Customer Reviews


46 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars KISS Destroyer Re-imagined
Truth be told i've never rated this as Kiss' greatest album,always thought that the original production strangled/underwhelmed some of the music,but as a Kiss fanatic i was always going to get this,so what do we have,well...

Music: several heavy rock classics 'Detroit Rock City/King of the Nightime World and God Of Thunder',pop classics 'Shout It Out Loud/Do...
Published on 21 Aug 2012 by Mr Blackwell

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great album, rubbish remix
Where are all the extras that Simmons promised. Guess what , he lied!!

This is not for the album just Ezrins messed up mix and scrawny extras
Published 20 months ago by Conan the Stamp Collector


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great album, rubbish remix, 1 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Destroyer: Resurrected (Audio CD)
Where are all the extras that Simmons promised. Guess what , he lied!!

This is not for the album just Ezrins messed up mix and scrawny extras
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Can't help feeling let down, 3 Sep 2012
By 
K Tusion (Cornwall, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Destroyer: Resurrected (Audio CD)
So what happened to the two disc version with all the outtakes, demos, alternate versions etc that Gene talked about in the press releases ?

It's not a bad remix, it's interesting to hear Ace's "Sweet Pain" solo at last but the "Beth" change is basically a copy & paste of Peter's end high note to the mid section ? & that's all we get.

Where's "Ain't None Of Your Business" or any of the other demos that have been circulating in fan circles for 20 odd years. Hell, where's the "God Of Thunder" demo that was on the box set ?

As is often the way with Kiss we are left thinking of what this could have been. Mainly because Gene hyped up a version that ended up not being released.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars KISS Destroyer Re-imagined, 21 Aug 2012
By 
Mr Blackwell (scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Destroyer: Resurrected (Audio CD)
Truth be told i've never rated this as Kiss' greatest album,always thought that the original production strangled/underwhelmed some of the music,but as a Kiss fanatic i was always going to get this,so what do we have,well...

Music: several heavy rock classics 'Detroit Rock City/King of the Nightime World and God Of Thunder',pop classics 'Shout It Out Loud/Do You Love Me?' and fluke hit 'Beth' which broke them across the USA.I actually prefer the remix to the original production,sounds clearer,sharper,certainly on 'Detroit' and 'God Of Thunder','what about 'Sweet Pain' to? Simmons sounds more menacing than ever!

There is some debate across the fan forums if the cd has a glitch or not,the opening to 'Flamin Youth',opinions vary - it might be a poor edit rather than a glitch ,also 'Detroit' possibly some lyrics lifted from another track,if your a casual fan you probably wont notice(or care).

Extras: there's been a lot of chat including from the band that an extra disc of outakes/demos would have been included,however we get 1 extra 'Sweet Pain' with original Ace Frehley solo,its ok not as good as that originally used and understandably never made the final cut,thats it other than a small added portion to 'Beth',so thats disappointing

As we know Kiss has always been about Packaging/Image as much as music,so its no surprise that the packaging on this is superb,20 page booklet with excellent liner notes and photo's,excellent touch having the cd mocked up as a vinyl album.

Hopefully all their 70's discs will recieve this treatment.

UPDATE having now listened to this several times with the headphones,i'm less convinced its a glitch(on Flamin Youth),more inclined to believe the remix has captured something previously not noticed or Ezrin has re imagined how it should sound on this new edition,hence the demonic kids voice now much louder at the start of 'God Of Thunder' ,likewise placing Ace's version of 'Sweet Pain' in the original sequence rather than left at the end as a bonus.

Also how good is does 'Beth' sound on this edition? this remix knocks the original album for six,backing vocals sound that much clearer,i'm actually lovin' the entire album for the first time. I initially gave 4 stars due to the lack of bonus tracks but this release is actually deserving of 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars not so bad, 25 Mar 2008
By 
sean paul mccann "mccanns23" (ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Destroyer (Audio CD)
Destroyer by kiss is their fourth studio album and was released in 1976 and was the album that launched them omwards although many argue that it was the previous years release of their live album called alive that did that and no matter what they were onto a winner regardless of what this sounded like,fortunately this is a good album with some strong songs but let down with some obvious enough filler and a muddy production that while not constant is most hurtful in the great track 'God of thunder'.
The album isnt as glammy as they would get and isnt as heavy as they could be but has a good time feel about it,although as per usual the lousy lyrics that appear at times can make or break how you feel about kiss so you have to see how that makes you feel.
Kiss here dont feel as much a novelty act as i thought they would,they have great songs here such as 'detroit rock city','great expectations' which is very close to sounding like the late 60s work of the kinks but they do it very well and 'beth' which is a fine ballad that could have graced any of the beatles albums no problems.'shout it out loud' is anthemic while 'sweet pain' is annoying at first then starts to work its way into something i can sing along too.
The remaining tracks arent that great but have their moments but this is harmless rock n roll,and kiss at this stage where as good as anyone at doing that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars overblown pretensious masterpiece!!!, 17 Mar 2008
This review is from: Destroyer (Audio CD)
This is undoubtedly the high point in KISS's very long and successful musical career. The songs are all killers - Detroit R.C. is their all time best song - one of the most original intros from a band not renown for original! and some stunning dual guitar soloing.
Shout it out loud, Flaming youth and Do you love me are great driving/party anthems - in fact every song is except the gentler Beth and Great expectations which are brilliant none the less. I think beth could have benifited from some acoustic or slide guitar work but is still very listenable.

If you only get one KISS album get this - the production and song writing both have far more kick and clarity than their earlier material (live or studio) and the later albums conatin filler which Destroyer certainly doesn't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gods of Thunder, Lords of Rock & Roll, 23 Jun 2006
By 
Mr. A. E. Hall "brother_of_sadako" (Liverpool, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Destroyer (Audio CD)
1976 was the year that KISS really took off. They were awarded their first platinum record (for 1975 Alive!) and scorred two top ten US hit singles as well as two tripple platinum studio albums. Oh, and the music wasn't that bad either!

Opening with Detroit Rock City (generally regarded as the band's best ever tune) it sets the tone with its banrstorming stlye before leading into King of the Nightime World and God of Thunder. Then it takes a turn with the bizarre Great Expectations (cruelly ignored by the band for almost 20 years on stage) and Flamin' Youth. Sweet Pain is also a decent song but it is over the last three songs that the album picks up again. Shout it out Loud is classic arena rock. The heart pounding, adrenlin flowing, meat and potatoes anthemic metal was to become a KISS classics on stage for the next two decades. Then another twist with the softer ballard Beth. This was the song that got me into KISS and although many fans never forgave the band for losing the rock edge, it stands out as a must listen of their extensive and impressive catalogue. The album then fades into Do you Love Me, superbly produced and sung although often over played down the years it is none the less a fitting way to end the album. There is also an uncredited 'hidden' track, made up of Great Expectations and Paul Stanley's talking to the crowd at a show mixed together as if to sound ghostly. It must have freaked people out when they first heard it but it all added to the myth that was KISS circa 1976.

Destroyer is often touted by KISS as their best and has been the yardstick against which all subsequent ones were judged. Although they go too far sometimes, it is not for no reason that the album is so loved. In Detroit Rock City, God of Thunder, Shout it out Loud and Beth you have four undeniable rock classics and the rest of the album is good enough to have been stand out tracks on most records today. Not my personal favourite but a brillaint record and one which any serious fan of rock should own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic gets a "spit & polish", 21 Aug 2012
By 
David Janes (Cheshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Destroyer: Resurrected (Audio CD)
Destroyer is one of the best albums Kiss have released. The latest edition has had its sound beefed up in certain areas but whether this has improved the original is open to debate. As mentioned in other reviews it just feels that Kiss have missed a trick here, surely there must have been plenty of songs that didn't make the final cut for the original album which could have been added in this collection? Overall this is a nice stop gap before we get new material in "Monster" later in the year
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Kiss forever, 5 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Destroyer [VINYL] (Vinyl)
i bought two copies of this album on Vinyl and i'm glad I did!
The artwork is fantastic and the sound quality is amazing! Delivered within 48 hours you really can't go wrong as this is by far kiss's greatest album. It also comes with an mp3 download if you wish to add it to your ipod.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Rockin', 4 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've only recently got into Kiss and wasn't sure which album to buy so I went for Destroyer, which is believed to be their best album and I'm glad I did as it's got some of their catchiest songs and it was also the most bargainously priced of all their MP3 albums. If you like Kiss and want to but one of their albums, this is a great choice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A classic!, 20 Feb 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Destroyer: Resurrected (Audio CD)
The best produced kiss album ever made. Bob Ezrin made Gene, Paul, Ace and Peter into a world class super group. The Children's choir on Doctor Love alone added depth and class to a band perceived as 4 nu-yawk street bums who were just a gimmick band.If you don't own this..why bother living?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Destroyer
Destroyer by Kiss (Audio CD - 1997)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews