Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Played over and over again
....and I just can't get bored with it. An exellent album from Paul Weller. As usual an eclectic range of excellent songs from a very underrated performer. This man has got soul. He can get you rocking along with him one moment and then touch you with the sincerity of a wonderful ballad. He displays how he is influenced by many types of music - rock, soul, dub reggae,mod...
Published on 21 Oct 2005 by Harlow Guthrie

versus
18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Troubled Fourth Album from Weller
To follow the multi-platinum success of the Stanley Road album, Weller strips back the production and takes his groove ridden angst to another new place. No compromise for chart action here.
It's rumoured he was wrestling with personal demons while making the album and with the angry guitar slashes and impassioned vocals of the opening eponymous track and the rocking...
Published on 13 Sep 2001


Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Troubled Fourth Album from Weller, 13 Sep 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Heavy Soul (Audio CD)
To follow the multi-platinum success of the Stanley Road album, Weller strips back the production and takes his groove ridden angst to another new place. No compromise for chart action here.
It's rumoured he was wrestling with personal demons while making the album and with the angry guitar slashes and impassioned vocals of the opening eponymous track and the rocking single "Peacock Suit", you can feel it. They really bristle with energy and vibes.
In much the same way as his towering stage presence, a lot of Weller's recorded work has an astonishing physicality. His songs seem to squirm and push at the edges with real dynamic force.
However the standout Track on Heavy Soul is "Up In Suze's Room", a smokey, hazy accoustic lope of a song which sees the protagonist getting wasted with his new love and loving it. Achingly fabulous.
By this artist's impeccably high standards though, there are a couple of songs which don't really come across to the listener: "Heavy Soul II" is infuriatingly faded in as a stand alone instrumental. "Brushed" has a great voodoo groove and more of that sinewy dynamism but is never as exciting as the first four bars promise. "As You Lean Into The Light" lacks the warmth of Weller's usual sincerity and he sounds detatched and maudlin.
Still, a fascinating album by this finest of singer songwriters and a worthy companion to this year's standout "Heliocentric" collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Played over and over again, 21 Oct 2005
This review is from: Heavy Soul (Audio CD)
....and I just can't get bored with it. An exellent album from Paul Weller. As usual an eclectic range of excellent songs from a very underrated performer. This man has got soul. He can get you rocking along with him one moment and then touch you with the sincerity of a wonderful ballad. He displays how he is influenced by many types of music - rock, soul, dub reggae,mod. Buy and enjoy for years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Certainly not an easy option, 4 Jun 2008
This review is from: Heavy Soul (Audio CD)
I've been best mates with my best mate(dur!...obviously!) for over 25 years. He got this album before me, and when he remarked to me that it was "obvious filler", we fell out, and he had to buy me several pints before I would speak to him again.

I really like it. It oozes class. Right from the opening riffs of Heavy Soul Part I through to Friday Street. The tracks that will live forever are obvious...Peacock Suit, Brushed and Friday Street, but there are other unforgettable songs in between, too.

Who else gives you a dozen anthems every time you buy one of his albums?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Puzzled, 10 May 2010
By 
This review is from: Heavy Soul (Audio CD)
I really don't get people's downer on this album. I really love it and find it sits beautifully alongside Paul's debut (which was itself royally put down for many years), Wildwood and Stanley Road. Real music, depth, and really warm sounds that I've loved ever since I first heard it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heavy Soul - Paul Weller, 28 Jun 2010
By 
S. NAKONECZNYJ (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heavy Soul (Audio CD)
Have been a big fan of Paul Weller for years, but realised I didn't have all his albums, so decided to start a collection (will be seeing him in December in concert)

Loved this album, every one of his albums is different, but this was definitely more "soulful" than some of his others, and would highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars heavy sole, 24 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heavy Soul (Audio CD)
I recently purchased this item and found it amazing I am a great Paul Weller fan so I would recommend this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars pual weller, 5 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heavy Soul (Audio CD)
Excellent, I`ve got to put another 14 words in but I`ve said it in a nut shell excellent love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Beware this album includes half-songs...., 25 Aug 2006
This review is from: Heavy Soul (Audio CD)
Following on from the heady success of "Stanley Road", this album struck something of a sour note.

From the muddy opening chords of the title track to the heady rush of "Brushed", the well-rounded quality of "Stanley Road" seemed to be broken off leaving rougher edges.

The opening four tunes are of sound quality. "Up In Suze's Room" bringing a summery breeze to the heavier songs either side of it.

Where it starts to fall apart is on tracks like "Driving Nowhere" and "Golden Sands" - barely B-sides. Quality control issues or writer's block seemed to be an issue here for a songwriter of such stature to include these half-songs on an album. The same is true of "As You Lean Into The Light" which has potential to travel then grinds to a halt.

More impressive is the sharp "Science" and charming "Mermaids."

The smoky, apologetic ballad - "I Should Have Been There To Inspire You" - is an overlooked classic.

The sound is at time abrasive and a little discordant. There are some nuggets of tracks on here but as an album there's a handful of songs on here that don't cut the mustard and for an artist of Paul Weller's talent and stature it's reasonable to expect more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good cd, 12 Nov 2014
This review is from: Heavy Soul (Audio CD)
Great album, not as good as wild wood but very good still!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Patchy!, 1 Jun 2009
By 
J. J. Greenhorn "captainrock" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Heavy Soul (Audio CD)
Heavy Soul was recorded almost entirely live and it has some superb songs on it, most notably "Heavy Soul" "Peacock Suit" and "Friday Street"
I find it quite a harsh album to listen to though, it seems to lack sentiment and conviction at times. "Driving Nowhere" isnt even a B-Side and "Golden Sands" is pretty pathetic.
For a studio album it really feels unfinished, with a bit more spit and polish it could have been a right good one, but were left with an average album from an exceptional songwriter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Heavy Soul
Heavy Soul by Paul Weller (Audio CD - 2000)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews