Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Imperfect but with some amazing highs
As the 90s progressed U2 continuously tried to experiment and change their style as much as possible, so much so that it's hard to believe that in just 10 short years they had gone from simple Post-Punk to the experimental sonic soundscapes that make up Zooropa.
The album opens with "Zooropa", with its piano long intro and extensive sampling of commercials, that lets...
Published on 6 May 2008 by Shorty11857

versus
11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Zooropa - An interesting U2 milestone...
Zooropa, in my opinion, is an album that marks an interesting milestone in U2's career. It seems as though by 1993 they'd grown tired of their existing successful 'straight-rock' formula and wanted to experiment and diversify with some new and more modern and different ideas.
Zooropa is a mixture between conventional U2 instrumentals and dance/synth effects. With the...
Published on 25 Mar 2003 by Jonathan Collin


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars U2 Zooropa, 13 Dec 2007
By 
Mr. Harvie P. Gemmell (Kazakhstan) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Zooropa (Audio CD)
What an album - this is the album that got me into U2. Prior to release, Radio 1 played a number of tracks from the forthcoming album and the radical techno/synth slant left me transfixed. The star of my CD collection, Zooropa is the most influential album I have ever bought, its so brilliantly put together, you'll want to listen to it time over!! If you have'nt got it, make it a priority, it really is that good!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not spectacular but worth a go., 17 July 2001
This review is from: Zooropa (Audio CD)
This is probably my least favourite of U2's albums. It is much more cynical and deppressing than most of their 90's work. Achtung Baby is a much better album to listen to and Pop will grow on you alot more than Zooropa ever will. Still a valuable addition to any U2 fans collection just don't expect it to be one of your favourites.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best, 7 July 2008
This review is from: Zooropa (Audio CD)
Yes, many fans of the first hour don't like it. Yes, it's different from The Unforgettable Fire and, to a lesser extent, Achtung Baby. Yes, it is more on the experimental and electronic side. But, if you grew up in post-Berlin-wall Europe, this album feels, smells and tastes like it - they got the Zeitgeist. That's why it's a great album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A challenging album, 9 Oct 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Zooropa (Audio CD)
In 1993, U2 shocked many of their fans with Zooropa, a curious collection of techno-influenced songs. However, I think it is one of their finest. Zooropa is worth the cost for four standout tracks; "Stay (Faraway So Close)", a stunning countryish ballad about a woman in a brutal relationship. The lyrics show Bono to be in third person, seeming powerless to help her. "Lemon" which criminally was left off the Greatest Hits collection is a passionate techno tune, supposedly written about his late mother. Bono sings at almost falsetto here and the skeletal piano is beautiful. Even at 7 minutes, it doesn't bore. There is also the title track which builds off a swirling, synthesiser introduction before lurching into a spacey, deceptively peaceful song about the future of Europe, complete with advertising references. At about 3 minutes it changes into the murkily anthemic.
Aside from those there is the seedy but catchy "Babyface" which builds from a chime loop, "Daddy's Gonna Pay For Your Crashed Car", a vengeful, pounding satire on spoilt rich girls and the excellent "Dirty Day", a slow-burning rocker with a sinister keyboard. The other songs don't excite as much, "The Wanderer", starring Johnny Cash doesn't really do much, neither does the bass-dominated "Some Days Are Better Than Others". "Numb" is an acquired taste with its techno feel and repetitive rap.
That leaves "The First Time", the fourth track that makes this album so good. It is a remarkably simple piano ballad, but has stunning, religious lyrics and subtle, understated guitar. A haunting song which typifies an often uncomfortable but challenging album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars World's biggest band still weird & good shock!!, 6 April 2002
By 
Jason Parkes "We're all Frankies'" (Worcester, UK) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Zooropa (Audio CD)
'Achtung Baby!' was a year zero for U2- don't get me wrong 'The Joshua Tree' & parts of 'Unforgettable Fire' were brilliant. The early stuff just poor man's Echo & Bunnymen; 'Rattle & Hum' the atrocious ode to tradition. Yawn...
So, U2 came back with the seriously strange 'The Fly' (check out 'Alex/Korova') & appeared to have been subjecting themselves to Disposable Heroes, Meat Beat Manifesto,MBV & Nitzer Ebb. This is a period in U2's history close to Bowie's legendary Berlin period (though they didn't make an album as patchy as 'Lodger').
The ZOO-TV tour was taking the right kind of ironic postmodernism to the masses- Baudrillard's 'America' meets CNN's 'Gulf footage' meets MTV's Supermodel special. 24 hours a day...This really was unexpected, suddenly it was cool to like U2!
'Zooropa' begins from the same kind of place as 'Ultra Violet'- building into the first part- which uses advertising sloganeering in a manner akin to Talking Heads 'Love for Sale'; the second part is an Edge sonic overload that looks at an international rebirth in the mode of Wenders 'Until the End of the World'. The music here is very much an influence for Radiohead songs like 'Planet Telex', 'Airbag' & 'Lucky'...'Babyface' is a dumb rocksong with a childish loop which samples the Chimes cover of U2: very postmodern & an advance on Bowie's 'Secret Life of Arabia'...'Numb' was the video-single with The Edge rapping over the top- Brian Eno's presence is heavy here- the song not far from 'America is Waiting' via 'Television-Drug of a Nation'...'Lemon' is one of U2's finest songs- imagine if the Stone Roses had ever been able to translate their parochial amibtion into an international form. The refrain "midnight is where the day begins" captures the postmodern rat pack U2 were becoming...'Stay (faraway,so close!)' is taken from the flawed sequel to 'Wings of Desire' from Wim Wenders. The song is brilliant, as strong as ANY early song and having the same amount of passion as 'One'. This would influence Radiohead's 'High&Dry' & 'Fake Plastic Trees' heavily...'Daddy's Gonna Pay for Yr Crashed Car' begins with a Lenin fave, before slipping into an MC900ft Jesus loop- making the song sound not unlike Lou Reed singing The The's 'Sweet Bird of Truth' (I take it the sunday,monday etc. is a ref to 'Satellite of Love', covered on ZOO-TV?)...'Some days are...'is an upbeat number, fusing the conventional U2 guitar sound with something between 'Blue Lines' & 'Pills,Thrills&Bellyaches'. It also fits in with Depeche Mode's 'Songs of Faith & Devotion' ('Mercy in You')& New Order's patchy classic 'Republic' ('Ruined in a Day')...'The First Time' is a romantic minimal track, between 'Another Green World' & 'Running to Stand Still- it would surface on 'The Million Dollar Hotel' soundtrack...'Dirty Day' is a downbeat rocker close to 'Acrobat' or a more subdued 'Exit'. It's dedicated to the great,late Charles Bukowski ('Ham on Rye') & requotes his poem 'The Days Roll Away Like Horses Over the Hills' (see 'Run With the Hunted')...This diverse album ends with a Johnny Cash lead vocal- his distinctive voice backed by U2 in soundtrack mode (there is finally a short ambient piece,also excellent)...U2 would plough the artrock avenue for a while yet- the 'Passengers' album of imaginary soundtracks was rewarding- having great moments like 'Beach Sequence', 'Elvis Ate America' & 'Yr Blue Room' (not forgetting 'Miss Sarajevo'-which fused the postmodern with the soul of 'With or Without You')...The 'Pop' album sounded like four ep;s bunged together- some of it was great ('Gone', 'Miami', 'Mofo')-it was nice to see them without Eno for once!...The soundtrack to 'Million Dollar Hotel' spelt an end to U2's arty 90's- the new decade saw them return to the trad-posturing of 80's U2 & some terrible (yet popular) songs like 'Sun Always Shines on TV'-ripoff 'Beautiful Day' & the silly 'Elevation'...This period of U2 i think was the best and proof that a big band could get away with alternative music- something that Radiohead have capitalised on & REM were clearly no good at (see 'Monster'/'Hifi'-both similar to 'A.Baby'/'Zooropa'). This album still stands up almost a decade later- great stuff!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Up there with U2's best, 13 Mar 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Zooropa (Audio CD)
"Zooropa" is easily up there with the likes of "The Joshua Tree", "Achtung Baby" and "All That You Can't Leave Behind", with a series of both moving and powerful tracks.
"Zooropa", "Lemon", "Stay (Faraway So Close!)" and "Dirty Day" are the best tracks, although there is little between them in an outstanding album that proves that rock bands can go techno and make it sound good.
Great stuff. A must buy for all U2-fans and general music fans with good taste alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 31 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Zooropa (Audio CD)
A good album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars superb progress from the pevious "scene setter", 11 Dec 2004
By 
Mr. S. R. Dhain "shekhardhain" (leicester) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Zooropa (Audio CD)
this was originally meant to be a 4 track e.p. , to be quickly recorded during the zoo t.v. tour...it became a whole album!
It's incredible as to how quickly this was "put together". Perhaps they had quite a few songs left over from "achtung baby", perhaps they felt invigorated by the success of the previous album's "new direction"? Either way, this is where, IMHO, they more or less PERFECTED the prior work's "new formula".
Some may complain, as there's no "obvious" hit singles a la achtung baby ("lemon" was briliiant though). But this album for me is much better, as ENO , flood et al, are allowed a lot more freedom to add "synth textures" such as VCS3 noises, samples et al?
This is an excellent album, from start to finish...everything whizzes by really quickly, which possibly reflects the confidence and speed at which it was put together?
Beautiful. And "pop" completed thr trilogy..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a different sort of u2, 16 May 2006
By 
Francesco Bonfanti (Ayr, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Zooropa (Audio CD)
i cant beleive that when i began discovering u2 that i totally neglected to even consider giving their 90s stuff a shot. i used to be one of the guys who prefered the 80s u2- the first cd i bought was when i was 12 was u2 1980-1990 so i was totally oblivious to actung baby, zooropa and pop. when i started collecting their music i bought this on a whim. and i was pleasantly suprised. zooropa is my favourite u2 album after actung baby and the joshua tree and has one of my favourite songs in stay (faraway so close). but songs like zooropa, babyface, numb, lemon and the wanderer are equally as good. The whole album is brilliant! dirty day and first time are great aswell. just wish bono and company would try something as audatious nowadays.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I love this, 6 Feb 2004
This review is from: Zooropa (Audio CD)
I really like U2 and there are 2 of their albums that I really love: the joshua tree and zooropa. I did this review because I know that many people don't rate zooropa very high. I really like it, especially the sound and I think it's a very homogeneous album. I especially like to listen to it at night.
Get it and enjoy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Zooropa
Zooropa by U2 (Audio CD - 1993)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews