Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 37 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a top best of
During the eighties Kool & The Gang were third behind Duran Duran and Huey Lewis And The News as the band with the most hits in America and with one look at the track list of their greatest hits album you can see how this was possible. The band were one of the funkiest around in the eighties and their funk tracks like "Celebration", "Get Down On It", "Fresh" "Too Hot"...
Published on 28 Sept. 2000

versus
3 of 37 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Sell Out Pop
During the 1970's Kool & The Gang were one of THE funk bands - heavy bass lines, loud 'fatback' drumming, jazzy horns, whistles but NO singing!

Great songs included Funky Music, Hollywood Swinging (which had a few vocals) Jungle Boogie etc etc.

Then they acquired a singer (James 'JT' Taylor) & released the pop drivel on this album...
Published on 22 Jan. 2007 by MJ King


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

33 of 37 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a top best of, 28 Sept. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Celebration: The Best Of Kool & The Gang [1979-1987] (Audio CD)
During the eighties Kool & The Gang were third behind Duran Duran and Huey Lewis And The News as the band with the most hits in America and with one look at the track list of their greatest hits album you can see how this was possible. The band were one of the funkiest around in the eighties and their funk tracks like "Celebration", "Get Down On It", "Fresh" "Too Hot" and "(Ooh La LA La) Let's Go Dancin' " are still played at many parties today and were some of the biggest dance hits of the eighties and will probably still get your toes tapping if you hear them today. Despite the fact that they could get up and party, the band also made some classic slow jams such as the brilliant tracks "Joanna" and "Cherish" which are two of the smoothest love songs that you will ever hear. Overall it's a collection of some of the best r and b music of all time and is a must have for any collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Get down on it!, 24 Feb. 2010
By 
Mr. S. Randall (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Celebration: The Best Of Kool & The Gang [1979-1987] (Audio CD)
If you were boogying on down in the 70s and 80s, this CD is packed with tracks that will put you right back there on the disco floor. Every track is a belter. If you like to listen to feel-good music, you won't go far wrong with this one.

There might be those who would describe some tracks as "inane disco pap" or "sentimental pop twaddle". Well, each to there own, but in my view there's nothing wrong with good old-fashioned POP!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Some music can take you higher., 10 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Celebration: The Best Of Kool & The Gang [1979-1987] (Audio CD)
Wonderful disco/funk/soul music which conjures-up all sorts of memories. When girls were feminine and Political Correctness was considered no more that MPs not urinating on the lavatory floor. Back in the day I had so much fun meeting girls and going out to live music which mimicked many of the songs on this album. Great production and musicality which is as fresh today as it was when I was out on the town in preference to doing my college coursework. I still feel guilty listening to this album. But I have had some lovely dreams as a consequence. Remembering when we didn't have mobile phones or IPads and relied on person to person friendships and affection. Just hearing JTs’ voice was enough to get me emotional and regretting my adolescence shyness. The first bar of Celebration gets to places with such speed overcoming my soul with emotion. For a couple of pence this was an absolute bargain as a second-hand purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Celebration: The Best Of Kool & The Gang [1979-1987] (Audio CD)
Great cd
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 3 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Celebration: The Best Of Kool & The Gang [1979-1987] (Audio CD)
Perfect. Thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic band, 28 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
fantastic band, music and very Kool band from way back in the day! delivery was perfect recommend to all interested in soul and jazz funk!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic, 11 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Celebration: The Best Of Kool & The Gang [1979-1987] (Audio CD)
Brings back the good old days of clubbing in the 80's, great music to listen to and dance too. If only I could turn the clock back to the 80's and relive my life again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars annebar, 27 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Celebration: The Best Of Kool & The Gang [1979-1987] (Audio CD)
Had LP in the 'seventies, needed a compilation. Fun music, good harmonies. Listen to this and I forget I'm 65!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Rewind Life, 26 Sept. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A brilliant album by a legendary group of my growing up. Night clubs and Kool & The Gang were made for each other and are still performing live with their classic tracks today,will be timeless songs in my opinion,well worth the purchase at a good price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars CD, 25 Sept. 2013
By 
M. D. Eve "Mark Eve" (Plymouth, Devon) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Celebration: The Best Of Kool & The Gang [1979-1987] (Audio CD)
What a great cd this is, it brought back some wonderful memories from my youth, a great purchase thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Celebration: The Best Of Kool & The Gang [1979-1987]
Celebration: The Best Of Kool & The Gang [1979-1987] by Kool & The Gang (Audio CD - 1996)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews