Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful album
This really is one of Elton's finest albums. The beautiful 'Tiny Dancer'opens the album, full of superb orchestrations. It's good to see that this timeless classic is featured on the new 'Greatest Hits 1970-2002' compilation. The title track is also a masterpiece, (hear an early version on the remastered 'Tumbleweed Connection') as is the rarely mentioned 'Indian...
Published on 29 Jan 2003

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars early ELTON JOHN
first purchased in 1972 as a venal L P thought it was good then and ok for playing in car.
Published 11 months ago by G. REID


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Well worth getting, 7 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Madman Across The Water (Audio CD)
There are some classic songs on this album (Tiny Dancer and Levon) and nearly all of them grow over time, to make an album with few if any weak parts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Still as good as ever!, 14 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Madman Across The Water (Audio CD)
Ordered this cd for my husband and he loves it. Says it is one of Elton John's best. This was the first Elton John album he bought as an LP many years ago and he says it still sounds as good now as it did then.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars my favorite cd of all time, 17 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
this came out when I was in my 20's and I have always loved it.I know all the songs by heart and even now 'Indian Sunset' brings a lump to my throat, the words are so sad. if I could only choose one cd this would be it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Probably the best Elton album, 8 Feb 2013
By 
D. Passell (Derbyshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Madman Across The Water (Audio CD)
Had these on tape many years ago but it became unusable. Pleased to find a CD version and the crazy thing was it was cheaper, even with added postage, than the download version. I know which I'd rather have. It meant a 48hr wait for delivery but what's that compared to the time it took me to source a replacement for the worn out tape? Great tracks, the best being Madman across the Water but there isn't a duff one amongst them. If you don't buy anything else from Elton, get this one. It's great. Very atmospheric.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Elton at his very best, 8 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Madman Across The Water (Audio CD)
I recently saw Elton John in concert, and he played the first two songs from Madman. That inspired me to buy the album. The rest of the songs don't disappoint either. More than four decades after it was released it still sounds extremely fresh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars one of his best, 16 Mar 2012
By 
Mrs. Julia M. James-tarn "Julz" (Bristol UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Madman Across The Water (Audio CD)
for those who followed elton from his early years this really shows his growth, and has tunes that will remain in your mind for all time to come
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a great addition to my back catalogue., 13 Jan 2012
By 
Mr. L. Woolcott "lozza" (essex, england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Madman Across The Water (Audio CD)
I am singing along with all of the songs, although I have not heard them for ages.
One of Eltons best, in his best writing period
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Elton John, 9 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Madman Across The Water (Audio CD)
What a great album. I bought this album many years ago but this album has been remixed and it sounds better than ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must for fans of Elton John's earlier stuff, 7 Jan 2011
This review is from: Madman Across The Water (Audio CD)
My Brother-in-law was delighted to receive this at Christmas and claims it includes 2 of the best Elton John tracks ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Madman Across The Water, 23 May 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Madman Across The Water (Audio CD)
My wife saw Elton John at Manchester Free Trade Hall in the early seventies. She loved Elton's early stuff - up to and including Yellow Brick Road. Got this for her and to complete his classic albums. He really was great back then - but so were we all! Buy it and enjoy it. We did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Madman Across The Water
Madman Across The Water by Elton John (Audio CD - 1995)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews