Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fans MUST buy this album
This is by far the best album Def Leppard have released - only it isn't an album; it's a collection of B sides and nearlys. Some great non-traditional Def Leppard tracks like Desert Song and Fractured Love as well as some good old rock tracks like Ride into the Sun and Ring of Fire. There's also a storming cover of an old sweet song - Action - and was released as a...
Published on 1 Jun. 2003 by NJ Thomson

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Dissapointed.
Not what I expected. The album was uneven and it sounds like they cobbled together some old demos to rush out this album following the mixed 'Adrenalize' album.
Published 8 months ago by The Wanderer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fans MUST buy this album, 1 Jun. 2003
This review is from: Retro Active (Audio CD)
This is by far the best album Def Leppard have released - only it isn't an album; it's a collection of B sides and nearlys. Some great non-traditional Def Leppard tracks like Desert Song and Fractured Love as well as some good old rock tracks like Ride into the Sun and Ring of Fire. There's also a storming cover of an old sweet song - Action - and was released as a single. Ballads are not missing, buut don't be surprised to hear Miss You in a Heartbeat no less than three times on the album! I can't wait till the next B-side collection!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More than a collection of cutting room sweepings!, 27 Mar. 2002
By 
M. D. Rathbone (Runcorn, Cheshire - UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Retro Active (Audio CD)
Although billed as an album of fillers, cast-offs and 'b' sides it is more than that, with gems such as "Miss You in a Heartbeat", "Two Steps Behind" and "Desert Song" standing out as classic Leppard tracks.
There is some padding and alternative versions of the same songs but I'd dare to say as an album it is better than "Slang" and on a par with the Leps first two albums (in my opinion!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLANT, 1 Feb. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Retro Active (Audio CD)
A compilation of Def Leppard b-tracks from through the out years.Best tracks are 'Fractured Love', She's too tough', Only After Dark' and 'I Wanna be your Hero'. A really good cd, which like DEF LEPPARD seems to be severely under rated.Buy it, as it is better then many band's actual albums, after all these are B-sides.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Retrospectively...., 13 Jan. 2011
By 
ratmonkey (Hardy Country) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Retro Active (Audio CD)
A huge surprise. I bought this working towards completing my collection without giving it much credit as an album. Slang was ok. Different and less fun than a usual DL album, but still pretty good. Euphoria was back to the Hysteria sound, although not as good. And X followed suit really. I let RetroActive lie on my ipod for a good few months before giving it a go. On first listen I wasn't too impressed and my fears had become ratified. Ok, no cigar. But even after 1 listen there were some tracks that stood out, like 'Fractured Love', 'Action' and the 2 ballads, 'Two Steps Behind' and 'Miss You In A Heartbeat'. On about the 3rd listen every single track seemed to begin singing off the hard drive as if some magic spell had suddenly brought them all to life. The greatest feeling in the world is that of low expectations being transformed into pure addiction.

'Desert Song' takes a while to sink in and it is one of the less 'Def Leppard' songs, but it is a fantastic, hard, driving, dark track that gets better with each listen. 'Fractured Love' starts slow but explodes into a very 80s metal chorus, together with chugging guitars and singalong, chanting chorus. As near to perfect, and again as unlike the 'normal' music played by the band, as possible. 'Action' is a true Leppard, fun track. However much it sounds like it was made for the band, it is actually a Sweet cover. And it's perfect. 'Two Steps Behind' is the first of the 2 ballads. It's a really good, weepy, acoustic number. The 'electric' version appears later but there is not much difference between the 2. 'She's So Tough' is a really old skool rocker with an infectious chorus. It's not perfect and could almost be said to be filler, but it does grow on every listen. 'Miss You In A Heartbeat' is the second ballad and it is as good as the first, with added saccharine and 'woo-oo-ooos'. It's much better than some of their ballads from later albums.

The Mick Ronson number 'Only After Dark' is great. It's fun and upbeat and has a great rhythm and beat. Very un-Leppard, but very very good. 'Ride Into the Sun' is a grower. It has a very fresh, crunchy, production, a fantastic metal riff (very 80s again, which is why I'm loving this) and a thumping beat. But it's only recognisable after a few listens. So far, no dud tracks. 'From The Inside' I thought was the first not great track but after repeated listens I've come to see it as one of the best in the collection, even of their career! It's subtle and moving and understated with great lyrics and a gripping melancholy. Awesome and very real, which is what a lot of their other albums lack. 'Ring of Fire' has the same overall feel as 'Ride ...'. It's another extremely serious rock song with teeth and almost sounds like a WASP track circa Headless Children (meaning= excellent). 'I Wanna Be Your Hero' horribly recalls the Enrique cheese-fest, but it is far from that chart-bothering monster. Not to say that it is not cheesy though. It's probably slightly a little weaker than the rest but it's still a worthy track and would make other filler seem like dross. Then there is a run of the ballads with extra/less guitars etc. It is unneeded as the tracks are perfectly fine on their own. But that's a minor quibble.

This album's heart is in the 80s glam and metal era. It is THE least sounding Def Leppard album. It is a collection of B-sides and rarities that had not made it onto any album proper. And it is undeniably one of the band's best records. Ironic.

And it's got a cracking front cover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ... BE YOUR HERO" Are CLEARLY And by far the BEST songs on the album but even the other Songs ..., 6 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Retro Active (Audio CD)
This Album is a MUST If you are a Fan of the Band and even if you are not it is HIGHLY RECCOMENDED "DESERT SONG" "ACTION" "SHE'S TO TOUGH"I MISS YOU IN A HEARTBEAT "ONLY AFTER DARK" "RING OF FIRE" and "I WANNA BE YOUR HERO" Are CLEARLY And by far the BEST songs on the album but even the other Songs such as "FRACTURED LOVE and "RIDE INTO THE SUN" are Catchy I Must say all the tracks on the album are EXCELLENTLY PRODUCED and STRIKINGLY CLEAR In SOUND and MUSIC Quality.Making it clear that DEF LEPPARD Are MASTERS OF THERE CRAFT This album is MUCH BETTER than a album of 4 Stars out of 5 and I am very glad that I have it!!!!!!!!,"4.6 out of 5 for me"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars was pretty good then, 2 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Retro Active (Audio CD)
I first bought this album on tape, when it came out in the mid 90s,was pretty good then. The tape has long worn out"so has the tape deck",so finaly got round to buying on CD,i should have got long ago,this is a really good album of B sides,and lost tunes,really gose well with albums 3-5,lots of good stuff,def leppard at there best,so if you have albums 3-5,this is well worth buying,enjoy Justin. ps the cover,seems to be two things,when you lookc at it from close on,and afar,exellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What a gem, 27 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Retro Active (Audio CD)
This album is fantastic. I had ignored Leppard for years as I thought they were no longer the band I grew to love in my youth. My bias meant I ignored this album on release. It was only the impact of seeing them live that rekindled my interest. Having read the other positive reviews on Amazon I gave this a go. How right they were. Every track is worthy of being on he album and the album is in my opinion better than their classics as it is not as over produced/mixed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Masterful!, 15 Dec. 2010
This review is from: Retro Active (Audio CD)
This is a collection of B-sides and rarities and the fact it's better than the last three 'proper' Def Leppard albums says it all. From the crushing, middle-Eastern flavoured Desert Song, to the high-energy Action and a whole host of other rockers, ballads and curiosities, this is Def Leppard at their very best. Essential.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Not bad for a Steel City Rockers 2nd XV, 9 Jun. 2012
By 
I. H. Roblin (Cardiff, Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Retro Active (Audio CD)
'Desert Song', 'Ride into the sun' and 'Two steps behind' are Leppard classics, and the rest are great rockers.

Voice, guitars, song-writing, it's all there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Dissapointed., 30 Aug. 2014
By 
The Wanderer (Far below the soil) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Retro Active (Audio CD)
Not what I expected. The album was uneven and it sounds like they cobbled together some old demos to rush out this album following the mixed 'Adrenalize' album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Retro Active
Retro Active by Def Leppard (Audio CD - 1994)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews