Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I like this a lot
A couple of years I went through a stage of buying records mainly by obscure rock bands. I got so into it that if you mentioned any band outside of dance music to me, I could probably give you an entire discography. The problem was is that I had to go mostly on word of mouth and the music press, since such bands were not (by definition) played on the radio. Now the music...
Published on 1 May 2003 by Amazon Customer

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad but not great...
Well, this is okay but I think comparisons to Lennon & McCartney, Morrissey & Marr, or Radiohead are liable to raise expectations too high. Better than a lot of Britpop but then much of Britpop really wasn't all that good anyway. Worth a listen though.
Published 19 days ago by slysquirrel


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Criminally underated band and album, 25 Jun. 2014
This review is from: The Sun Is Often Out (Audio CD)
Where to start? This album is stunning. The Longpigs were a band i saw numerous times during 95 - 97, sometimes headlining, but mainly supporting other bands grouped together under the britpop banner. Invariably the Longpigs stood head and shoulders above anyone near them and with a track listing that included On and On, She said, Far, Dozen wicked words, Lost myself and Jesus Christ it's easy to understand why. The NME, Uncut and Mojo, have in recent years compiled 'Britpop' magazines to try and cash in on the popularity of the last truly great era of british music and each time this album is missing in the top 50. Quite how many steps the journalists had fallen down to forget this lovely album i have no idea. I can only assume they weren't old enough to remember :) I need to be clear, this isn't just another 'britpop' album, it's an all time classic and fully deserves the 5 star reviews that others have given it. Buy this and you might just find yourself onto the path of Richard Hawley's solo albums and that's a completely new musical journey i'm jealous that you might stumble across.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 16 Jun. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sun Is Often Out (Audio CD)
Everything was great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Album from a Lost Band, 5 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sun Is Often Out (Audio CD)
Found this band for the first time accidentally while watching a rockumentary and sought out any music by them. 2 Albums made in the 90's this one is far superior.
Cant believe their record company held their release back. It cost the world to lose out on years of fantastic tunes by these boys.

Purchase details:

Product was new and film wrapped, service was fast and efficient, price was spot on with this seller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sun Is Often Out (Audio CD)
Pigs are great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I hope by reading this review..., 3 Mar. 2006
This review is from: The Sun Is Often Out (Audio CD)
I hope by reading this review you are persuaded to take a chance and buy this amazing album.
For me it has many memories being the first album I ever really 'got into'.
The Longpigs themselves were a true cult group, never quite joining the mainstream britpop masses even though with songs like 'On and On' and 'She Said' they certainly threatened to.
Led by charismatic frontman Crispin Hunt, who cast an interlectual eye over proceedings, he was backed up by Richard Hawley, now of his own solo fame.
Both lyrically and musically they shone above most other bands of the time and live, the songs took a whole new meaning thorugh intelligent new intepretations.
Buy this now!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beats off most competition from 'back in the day', 30 Sept. 2003
This review is from: The Sun Is Often Out (Audio CD)
There was a time when britpop made indie seem the most exciting music around. That time is long past and most of the stuff from those deays just sounds embarrassing these days. So it was with some trepidation that I dug out my old long unplayed copy of this album. Would I hae another Sleeper on my hands? But no, this still sounds as fresh and original as ever. infact it almost sounds better then anythig then before as much though I like longpigs they were never favorites (unlike, oh the shame, Sleeper). These things are both related, Longpigs were always more then just another britpop band riding the wave of fey indie music that swept up all us mid teens in the mid ninties. This is more then just bandwagon jumping. Maybe that is because a lot of it is really quite weird, certainly lyrically. yet it all makes sense. This always existed at a slight tangent to everything else that was going on without really going off the plot. Basically what I'm trying to say that this is interesting and good enough to deserve a life beyond simple britpop memerorabilia. The fact that it won't get this is just a shame. But thats the wonderful world of pop music I guess
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars jesus christ, this is good, 18 Sept. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Sun Is Often Out (Audio CD)
unbelievably good album - classic song after classic song. This really is a great band, shame they can't reproduce this quality live. I find it truly remarkable that this lot do not get the recognition they deserve, whilst Muse and the JJ72s are the toast of the music press.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Sun Is Often Out
The Sun Is Often Out by Longpigs (Audio CD - 1996)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews