Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant
Its 12 or 13 years ago now since I bought this album but its one I keep coming back to. It was my introduction to the Jam. I'd gotten into Weller in the Wildwood era and vaguely new something about the jam and him being in the band. It was about the time I was becoming obsessed with all things mod. My dad's old Who and Small Faces records used to go on every day after...
Published on 26 Jan 2007 by Mark Hoskins

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Live Jam
Being a huge Jam and Weller fan who has never had the chance of watching them in concert, I have purchased numerous live bootlegs that all differ so much in quality. This official live album is a welcome addition at first sight, offering the listener a very varied set list, featuring power pop songs such as "Modern world" as well as more balladesque tunes like...
Published on 15 Mar 2011 by 60's Fanatic


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 26 Jan 2007
This review is from: Live Jam (Audio CD)
Its 12 or 13 years ago now since I bought this album but its one I keep coming back to. It was my introduction to the Jam. I'd gotten into Weller in the Wildwood era and vaguely new something about the jam and him being in the band. It was about the time I was becoming obsessed with all things mod. My dad's old Who and Small Faces records used to go on every day after school. Then I heard Live Jam! Wow! The power, the aggression, the sheer energy coupled with Weller's musical genious had me hooked right away. All these years later and The Jam and The Style Council are still two of my favourite bands.

Buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but there are better, 7 Feb 2006
By 
M. Belcher (Lund, Sweden) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live Jam (Audio CD)
If you're a Jam fan then you'll either have this already or ignore what any reviwers write and just buy it. You'll not be disappointed. Its a good live album and captures what the Jam were like at their height and in their (live) element. The track selection is extensive and gets in all the popular numbers plus some unexpected ones. If you're getting into the Jam, then this is as good a live set as you can expect and gives a good impression of what they were really all about.
Personally, I prefer Dig the New Breed, as some of the versions of the key tracks on that, are better and it has the standout version of Ghosts. Saying that, this album can't be faulted and in terms of the range and number of tracks, its a sound investment and well worth having.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Jam fans, even if you have Dig The New Breed, buy it!, 6 Jun 2002
By 
D. Campbell "Cinephile" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Live Jam (Audio CD)
The great thing about this American disc is that it doesn't duplicate the running order of contemporary live LP (1982) 'Dig The New Breed' at all. Surprisingly, neither disc replicates the running order of a singles collection LP either, with obscurer tracks like 'Heatwave' given equal priority.
Far too young to have attended a Jam gig, and in the absence of any concert videos, listening to these CDs is probably the closest younger Jam fans will ever be able to get to being there.
Paul Weller as angry-sounding young man is what you get on every track, a million-miles from the dad rock strummings on last year's 'Days Of Speed'!
As with The Clash, listening to studio recordings only gives half the story, because The Jam live must have been a hot ticket.
'The Modern World' is a pretty dud song to kick off with, but 'Billy Hunt' gets the crowd going and 'Down In The Tube Station At Midnight' and 'Town Called Malice' are brilliant as always.
All told, a bit of a bargain really.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Live Jam, 15 Mar 2011
This review is from: Live Jam (Audio CD)
Being a huge Jam and Weller fan who has never had the chance of watching them in concert, I have purchased numerous live bootlegs that all differ so much in quality. This official live album is a welcome addition at first sight, offering the listener a very varied set list, featuring power pop songs such as "Modern world" as well as more balladesque tunes like "Carnation" or "Butterfly collector". The trouble here is that the responsible sound engineer's attempt seemingly was to over-emphasize Bruce Foxton's bass guitar so that the overall "wall of sound" appears dull to my ears. Secondly the sound quality is much too consistent and monotonous - not very authentic if you consider that this is a compilation made up from various gigs between 1977 and 1982. At this point I'd rather recommend the more nuanced and differing "Dig the new breed" release from 1982. Thirdly this Polydor compilation was released at a time when Paul Weller (who was sacked on the spot in 1990) started being successful again on Go!Discs - Dennis Munday, once intimate friend of Weller, now a fellow traveller who tries to earn a profit by assembling this CD from the Polydor vaults is responsible for this album. The same person who published the paperback "Shout to the top"a few years ago, in which he stabs his former friend in the back by writing lots of rubbish about Weller's mistakes in the music business... All this smells a bit fishy to me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is what it was like, 17 Mar 2006
This review is from: Live Jam (Audio CD)
I saw the Jam twice in 1977-78. This album,for a ridiculous price, is something you should buy, firstly for yourself and secondly, and more importantly, for your (possibly future)children, so they can understand you when you complain about the triviality of modern "music". Rock and roll doesn't get better than this, though the Stones, Dolls, Kennedys, Television et al provide reasonable competition. Don't waste your money on another pint or ten fags, buy this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 16 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live Jam (Audio CD)
This is a very good album from The Jam the track list is outstanding and very enjoyable to listen to
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Live Jam, 27 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live Jam (Audio CD)
Great live album from the Jam . As good as Its Alive! by the Ramones Paul Weller on top form as always!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great, 9 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live Jam (MP3 Download)
It could be that i am now older, but this album is better than almost anything around today. I understand that it is all subjective, and today's music will be heralded by this generation in twenty years as "better than today's" music. Sadly, i do feel that music from the 80's and 90's maybe the last time that songs with melody, rhythm and audible lyrics were created. Well i will get of my soap box now and say that this is a great album ans worth a listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A LIVE ESSENTIAL, 24 May 2005
This review is from: Live Jam (Audio CD)
any live jam cd is a must buy for your collection,been round a long time now this cd,no band bettered the jam for playing live,no band ever will,we are treated to many album tracks on the cd stand out tracks for me"billy hunt"man in the corner shop"little boy soldiers"every track is played with so much energy which is what a jam gig was all about,a definate buy this one,put it in your cd rack next to dig the new breed and enjoy,without doubt you will.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Live Jam
Live Jam by The Jam (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews