Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a good live release.
there are several versions of this one with a few different tracks. I have both of them , in fact I have every scorps release as well as most of their singles even. that's alot of releases. This one showcases the band at their best, playing powerfully. This band is popular enough to be large accross the world including south , central and north america and they always...
Published 24 months ago by Michael Dobey

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A CD of two halves
Something of a stopgap release between `93s `Face the Heat' and `96s `Pure Instinct', `Live Bites' has a rather throwaway feel to it, from the mediocre packaging to the uninspired track listing. However, it's definitely a superior album to the two studio releases it that sandwich it and even though it's no match for the Scorpions' previous live outings, `Live Bites' does...
Published on 5 Aug 2007 by Nev Daimler


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A CD of two halves, 5 Aug 2007
By 
Nev Daimler (West Yorkshire, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: LIVE BITES (Audio CD)
Something of a stopgap release between `93s `Face the Heat' and `96s `Pure Instinct', `Live Bites' has a rather throwaway feel to it, from the mediocre packaging to the uninspired track listing. However, it's definitely a superior album to the two studio releases it that sandwich it and even though it's no match for the Scorpions' previous live outings, `Live Bites' does have plenty of fine moments.
Certainly, the first half of the album is very good indeed; `Tease Me, Please Me' and `No Pain, No Gain' are not the band's best efforts at heavy rock, but the live recording gives them a welcome burst of energy and they sit well among the older songs evident in the first half-hour. Of course, it's these older tracks that give `Live Bites' a touch of class - a fiery version of `In Trance' sounds fresh and exciting, `When the Smoke is Going Down' is performed beautifully and it's great to hear the excellent `Is There Anybody There' in a live setting. Even `Rhythm of Love' comes over very well, with a lot more punch than the studio version. However, after six tracks, things get decidedly patchy, with a smattering of clunky ballads (`Living for Tomorrow' is simply a bad song) filling the gaps between the muscular `Alien Nation' and the hard-hitting `Crazy World'. I can do with out that "song with the whistling", which closes out the live proceedings in wholly predictable and unspectacular style and the two execrable ballads tacked onto the end will definitely have the listener reaching for the stop button.
So, `Live Bites' is a record of two halves and on vinyl, side one would get worn out a lot quicker than side two. For the Scorpions fan, it's a good purchase because of the great versions of a few old classics; for the uninitiated, `World Wide Live' and `Tokyo Tapes' offer a far better introduction to the band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a good live release., 20 July 2012
By 
Michael Dobey (colorado springs) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: LIVE BITES (Audio CD)
there are several versions of this one with a few different tracks. I have both of them , in fact I have every scorps release as well as most of their singles even. that's alot of releases. This one showcases the band at their best, playing powerfully. This band is popular enough to be large accross the world including south , central and north america and they always deliver. The song selection is decent here and that helps too. the sound is perfect and the scorpions really do sound great live. I just saw them at red rocks in colorado and they were excellent. (people from london were there even, as red rocks is perhaps one of the worlds best live venues).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great!, 2 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LIVE BITES (Audio CD)
Great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Scorpions 3rd live album, 2 Jan 2014
By 
Mr. J. Taylor (Dalgety Bay Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LIVE BITES (Audio CD)
This album is excellent and has the Scorpions on top form all the way through. The rendition of 'ava maria' is perfect and something most rock bands would not attempt. Also hearing Klaus talking to the audience in Russian is something many other singers wouldn't even thing about trying. If you don't have this album then I say buy it now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good, 26 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LIVE BITES (Audio CD)
a good live album shows them at their best as the scorpions were a band that lived for the audiance .they loved to play live
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely superb, 15 Feb 2002
This review is from: LIVE BITES (Audio CD)
No medium can ever completely capture the sheer magic of a Scorpions live performance but this CD comes pretty close. The excellent production quality allows the Scorpions' virtuoso musicianship to shine through and Klaus' vocals are amazing.
It's hard to pick a favourite track when they're all so good but if I had to then "Ave Maria No Morrow" would be it - possibly the best vocal performance of the last century.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Live Bites
Live Bites by Scorpions (Audio CD - 1995)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews