Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vangelis, Yes, But Don't Forget Jon.
Vangelis may be best known for Chariots Of Fire and the Titles track is here.
My most enjoyable listerns are the collaborations with Jon Anderson of Yes fame, somehow they combine their talents apparently effortlessly and with real class.
So Long Ago, So Clear, I Here You Now and especially I/ll Find My Way Home can all be played loud and often.
Published on 28 May 2009 by J. Thompson

versus
17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but too sketchy
If 1,000 Vangelis fans complied their own favourite Vangelis tracks then you would get 1,000 different albums and for a commercial release 'Portraits' includes pretty much what you would expect. Although the brilliance of tracks such as To the Unknown Man, Italian Song and Hymne cannot be denied,the track selection on this album is far too pedestrian to make it a great...
Published on 13 Jun. 2001


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vangelis, Yes, But Don't Forget Jon., 28 May 2009
By 
J. Thompson "Willingale" (Essex UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Portraits (So Long Ago, So Clear) (Audio CD)
Vangelis may be best known for Chariots Of Fire and the Titles track is here.
My most enjoyable listerns are the collaborations with Jon Anderson of Yes fame, somehow they combine their talents apparently effortlessly and with real class.
So Long Ago, So Clear, I Here You Now and especially I/ll Find My Way Home can all be played loud and often.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best way to sample Vangelis, 8 Aug. 2011
By 
Tim Kidner "Hucklebrook Hound" (Salisbury, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Portraits (So Long Ago, So Clear) (Audio CD)
I've many, many Vangelis albums, both on LP and CD. All his collaborations with Yes singer Jon Anderson, under the guise of Jon and Vangelis, plus many of his numerous film scores. I started this musical odyssey as a teenager back in the early 80's.

And, yes, I confess. I DO have a Vangelis compilation. THIS one. There may be newer best of's and you're never going to get a perfect snapshot of this keyboard wizard's entire work (according to Wikipedia, he has recorded 52 albums!) but for a good general overview of his best and most popular work, I'd recommend it wholeheartedly.

I've lent it to others who are now Vangelis-ites, like myself, and because of listening to - and enjoying this collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Greatest Hits?, 29 May 2011
By 
Barry Lees (Greenock, Strathclyde Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Portraits (So Long Ago, So Clear) (Audio CD)
Since you'll only be buying this if you're a Vangelis fan, it's fair to say that you would award it either 5 stars (if it's exactly what you wanted) or 4 (if your absolute favourite track has been left off. Either way, you enjoy most if not all of this compilation.

I especially like the tracks featuring Jon Anderson and have often wondered what Yes would have sounded like if, when Rick Wakeman left, Vangelis had taken his place instead of Patrick Moraz.

As can be seen from the track listing, this is a compilation of Vangelis's best-known work and will make the cheapest stereo system sound posh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but too sketchy, 13 Jun. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Portraits (So Long Ago, So Clear) (Audio CD)
If 1,000 Vangelis fans complied their own favourite Vangelis tracks then you would get 1,000 different albums and for a commercial release 'Portraits' includes pretty much what you would expect. Although the brilliance of tracks such as To the Unknown Man, Italian Song and Hymne cannot be denied,the track selection on this album is far too pedestrian to make it a great compilation. It would have been great to see some lesser known Vangelis stuff on here for those people who would probably not buy another Vangelis album and think that all the man is about is Chariots of Fire and Conquest of Paradise. Nothing from Direct, or The City and even the title track from Antartica is cut off in its prime. The albums still remains good, but it was a great chance to compile something much better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I I listen so many times and never get bored., 26 Mar. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Portraits (So Long Ago, So Clear) (Audio CD)
This CD allows you to live,love and travel the continents all in the comfort of your favourite armchair. The music incites and excites at the same time. I listen to it constantly and hear something different every time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Blockbuster Portrait Exhibition, 16 Dec. 2013
By 
Nicholas Casley (Plymouth, Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Portraits (So Long Ago, So Clear) (Audio CD)
This `Best Of' collection from 1996 features seventy-five minutes of music that has been imaginatively segued and digitally remastered. Unfortunately, the remastering sometimes leads to losing the sense of immediacy in the original. This is particularly noticeable in `Pulstar', `La Petite Fille De La Mer', and `Alpha'. It's the same music, but not the same, if you get my drift: it's like a facsimile of the original recording. In some instance, however, the remastering has certainly made the sound fantastic. (See my comments, below.)

In addition to the remastering, there has also been a little remixing - witness the opening seconds of `To The Unknown Man'. Unfortunately, that track is here truncated so that the listener does not receive the full benefit of the superb contrasting second part. Never mind, this is a rich collection with at least six of the fifteen tracks worthy of five stars and the rest worth four.

Four of the tracks were previously released as part of the Jon & Vangelis partnership; five, if you include `So Long Ago, So Clear.' Whilst sung by Jon Anderson, the track first appeared on a purely Vangelis album. Two tracks are `new': we have a choral version of `Hymn' and a previously unreleased track from another of Vangelis's collaborations with the film-maker Frederic Rossif, `Sauvage et Beau'.

Whilst both of these `new` tracks are very good, neither of them approaches the perfection that is the remastered tracks six, seven, and eight (the Jon & Vangelis suite of `I Hear You Now', `I'll Find My Way Home', and `State Of Independence'). And the remastered `Chariots of Fire' is supreme and cannot be bettered. My only disappointment with this selection is that there is nothing from some of my favourite albums, such as `Soil Festivities', `Mask', or even `Blade Runner'.

On the basis of this `portrait' exhibition, then, some of the artist's best work is here on display, but some also still remains in his private collection, but at least we are spared some of his more abstract paintings. This collection nevertheless remains a blockbuster exhibition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I'LL FIND MY WAY HOME, 15 Nov. 2012
By 
HAYLING BOOK & MUSIC VENUE (follow us on Face... (26 Rails Lane Hayling Island) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Portraits (So Long Ago, So Clear) (Audio CD)
There seem to be a vast number of Vangelis collections on the market, picking up at different stages of his career.

This is one of my favourites and on Amazon, one of the cheapest too.

It includes a host of truly beautiful compositions including 'Chariots' and his work with Jon Anderson, which is wonderful.

The way the tracks are sequenced, each track merges into the next, offering the listener an unbroken hour plus of the most delightful and creative music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Vangelis CD, 19 Sept. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Portraits (So Long Ago, So Clear) (Audio CD)
Yet another great CD from Vangelis, it's complete with contributions from Jon Anderson, perfect driving music. A must for any music fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Portraits (So Long Ago, So Clear) by Vangelis, 21 April 2014
By 
A. A. Green "Ashley" (Shrewsbury, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Portraits (So Long Ago, So Clear) (Audio CD)
This was one of my favorite albums 30 years ago so it brings back a lot of happy memories when I play this CD..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars music, 3 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Portraits (So Long Ago, So Clear) (Audio CD)
i had a copy of this for many years and i wanted a better cd as mine was scratched and its a very good cd
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Portraits (So Long Ago, So Clear)
Portraits (So Long Ago, So Clear) by Vangelis (Audio CD - 2000)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews