Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful album
This really is one of Elton's finest albums. The beautiful 'Tiny Dancer'opens the album, full of superb orchestrations. It's good to see that this timeless classic is featured on the new 'Greatest Hits 1970-2002' compilation. The title track is also a masterpiece, (hear an early version on the remastered 'Tumbleweed Connection') as is the rarely mentioned 'Indian...
Published on 29 Jan 2003

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars early ELTON JOHN
first purchased in 1972 as a venal L P thought it was good then and ok for playing in car.
Published 8 months ago by G. REID


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Elton John's previous and great songs, 17 Dec 2009
By 
Deven Gadula (san francisco, ca, united states) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Madman Across The Water (Audio CD)
Madman Across The Water (1971) is my favorite album of this amazing musician, or should I say...a pair of musicians. The name of Bernie Taupin has to be mentioned because the collaboration between these two stars made their songs so powerful and meaningful. Elton's amazing music was usually proceeded by Bernie's special lyrics at times providing us with a light poetic tone of mellow ballads and at others shining light upon some of our real struggles and worries. Perhaps their most powerful and deepest songs can be found on Elton John's second album from 1970, the one with his face silhouetted over the black cover and simply called Elton John. However, I find that album very uneven. I understand that someone not bothered by average rock'n'roll songs might find that album his best. For me this album Madman Across The Water provides the nicest balance of placing me in the atmosphere of his early songs, which I find much more ambitious and less pop, sustaining the most even feel throughout and distracting me the least by the rock'n'roll hits hard for me to digest. This album has a nice light tone to it. It is almost like some peace was found inside of someone's heart and mind after releasing the tension earlier. So many of his songs of this album and some of his later jewels as well have this airy disposition and when mixed with some of the darker more complex songs I find the combination quite breathtaking. Elton's musical career has delivered over 30 studio albums and close to 20 of various best of and live compilations. However, with a few exceptions, like Song For Guy, which is one of my favorite instrumental melodies of all times, most of my favorite songs of Elton John came from the early 1970s. Some of my favorite songs of Elton John are: Goodbye, First Episode At Hienton, Song For Guy, Seasons Reprise, Sixty Years On, Mood 3, It's Me That You Need, Your Song, I need You To Turn To, Tonight, Funeral For A Friend, The Greatest Discovery, Tiny Dancer, Madman Across The Water, Goodbye Yellow Brick Road and Levon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 3 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Madman Across The Water (Audio CD)
Really enjoying hearing this brilliant album again after nearly forty years. Elton John is a genius.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 24 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Madman Across The Water (Audio CD)
Bought really for 'tiny dancer' but loved the whole album of lesser known tracks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars early ELTON JOHN, 15 Jan 2014
By 
G. REID (SCOTLAND) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Madman Across The Water (Audio CD)
first purchased in 1972 as a venal L P thought it was good then and ok for playing in car.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Prompt and good value, 10 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Madman Across The Water (Audio CD)
The item was delivered promptly and well packaged and was good value. I have not yet had time to listen to it, but I know it will be fine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good album but no classic., 16 Aug 2010
This review is from: Madman Across The Water (Audio CD)
There's a lot to enjoy about this album: 'Tiny Dancer', 'Levon', 'Holiday Inn' and the title track. What's left is non-remarkable. Worth buying before you touch most of Elton's 80s output but it's not one of his top ten albums by any means.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars My least favourite of Elton's classic years material..., 9 Oct 2006
By 
Adamski (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Madman Across The Water (Audio CD)
I could never get into this album the way I could The Tumbleweed Connection, Honky Chateau, Captain Fantastic, Goodbye Yellowbrick Road & Blue Moves. I find the aforementioned albums to be works of genius but Madman, for all the great reviews, is just not in the same class. Sure it contains a couple of good tracks but along with a load of filler in my opinion. If you haven't got any of the albums I mentioned, plump for one before you buy this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 37 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Overrated, 23 Aug 2001
This review is from: Madman Across The Water (Audio CD)
Not being a baby-boomer, I often fail to see what the big deal is as far as Elton John is concerned. Whilst I will concede that he made some excellent albums in the early-1970s, this isn't one of them.
Sure, it contains "Tiny Dancer" and "Levon", but it plays these two trump cards up front, as the first and second tracks respectively. Most of the other songs on here and underwritten and overplayed and Taupin's lyrics are as pretentious as ever. Add to that the orchestration which overwhelms the music, rather than complements it, and you have one thoroughly dated album, which would have benefitted greatly from some judicious editing.
By all means, investigate Elton's back catalogue - there is some great work there - just don't start here. You'll be disappointed. Try "17-11-70" or "Honky Chateau" instead
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Madman Across The Water
Madman Across The Water by Elton John (Audio CD - 1995)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews