Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Donna's first life post-Moroder
Firstly, the MP3 download linked from this Amazon page is a completely different album. This review is for the 1982 album "Donna Summer", released on Warner Brothers in the UK and Geffen in the U.S.

I agree to a certain extent with the earlier reviewer who put the case for this being a Quincy Jones album with almost a 'guest vocalist' in the form of D.S...
Published on 7 July 2010 by not_a_real_folkie

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Was this CD released in Canada ? Why has one seller have many copies of a rare pressing ?
This original CD is as rare as hens teeth but one seller on Amazon seems to have sold many ..booklet looks like a substandard copy but CD sounds ok ..perplexed ?!?
Published 18 months ago by Guy Andrews


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Donna's first life post-Moroder, 7 July 2010
By 
not_a_real_folkie "not_a_real_folkie" (Farnham, Surrey, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Donna Summer (Audio CD)
Firstly, the MP3 download linked from this Amazon page is a completely different album. This review is for the 1982 album "Donna Summer", released on Warner Brothers in the UK and Geffen in the U.S.

I agree to a certain extent with the earlier reviewer who put the case for this being a Quincy Jones album with almost a 'guest vocalist' in the form of D.S. However, I think there is more to it than that, and Donna's voice does have enough strength of character to put its stamp on the material, despite Quincy Jones giving it his best prime-period early 80s production.

The overall production on the uptempo songs is not dissimilar to MJ's "Off The Wall" or "Thriller", but the album steers off into braver territory with the cover of "State of Independence"... and I'd also make a case for "Lush Life" being a work of genius, not an awkward add-on at the end of the album. Listen to the subtle interplay of sax and vocal line in the second half of the song, for example - and Donna gets those tricky chromatic intervals in the melody line absolutely spot-on.

State of Independence is of course the great centrepiece of the album and builds beautifully on the strong rhythm track that is established from the first few bars of the song. Donna's searing vocal twists, turns and builds through the song, delaying the glorious moment when you just _know_ the choir are gonna come crashing in with their "He-e-e-y!!". The lyrics may be complete new-age guff, but as a song it works brilliantly.

Elsewhere "The Woman In Me" is a sultry slowie, with a superb atmosphere built up by Quincy Jones' musicians and production. I also like "Love Is Just A Breath Away" on (what was) Side 2 of the album, which moves along at a slow, deliberate pace whilst musing on a very sensual vision of love; the contrast between the sequenced... almost "precision" backing and the lyrical depiction of luuurrrve is a great idea. Oddly enough I was reminded of Donna's earlier mix of mechanical beats and sensual lyrics on "I Feel Love", except that "Love Is Just A Breath Away" takes things tantalizingly slowly instead.

OK, "Living in America" is pretty dire, once the initial tight brass stab has gone by in the first 20 seconds, and I usually skip that track. "If It Hurts Just A Little" has harmonies and a superb brass arrangement that Stevie Wonder would be proud of.

I'll conclude with my customary Amazon Review whinge, which is to say that Warners/Geffen should just re-issue this either on CD or as a download to stop the flagrant profiteering going on in the "used/new" box on this page - and, while they're at it, they could add the gorgeous B-side of the "Finger On The Trigger" single, which was also produced by Quincy Jones with much love and attention: "Sometimes Like Butterflies". Come on guys etc.

Fantastic album, and a definite improvement on "The Wanderer" that preceded it (not counting "I'm A Rainbow" because I haven't heard that).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Soulful Summer, 25 Jan 2011
By 
Tim Kidner "Hucklebrook Hound" (Salisbury, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Donna Summer (Audio CD)
I have ninety nine percent point five percent of my LP collection now on CD. This is one of a handful that I do not; indeed I have just bought online a second copy of the LP for a very low price, as my original from the 80's is completely worn.

I thoroughly agree that this album is well, well overdue for CD re-release. Just look at the silly new CD prices, here on Amazon.

As for the album itself, compared to her electro-dance stuff, whilst wonderful, they were as much about the 12" mixes as anything. Though some tracks aren't as strong as they could be, the brilliant ones are just that. Quincy Jones' arrangements and production suits her to a T, holding her voice aloft or enveloping her in luscious instrumentation.

'The Woman In Me' is a stand-out and 'Lush Life' melts me every time. I'd buy this album just for that. Sultry, emotive vocals that evoke a hot-summer's night. Keyboards float around her soaring vocals and the spatial stereo of this album is lovely. The sax solo in Lush Life is one that aches its angst until the very end of the record, flitting, jazz style in and out of her longing vocals.

Everybody's favourite, State of Independence is anthemic and should have been a big, big hit, on an international level.

'I Need Protection' is a powerful Pate Benatar style footstomper, with enough groove for the dancefloor. Some other tracks have an 80's edge to their backing vocals and the Stevie Wonder 'style' brass accompaniments have been highlighted by other reviewers.

Me keeping my old turntable operational is partly due to this album. When I go through the relative rigmarole of getting it out and playing it, makes it more of an occasion. One for which I have to award maximum score. I have to stand up for this one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good to see, 26 July 2012
This review is from: Donna Summer (Audio CD)
The profiteering is just contemptous!! of both donna summer and her fans here at amazon! for this CD! get real sellers, silly prices! and it just looks bad in the face of the death of this lovely human being, a great album marred by greedy prices.

It's good to see that the seller heavy matal haven is selling the album at a very reasonable collectors price of 19.99, thats fair!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Was this CD released in Canada ? Why has one seller have many copies of a rare pressing ?, 15 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Donna Summer (Audio CD)
This original CD is as rare as hens teeth but one seller on Amazon seems to have sold many ..booklet looks like a substandard copy but CD sounds ok ..perplexed ?!?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Big mistake by Geffen & Jones, 14 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Donna Summer (Audio CD)
As a massive born-again Donna fan it saddens me that I can only give this album 3 stars.

I have listened to this album again and again and I just cannot warm to it. As other reviewers have said it sounds overblown and over-produced and now sounds more dated than any of her other albums. This is definitely a Quincy Jones album with Donna as a guest vocalist.

On some tracks Donna sounds strained, (when she shouldn't be), yet on other tracks restrained, (when she shouldn't be). She had the best voice in the business so this should have been a walk in the park for her. Donna had very little artistic input with this album and it shows. Either side of this album are terrific albums produced by Moroder, Omartian, and SAW. So who got it right and who got it wrong?

My own views are: David Geffen, (he tried to fix something that wasn't broken), and Quincy Jones - he obviously didn't gel with this little gem with the fantastic voice. Donna always was a first-take artist who could crack it at the first attempt; I think he tried to push her and as such failed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hard to find - Matured very well, 20 Aug 2013
By 
Joost (The Netherlands) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Donna Summer (Audio CD)
When David Geffen wanted to spark the career of Donna Summer, he asked Quincy Jones for help. Somehow Quincy's magic didn't work out with Donna Summer, as it did with Michael Jackson. Something I don't understand, as I think this is a really great album. I bought the record in the eighties, but never bought the CD when it was released in the early nineties. And somehow I managed to trash the vinyl along the way, not knowing the CD became hard to get...

Now that I was able to buy the CD for a reasonable price, I was amazed at how well it aged. The album contains mostly great songs that easily match the quality of those of Jackson's Thriller era. Songs in a variety of styles from pop to disco to soul to rock and even a jazz standard.

Summer seemed to have said that this was not her album, but a Quincy Jones album on which she just happened to sing. And indeed, it is a typical Jones album. But I think that Jones did a great job supplying her with quality songs and musicians. And I think it is easily her best album after the seventies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting and varied album, 18 Oct 2002
By 
Pieter Uys "Toypom" (Johannesburg) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Donna Summer Live (Audio CD)
This is not one of Donna Summer's more memorable albums like the late 70s classics, but still a good listening experience that displays her versatility. There's bit of everything: some soul, some pop, some disco, some rock and even a bit of jazz. My faves are Love Is In Control, Protection, Livin' In America, and of course, the soaring, spiritual State Of Independence, which is why I'm awarding this album 4 stars. Essential for fans, this album is not however the ideal entry point for those wanting to investigate her music. For those I would recommend one of the Greatest Hits collections or her magnum opus, Bad Girls.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars excellent well polished cd from the diva herself, 25 Sep 2002
By 
Mr. G. I. Davies (marchwood, hants United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Donna Summer (Audio CD)
although donna wasnt that happy with this album-she was pregnant at the time but had a good time making it,it really shines as a well polished strong album by donna and the mega producer himself quincy jones.every track is so good to listen to espically mystery of love with james ingram doing background vocals and the woman in me-both never released as singles.a classic eighties album full of soul.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 7 Aug 2014
By 
John Williams - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Donna Summer (Audio CD)
My favorite Donna album and superb production,awesome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Underated Classic, 2 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Donna Summer (Audio CD)
This album is Donna Summer doing something new again. The album was produced by Quincey Jones in between producing "Off The Wall" and "Thriller" for Michael Jackson. This is apparent throughout, but never the less, not a Michael clone. Love Is In Control
was a storming dance track that kept the dance floors jumping in 1982. "State of Independence" her cover of Jon and Vangelis' song
has an all-star choir including Michael Jackson, Stevie Wonder and Dionne Warwick to name a few, it still sounds clean and fresh today, not to mention spiritually uplifting. Her cover of Bruce Springsteens' "Protection" is fantastic and a real stand out. For me the best track is "The Woman In Me" it is slushy and part spoken, but Donna can get away with that cos she is so talented. If you are a Donna Summer fan and loved Off The Wall or Thriller, you will love this. R.I.P Donna you are still my girl!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Donna Summer
Donna Summer by Donna Summer (Audio CD - 1995)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews