around the edges for some people, who prefer a more mainstream sound. I like a lot of mainstream music, but I think there's something refreshing about listening to music in a very basic form of music.

With his limited vocal range and his raw musical style, J J Cale's music may not appeal to everybody, but for those who enjoy his style, there is plenty to enthuse about here. If you haven't got any of his music but you want some, this compilation provides a great introduction to his music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As compilations go this is one of the best., 28 Dec 2010
By 
S. SMTH "Steve****" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Anyway The Wind Blows: The Anthology (Audio CD)
With regard to K BOWES you said you were disappointed with this because these are 'the shortened versions' well I can tell you that the tracks from his first LP's were all very short at around 2 minutes long and this was just how he recorded in the early 70's.
I have every disc he recorded and I was lucky enough to see him live 3 times and on stage he played the longer versions of most of his songs!
You cannot go wrong with this and you may find yourselves seeking out the rest of his excellent work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Totally brilliant - the quintessence of laid-back, 27 July 2007
By 
Friendlycard (Norfolk, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Anyway The Wind Blows: The Anthology (Audio CD)
Before buying this superb-value CD, I'd only had a vague awareness of JJ Cale's music - I knew that Eric Clapton had recorded some of his songs ('Cociaine', 'After Midnight') and used to own 'Grasshopper', on vinyl, way back.

This 50-track compilation is an eye-opener. JJ Cale's music is spare, relaxed, consumately professional, utterly absorbing. As other reviewers have said, he's one of the all-time greats. Superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Super Stuff, 7 Jan 2006
This review is from: Anyway The Wind Blows: The Anthology (Audio CD)
A Great Artist all around this guy, so many artists have come to cale for inspration, his music seems timeless, is very addictive, and is sure to stand the test of time. With this album you get a bit of everthing, from 'They Call me The Breeze' to 'Midnight in Memphis'. Im sure, some day, J,J Cale will be looked back upon as one of the all time greats.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Anyway The Wind Blows - The Anthology 2 x CDs, 27 Aug 2013
This review is from: Anyway The Wind Blows: The Anthology (Audio CD)
As a response to the passing to JJ Cale I brought this compilation I had on LP years ago.
This compilation covers the classic songs from his early days such as Crazy Mama, After Midnight, Lies, and Cocaine.
There are also some less known classics such as Hey Baby and Carry On.
One of my favourites from this collection is the bluesy song Humdinger from 1984 album Travel-Log.
There are a few tracks that do pass by as some reviewers have mentioned, but the quality of JJ Cales smooth vocals and bluesy guitar work are so captivating they really drag me in and have a soothing effect.
Highly recommended to play in the car on a long drive, nothing is better than this CD for that purpose. Great booklet included with lots of nice reading and info on sessions etc.
The sound and mastering of these CDs is also top notch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In the right direction, 4 July 2011
By 
Mehaudy S. Roberto (Buenos Aires, Argentina) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Anyway The Wind Blows: The Anthology (Audio CD)
Pure and natural sounds, that's what I felt. I love the songs and the style, perhaps unique. It seems Cale is playing and singing from the deep of his heart, softly and sincerely. All the musicians included play their parts perfectly. I truly enjoyed every minute of both CDs. To be honest, I bought them ignoring most of their content (I had only listened to Cocaine and After Midnight). A very lucky blind date, indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow, 7 May 2008
By 
M. Brown "Golf_man" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Anyway The Wind Blows: The Anthology (Audio CD)
Bought this on the strength of previous reviews. Pleased I did, this guy is seriously good. At less than a fiver they're giving this away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb3ff5258)

This product

Anyway The Wind Blows: The Anthology
Anyway The Wind Blows: The Anthology by J.J. Cale (Audio CD - 1997)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews