Customer Reviews
Pop


52 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Glam Rock for the 90s....
If the glam rockers of the 1970s could come back now, after the musical changes from the last two decades, someone like Slade would be releasing singles like those on POP. Though to say that the whole album can be generalised like this would be wrong.
The most noticable difference in U2 since their late 1980s albums has been the difference in 'mood' in their songs...
Published on 19 Oct. 2000

versus
5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hmm.
This is an album of 3 halves, clearly. The good bits, the bland bits and the bits that are left over!

What am I on about?

It depends if you're a U2 purist, a U2 nutter, or someone who just likes some U2 songs.

Whichever you are, there are some stock truths that should be considered when reviewing their work. 1. Their work is high-quality...
Published on 8 Dec. 2006 by C. Porter


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Glam Rock for the 90s...., 19 Oct. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Pop (Audio CD)
If the glam rockers of the 1970s could come back now, after the musical changes from the last two decades, someone like Slade would be releasing singles like those on POP. Though to say that the whole album can be generalised like this would be wrong.
The most noticable difference in U2 since their late 1980s albums has been the difference in 'mood' in their songs. Gone were the love songs, and small political messages towards the US, now the band were digging at commercialism and consumerism. Along with this change, Larry Mullen Jr (the U2 Drum machine) has evolved with the times, and this is very noticable on POP - it's U2 to a different beat.
The songs... aha, what was that 'Discotheque' all about? Well, it was OK wasn't it? 'Please', 'God will send his angels', 'staring at the sun'... You've probably heard them. However, 'Miami' and 'Mofo' could be the most experimental songs on there, both with beats to die for and 'sing-a-long-a whatever' lyrical mix.
Basically, some people will be disapointed with the fact that this album, along with Achtung Baby and Zooropa, is not the Joshua Tree. However, it isn't 1987 - so U2 should be commended for their way of making new music, and not the way they don't make the same past successes all over again....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A modern classic melting-pot of sheer enjoyment.., 2 Nov. 2002
By 
This review is from: Pop (Audio CD)
U2 have done it again with this album - tracks such as Discotheque, MOFO....oh forget it!! All of them!!!! Reveal a side not seen from U2 since the ZooRopa tour, their take on disco, dance and the haunting ballard of "If You Wear That Velvet Dress" are riveting to hear and you never tire of them - which for me if youre still listening to an album a few months after it's release then it's good, if youre still listening to the album a few YEARS after it's release then its a classic, which I am and this is!!
The music goes from dancey to electro to a complete change of mood and sees Bono coping very well with the slower and more personal songs in a fashion only U2 do so well.
A must buy even years after its release, you wont be let down unlike "All that you can't leave behind"!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly good, 16 Nov. 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Pop (Audio CD)
I've never been much of a U2 fan, finding all of their albums, including the Joshua Tree incredibly tedious. But for some reason Pop appeals to me in strange way. It was Last night on Earth, which got me originally. It's catchy yet simple riff gliding over the contemporary backing. David Holmes assistance is invaluable in making this an experimental pop record. Better than the old stuff!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars As fresh now as it was then, 15 July 2004
This review is from: Pop (Audio CD)
U2 are a band that have staked their claim in the rock hall of fame long before this album - so it was always going to be difficult to live up to the hype that success brings. "Pop" is an album that starts of with the class "discotheque" - a song that has an unmistakable riff. From tracks 1-3, the electronic influence come in heavily - but with great success - Track 3 (mofo) a particular good one. However, this album is one of the most introspective yet as well - tracks like "If God will send his angels" and "Velvet dress" are hidden gems that carry so much depth. Well worth investing in - if only to appreciate the endless talent of this brilliant band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LAST GREAT U2 ALBUM, 19 Nov. 2011
By 
B. Iddon (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pop (Audio CD)
For me POP is the last special U2 album.After this they just produced ordinary sounding music without that something special that made U2 so,well special.Such a shame because i always looked forward to every new release the band came out with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Alka Seltzer, please, 29 Nov. 2012
This review is from: Pop (Audio CD)
Achtung Baby felt like an album full of hope and belief in a better world after the fall of communism. Zooropa and the 2 year tour felt like a party where we all got drunk on that hope and belief. By comparison, Pop felt like the hangover after the party where everyone starts to realise that the hope was misplaced and that nothing much has really changed. A great album, nonetheless. It's almost as if the party is carrying on but nobody really believes in it anymore, hence the change of mood.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pop by name, not by content!, 10 Feb. 2009
By 
T. Heffernan - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pop (Audio CD)
Excellent album by U2 and easily one of their best! It's called Pop and many think it's all dance music. As a 19 year old rock music fan who despises pop and dance music I can easily say the whole album is 100% rock and roll.... well maybe 90%! Mofo and Miami are the only real "techno" songs here, but they're even good songs too. Apart from that it's business as usual!

Why nobody bought it is a mystery. Please buy it and get it's sales past double figures!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pop tastic, 3 Mar. 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Pop (Audio CD)
I own every U2 album and this one is without question my favourite. I know the band have pretty much disowned it but Pop has some of the strongest material they ever produced.
Its a shame they lost their bottle after this and went back to the stadium rock that the majority of fans wanted. Achtung Baby, Zooropa and Pop were taking the band in a much more creative, experimental direction. The music was completely cut loose from the bombast that U2 has been associated with. Pop put texture and depth to the sound, Edge clearly is having a field day in this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great album, 23 Jun. 2013
By 
A. King (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pop (Audio CD)
I am currently completing my U2 collection with later albums. Pop another album that had a slating when it came out! I've been a U2 fan since school, way back in 1985! Wow this album is fantastic, the samples on here do not do it justice! If you love U2 you will not regret buying this album!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Where it all started for me, 16 Sept. 2014
This review is from: Pop (Audio CD)
This is the U2 album (and tour) that had me addicted. At the time I was into dance music playing the U2 remixes from the early 90's Zooropa era quite often so hearing the original versions often happened after hearing the many mixes.

The album itself sounds incomplete in places, like the demo version was mixed into the final track. Miami and Mofo seem to fall into this category. However, that said, it's the rawness of the two tracks that is what makes this a unique album.

While the album was met with mixed reviews it did put U2 onto the radar of a younger generation many of whom will be fans to this day and, like me, own many other U2 albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pop
Pop by U2 (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews