Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars an undiscovered classic, every household should have a copy.
This is the of those albums where you find small groups of people going ape over. From the first chord of kill rhythm, which throws you into the back of your seat with a pleasent shove, through to the last strains of the top ten single that never was, show me mary, Chorme is the type of album that takes you on a mystical tour of joy and elation. To put this album in...
Published on 23 Nov 2000 by Rampant Chutney Consumerism

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Strange Fruit
A one track album for me but what an amazing three and a bit minutes of sound! Like a Catherine Wheel being lit 'Strange Fruit' just explodes into light. Brian's precise guitar and the soaring harmonies are the sparks, the bass and drums spinning them round and round at breakneck speed. A desert island disc played back to back with Hawkwind's Moonglum (works for me!)...
Published 8 months ago by Saucy Jack


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars an undiscovered classic, every household should have a copy., 23 Nov 2000
This review is from: Chrome (Audio CD)
This is the of those albums where you find small groups of people going ape over. From the first chord of kill rhythm, which throws you into the back of your seat with a pleasent shove, through to the last strains of the top ten single that never was, show me mary, Chorme is the type of album that takes you on a mystical tour of joy and elation. To put this album in context i would have to say that it a willing bed partner of Siamese Dream-Smashing Pumpkins. buy it, buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An otherworldly classic, 22 Jan 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Chrome (Audio CD)
Mention this album to most people, even fervent music fans, and you'll find they've never heard it. Why? I think it's partly due to negative press image of the band over the years (some fair, some not) Catherine Wheel carried two negative tags throughout their career. Initially "shoegazers" on their first record (hugely underated and far superior to their contempories Ride et al in my opinion) and later Yank brown nosing hard rock sell outs. On the second charge I'd say "guilty". Proceed straight to jail. But between these two points they made their second album, the one time on record that they truly commanded a sound that was completely unique, poetic, beautiful. This is one of the greatest rock albums of all time (no, really) - but because pretty much everything they did after this was inexplicably bad (It's heartbreaking and impossible to believe that the bloated nonsense of "Happy Days" was made by the same band, just two years later) it has been completely ignored by the history books.
I urge you to forget these sad truths and buy this record. It is powerful, enigmatic, mesmerising, haunting... I can't sum it up in words. It belongs in an alternative sonic galaxy. The playing is perfect yet never overstated. The album rocks, but never sounds remotely masculine. The guitars and vocal melodies combine with Gil Norton's best ever production to create a sound that is nothing short of a trancedent experience. And better than all of this is Rob Dickinson's voice - angelic and strong, with a confidence of delivery that was lacking on Ferment but without any of the appalling histrionics of their later albums.
This is a unique, one off, wonderous rock album that doesn't really sound like a rock album at all. Oh, and "The Nude" is quite simply one of the most devastatingly beautiful love songs ever written. Period.
What a shame they lost this magic someplace.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shoegazing with attitude!, 26 Aug 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chrome (Audio CD)
In my opinion Catherine Wheel and Lush were the last and greatest of all the shoegazing bands. My Bloody Valentine, Ride, Slowdive, Chapterhouse, Curve et al just disintegrated over the years but CW just kept on going like cats and dogs.
I saw them supporting Smashing Pumpkins on their farewell tour and they always put on a great show. Despite poor record sales their legacy lies with the glorious music they made and it never got any better than Chrome, which is a masterpiece in soundscapes that evolved this genre into a force to be reckoned with, and a genre they were keen to shirk off and they did so on Chrome which was a tremendous leap fwd.
Standouts are many, from the riff laden heavy opener Kill Rhythm, the confessional I Confess where Dickinson concedes how he's 'popped a loada pills' and the glorious Crank(which got them airplay Stateside). Pain is so heartfelt it brings tears to my eyes with naked lyrics that tell of love and loss. Strange Fruit is almost the bastard child of The Cure's Boys Dont Cry borrowing from a riff but swirls into something much more delicious. This is a total rock tune with a twist and stays just on the right side of alternative. A gem.
Elsewhere The Nude tells of more heartache and is a catchy song that stays the groove till the end. The title track Chrome is further exemplary of their new found rock status and comes crashing in with a chopping riff. This song is probably the closest they got to proper metal without losing their identity as with their next album and as always the sublime vocals of Dickinson and Futter shine throughout the record giving it an other worldly feel.
Fripp is pure dreamscape rock and is a study of the said guitarist of King Crimson with some lovely acoustic guitars accompanying the delay tinged riffs. Its lyrics revealed on the album cover which i must say is far more gracious and appealing than another band's i care not mention here!
If you need to have Catherine Wheel in your collection, i would suggest Chrome is the one. Although Adam and Eve and Ferment should also be considered.
Chrome is an achingly forgotten classic of an era that was disappearing no sooner had it appeared.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sublime, 18 Aug 2007
By 
HBMAN (Carlisle, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Chrome (Audio CD)
Dangerously close to "soft rock" at times but I still love most of this album. "Strange Fruit" , "The Nude", "Ursa Major" but most of all I love "Fripp". It's better than all the "fripperies" I've ever heard from King Crimson - it gives me the shivers; love it, love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Strange Fruit, 30 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chrome (Audio CD)
A one track album for me but what an amazing three and a bit minutes of sound! Like a Catherine Wheel being lit 'Strange Fruit' just explodes into light. Brian's precise guitar and the soaring harmonies are the sparks, the bass and drums spinning them round and round at breakneck speed. A desert island disc played back to back with Hawkwind's Moonglum (works for me!). Music that makes one proud to be English.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars See what you miss if you don't stay alert?, 6 Sep 2010
This review is from: Chrome (Audio CD)
Throughout the mid-1990s, whenever you talked about rock music, people rambled on about Nirvana's "Nevermind" and Radiohead's "Pablo Honey" and "The Bends".

Every time someone rambled on about them, I told them that "Chrome" was better. They always said "Catherine Wheel? Shoegazers?", and then they heard the album, and then they shut up. This is a staggeringly good album, which has stood the test of time.

Personally, I think there are better CW songs on "Ferment", but, yes, that album is probably a little too shoegazey for most people's ears. But "Chrome" is pure, swooping, melodic rock.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars !! Buy It !!, 20 Dec 2006
This review is from: Chrome (Audio CD)
True classic album, When Ferment came out I couldn't believe that other people were not hearing the same things as I was in this bands music! Then with the release of Chrome they surpassed even that! For me Ferment is still their best album for my own reasons but musicaly Chrome is undeniably their masterpiece. Buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Check track 2- one of the best- better than Fugazi or any dipsht hard rock album, 27 May 2007
By 
Peter A. Reaves "Rocker1976" (North Carolina) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Chrome (Audio CD)
This album is really one of the greatest missed masterpieces. Catherine Wheel was promoted as a sister of BS US bands, because the lead singer was a brother of a popular US band. However, Catherine Wheel is an historical gem. They rock unlike anyone I've heard until I was in the 2nd row at a 9 inch Nails show!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa68daf90)

This product

Chrome
Chrome by Catherine Wheel (Audio CD - 1993)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews