Customer Reviews
Pop


44 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LAST GREAT U2 ALBUM
For me POP is the last special U2 album.After this they just produced ordinary sounding music without that something special that made U2 so,well special.Such a shame because i always looked forward to every new release the band came out with.
Published on 19 Nov 2011 by B. Iddon

versus
5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hmm.
This is an album of 3 halves, clearly. The good bits, the bland bits and the bits that are left over!

What am I on about?

It depends if you're a U2 purist, a U2 nutter, or someone who just likes some U2 songs.

Whichever you are, there are some stock truths that should be considered when reviewing their work. 1. Their work is high-quality...
Published on 8 Dec 2006 by C. Porter


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great album, 23 Jun 2013
By 
A. King (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pop (Audio CD)
I am currently completing my U2 collection with later albums. Pop another album that had a slating when it came out! I've been a U2 fan since school, way back in 1985! Wow this album is fantastic, the samples on here do not do it justice! If you love U2 you will not regret buying this album!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars popped, 7 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pop (Audio CD)
bought to upgrade my tired out cassette-tapes not one of my fave U2 OFFERING,S but still some good tunes on it all the same got to admire a bad that takes risks with their music now and then and still comes up smelling of roses all-in-all a good try from the irish rockers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars And it looks like the sun...but it feels like rain, 6 Nov 2006
This review is from: Pop (Audio CD)
So, the bizarre tale of 90s U2: they decamp to Berlin, struggle, come up with "One", make a whole album in Dublin afterwards, avoid splitting up and garner huge critical acclaim. They go on a huge world tour, the insanity that was ZOOTV, and in the middle of it, Bono announces to the band that they can make an album during a tour break ("I think everybody laughed at that"- Edge). Amazingly, they do. And then...a four year wait.

Out of it came POP, an album apparently not finished, an album that apparently didn't sell, and whose tour was a disaster. Which depends on your view. Considering how often songs get remixed, is any album finished nowadays? Is seven million copies and counting really failure? Can a tour have gone badly wrong if it enters the Guinness Book of Records?

POP has taken a lot of retrospective stick, and as other reviewers here point out, that's not really justified. It's not the alienated Kid A moment that it's often portrayed as- at worst, you have to cope with a song being (gasp) nearly six minutes. Ultimately, this is one of U2's greatest records, and I'm hoping the band aren't permanently discouraged from doing something so obviously envelope-pushing yet accessable again.

Highlights: Discotheque- a swirl of sonic...swirliness? And the best. Guitar. Riff. Ever. MOFO- huge sounding. Achtung Baby saw Bono's songwriting shift up a level; this saw it shift up further. Last Night On Earth- the point where the album gets very dark.

Low points: The middle of the album seems a wee bit too "normal" after the madness of the opening three songs.

Track by Track:
Discotheque 10
Do You Feel Loved? 8
MOFO 10
If God Will Send... 7
Staring At The Sun 8
Last Night On Earth 10
Gone 8
Miami 7
The Playboy... 7
If You Wear... 8
Please 8
Wake Up Dead Man 8
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ohhhhhhhhhh Maaaaaaaaaannnnn!!!, 12 May 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Pop (Audio CD)
4 years on and it dosn't sound old. In recent documentaries U2 have slated Pop which i myself cannot understand. 4 years ago U2 were saying how they wanted to progress further and now with All That.... they go backwards.... I think so...They are still my favourite band (for the music - Bono is full of BS) and Pop is my favourite album of all time. Every track reeks of class and underneath the "dance" elements every one is a U2 track. This album was beautifully crafted and it takes you on a journey: it gets you up Discothéque and lets you down with Wake Up Dead Man with many twists and turns in between. U2 claimed to have been rushed to get this album on the shelves in time for the tour and if this is the case I'd hate to hear the finished article beacause my I would have been so blown away I wouln't be able to enjoy this 4 years on. Roll on Slane!! G.C.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Misunderstood Masterpiece!, 28 Mar 2012
By 
Alex Williams (Northamptonshire, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Pop (Audio CD)
I remember when 'POP' came out about two weeks before my 13th birthday. I think I had just got into U2 after hearing one of their finest songs ' Hold Me, Thrill Me, Kiss Me, Kill Me' on the Batman Forever soundtrack. So it was a real big deal for me at the time (with me being to young to remember the ZOO TV madness), I remember there was something of a big promotional build up, with a TV documentary, the Discotheque single, and the massive PopMart tour being announced at a press conference in a K-Mart store in New York?!

I think this must've been one of the first albums i ever bought, at the time i think it was like 15 from Our Price? taking a good chunk of my birthday money!
And i have to be honest, when i got home gave it a play the only track i really liked (or bothered with) was Discotheque. But slowly as time went on (when i got bored of listening to Discotheque over and over) i gave the other tracks a try and found them to be even better, so much that it would be the only thing i would let my Dad put on in the car!

Anyway sorry for the trip down memory lane.

I think i've read somewhere that the band have never been happy with the album, because they were rushed into finishing so it would be out before the start of the already book PopMart tour. Im not sure if this is just an excuse for poor sale? bad reaction from fans? But i guess there could be some turth to it?
But to be honest i think this has made for a better sound, even though it heavily uses lots of sampling, programming, loops, drum machines, and sequencing, it still has a rawer sound from the usual over polished U2 sound. Even though this was U2 trying their hardest to be ultra modern, new and hip, it probably has a rawness closer to their earliest stuff.

It could be nostalgia talking? Or it maybe be the fact this is a kick ass album! but i would rank 'POP' top of U2's albums, if not my top album of the 90's!, with 'Achtung Baby' a very close second!
I think it's the last album U2 put any effort into. I get the feeling they don't want to take anymore risk like they did with 'POP', it paid of with 'Achtung Baby', but people just didn't understand what they were trying to doing with 'POP'. And as a result, (jugding from everything that has come after it) they like to play it safe now, and its boring, and very sad when you know one of your favourite bands is 'past it'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An underrated classic, 28 Oct 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Pop (Audio CD)
It looks like ATYCLB is going to be the album that propels U2 back to their former commercial glory, but it really should have been this album. Let's not forget it got some of the strongest reviews of their career and also achieved respectable sales of about 6-7 million copies. The album excels in combining hints of old U2 with modern production and dance textures. The tracks are so good that they deserve to be reviewed individually.
N.B. The number in brackets after each track is marks out of ten
Discotheque - This is one of the most amazing U2 songs ever. The guitar riffs, dance rhythms and vocals are brilliantly mixed together. The song was also a No.1 hit. (10)
Do you feel loved - Some amazing electronic effects and a dance beat are mixed with an Even Better Than The Real Thing-esque guitar riff. Brilliant! (9)
Mofo - This track contains the best rhythms that U2 have ever produced. The electronic effects are direct and irresistibly catchy over the complex dance rhythms. (10)
If God Will Send His Angels - This is definitely the U2 of old mixed with some modern production techniques. The Edge uses some guitar riffs that make this track sound like it could fit on to Achtung Baby. The simplicity makes this sound like the One of this album. (9)
Staring At The Sun - The best track on the album. Once again this is the U2 of old mixed with modern production. The acoustic/electric mix of guitars is gorgeous and the tune is brooding and reflective. (10)
Last Night On Earth - This is the rockiest song on the album and once again like the U2 of old with its soaring guitars. (10)
Gone - This song exhibits U2's gift to write a gorgeous melody. The synths are beautifully layered when the chorus begins. The melody is gorgeous while the vocals are soaring. (10)
Miami - Not bad. It is too experimental with dance textures and rhythms and as a result the melody does not develop. (7)
The Playboy Mansion - The only true lowpoint of the album. This is the blues of Rattle and Hum-era U2 being mixed with modern production. Rather average (6)
If You Wear That Velvet Dress - Elegantly produced with a nice melody. Creates a Brian Eno-style mysterious ambience. I do prefer the live version for the lead guitar though as it gives it a more immediate melody (8)
Please - Very bleak and dark. This is the Acrobat of this album with its raw guitars. The dance textures add to the atmosphere. (9)
Wake Up Dead Men - Brings the album to a brilliant climax. The Achtung Baby style rawness of the guitars and Bono's voice heightens the emotion. It's a blinder. (10)
Although ATYCLB is better, this is still an underrated classic that vervaceously combines elements of old U2 with dance rhythms and electronic textures. Buy it now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a true classic...period!, 11 Dec 2004
By 
Mr. S. R. Dhain "shekhardhain" (leicester) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pop (Audio CD)
This album was given a very heavy "whipping" when it was released back in the late 90's. Unfairly, brit-pop was still living out it's (soon to be) final embers of success, so anything too electronic was looked at as nonsensical
Flood and Howie B took production duties here, and it really shows. Some complain that the organic "feel of the band, man" has gone, but the use of loops, textures et al really come to the fore on various tracks , such as mofo, miami, and discoteque
It's sad that Flood himself has occasionally also been a little scathing of this in some reviews, not to mention the fact that even the band tried to dissmiss it at the time?
This was the "apex" of the triumverate that began with achtung baby (not including the passengers album), and after this, they went back to a more "natural" sound. I personally think it's sad they went so far back in the other direction after this...a shame
But this is brilliant, and with so many hidden depths and layers that are'nt always obvious on a few (or even ten)listens, this deserves to be a future classic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An underrated gem, 28 Dec 2002
This review is from: Pop (Audio CD)
I often hear U2 fans saying this is U2's weakest album. Yes, it was rushed, and some of the tracks are heavily influenced by dance music (something most U2 fans seem to hate), but these are some of the reasons why this album is so spectacular. 'Discotheque', the opening track, is one of the most infectious songs ever written by the band. 'Mofo' sounds like a Chemical Brothers track, but strip the song back to its basics and what you notice are some of the most personal and revealing lyrics Bono has ever written. 'Please' and 'Wake Up Dead Man' are bleak but beautiful, and 'Staring At The Sun' is one of my all-time favourite U2 songs. This album may not be as instantly appealing as the much acclaimed 'All That You Can't Leave Behind' which was to follow, but what it lacks in cohesiveness it makes up for in spirit, and that is a rare thing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Totally under-rated!, 21 July 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Pop (Audio CD)
This is yet another fine U2 album, not as good as "Achtung Baby" or "The Joshua Tree", but better then the likes of "War" and "Zooropa".
Staying along the techno lines that brought such immeasurable success with "Achtung" and "Zooropa", U2's third, and last, 90's album contains 12 tracks that no good-tasting music lover would skip.
Discotheque - 9/10. Poppy and light disco tune with a nice guitar riff and solid vocals. Not one of U2's more serious and deep tracks but a solid intro.
Do You Feel Loved - 9/10. Another strong poppy tune with an addictive chorus similar to "Mysterious Ways". Some nice guitar effects also.
Mofo - 8/10. A true disco hit with a great bass line, somewhat unusual lyrics and some excellent backing vocals from The Edge.
If God Will Send His Angels - 9/10. The first of the more in-depth songs on this album. Featuring in-your-face lyrics and a sweet sounding chorus.
Staring At The Sun - 9/10. Addictive pop track and for many, the first time a guitar as we know it is heard in the album! Good mix of acoustic and techno guitar to create a song that you'll find yourself singing along to in no time.
Last Night On Earth - 10/10. Some stunning lyrics and great backing vocals make this the albums first real gem. Check out the falsetto piece with Bono and Edge. Marvellous!
Gone - 10/10. Another excellent track! Great bass line and intro as well as strong lyrics.
Miami - 7/10. The first of the mid-album "drop", 'Miami' is good but far from the best this album has to offer.
The Playboy Mansion - 5/10. Very average by U2's standards. A rather mediocre track, tame compared to the rest of the album.
If You Wear That Velvet Dress - 5/10. At times rather disturbing vocals and hard to get into. Never really stands out.
Please - 10/10. Final breaks the three track drop with this, the albums best track. Super lyrically and great use of bass and drums as well as the guitar chorus. Up with the best of U2!
Wake Up, Dead Man - 10/10. Fine way to finish the album. Just behind 'Please' as the albums second best track. A very angry song with great guitar and lyrical parts.
All in all I would recommend this to anyone who enjoyed any of the other U2 albums. I had heard before I purchased it that this album wasn't going to be the super U2 I had been expecting but I was pleasantly surprised. Don't believe what they say, if you enjoyed "Achtung Baby" or are a good music-lover in general, you will enjoy this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why is it cool to dislike the last effort?, 1 Dec 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Pop (Audio CD)
There has been a lot of reviews referring to U2's "dissapointing Pop album". I'm not entirley sure who it dissapointed. OK, so it wasn't the Joshua tree, but then again, is that a bad think. The Joshua Tree was undoubtedly excellent. But then again, it trod no new ground, it was AOR, but unlike most albums of its kind, it was touched with the genius of U2. But then its best to look forward. To Achtung Baby, well nothing can, or will ever touch it. And that is rightly so. So of Pop then? I really wouldn't call it dance. It is certainly influenced by dance, but then its also influenced by disco. But underneath it all, the songs are still very much U2. And like any U2 album, NO ONE can agree which are bad or good. Miami? Well it still bursts like a firework half way through. And Discotheque still spins away into the distance. But if you remember one thing about this album for years to come, remember it gave us many of U2s best songs ever. And more of them than any other U2 album. I would challenge you not to find at least five absolute winners on this album. You may have forgotten how good they were, but that doesn't mean they are any less good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pop
Pop by U2 (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews