Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


37 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another example of tortured genius
Apparently this was another example of a sublime musician who refused to compromise his talent for commercial gain. He was called the greatest unknown guitarist in the world but a label like that suggests his music may have been technically proficient at the expense of being listenable. Not so as this cd demonstrates.
On this collection is some of the most soulful,...
Published on 28 Mar 2002 by mrmikeyp@cs.com

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars WONDERFUL MUSICIAN.
GREAT, WONDERFUL GUITARIST, BUT NOT ALL WONDERFUL MUSIC. SWEET DREAMS IS FANTASTIC, THEN I STRUGGLED A WEE BIT. BUT I STLL THINK HE WAS A GREAT MUSICIAN.
Published 14 months ago by Tommo


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

37 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another example of tortured genius, 28 Mar 2002
By 
This review is from: Sweet Dreams: The Anthology (Audio CD)
Apparently this was another example of a sublime musician who refused to compromise his talent for commercial gain. He was called the greatest unknown guitarist in the world but a label like that suggests his music may have been technically proficient at the expense of being listenable. Not so as this cd demonstrates.
On this collection is some of the most soulful, uplifting guitar playing you could wish to hear along with great songs, many of them superb interpretations of classics, particularly "Down by the River" and "Hey Joe".
The thing you notice from photographs is that this guy did not look like a typical, cool guitar hero. Despite his appearance The Rolling Stones wanted him to be their new guitarist at one time. They knew what he was capable of.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hadn't Heard Him Before, But....., 31 July 2009
This review is from: Sweet Dreams: The Anthology (Audio CD)
Although I'd been aware of Roy Buchanan, I'd never really 'heard' him until I borrowed this compilation. What I heard blew me away. I'll keep this short, as some things are better experienced than described: Roy B has been called a blues player and I suppose that's what he is if you have to categorise him. It does him less than justice, though, as he plays with a soulfulness and spirituality that's just not on most blues guitarits' agenda. There are some incredible solos to be heard, herein.

Arguably worth the price of admission alone is his cover of Leonard Cohen's Story Of Isaac, with Charlie Daniels on vocals: it's the finest cover of a Cohen song I've ever heard, all the better for being 'rock up' a little.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just when you thought you knew about music . . ., 7 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sweet Dreams: The Anthology (Audio CD)
. . . you discover this guy.

Cliche alert (here it comes): if you only ever buy one Roy Buchanan album, make it this one - never mind what might be missing from this compilation for the geeks and completists, just enjoy what's here. It's a revelation.

Apart from the inexplicable inclusion of the first 4 tracks from the unreleased first album (and you can see why it was unreleased; I think Roy is in the background there somewhere) this is as perfectly assembled a compilation as I've encountered.

The music on here is simply beautiful, an absolute joy. Some of the guitar playing is, quite literally, breathtaking. And by that I don't mean it's really good in an over-used-superlative way. I mean it's breathtaking: you stop breathing, and you marvel at what you're hearing.

And now the bad news - having investigated Mr Buchanan further since buying this gem, I would caution against rushing out and buying all his albums. I know it's considered a crime to say this, but some of his material is disappointing (well, no one can be a genius all the time).

Why? Well, RB was primarily a guitarist - not a songwriter, singer, or anything else that might have led him onto a coherent musical path. He just wanted to play the blues (and he often, to my ears, played it with the help of some pretty bog-standard backing bands). That means that some of his stuff sounds a bit, well, aimless, songless, unstructured. Indeed, the next album I bought after this one was Live in Japan, which mostly sounds like a post-Brilleaux Dr Feelgood soundcheck to me. Sorry, but it does.

I'm not trying to put you off - just to get you to listen before you buy. There are absolute masterpieces in Roy's work - but from what else I've heard so far, most of the best ones have found there way onto this album. So, if you only buy onr RB album, make it this one. Because, depending how deep you want to dig, you might not need another.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 3 Feb 2012
By 
J. Tompkins "PETCUSH" (BERKS ENGLAND) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sweet Dreams: The Anthology (Audio CD)
This is the first time i have heard of this man and i bought this album, it is really ace
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Find., 13 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sweet Dreams: The Anthology (Audio CD)
I was watching a film with Sweet Dreams on the sound-track and really liked it, I looked it up on Amazon and came up with this treasure, I had never heard of Roy Buchanan and can only say I was amazed, what a fabulous guitarist, and so little is known about him. His interpetation of Hey Joe is out of this world even Hendrix would have been proud.
Thess CD's have an amazing selection of tracks of varied types of music, wasn't so keen on the 2nd disc but thats personal choice, A bargain at £6.49
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fullfilling Hendrix., 11 Jan 2014
By 
Bo Ragnerstam "Pictor" (Sjötorp, Sweden) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sweet Dreams: The Anthology (Audio CD)
Just Great, One of the Great guitarists. Hendrix, of course is outstanding, as innovator and performer. But as a follower Roy B. fulfills tendencies never heard before, with a stunning richness in melodic variations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 8 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sweet Dreams: The Anthology (Audio CD)
super
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Guitarist but mixed bag of music, 27 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sweet Dreams: The Anthology (Audio CD)
Some of the tracks are great but Roy Buchanan did play some "screeching" music on some occasions which results in the family telling me to turn it off!

The CD's came in a presentation box which was badly cracked!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars WONDERFUL MUSICIAN., 16 Oct 2013
By 
Tommo (Ayrshire, Scotland.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sweet Dreams: The Anthology (Audio CD)
GREAT, WONDERFUL GUITARIST, BUT NOT ALL WONDERFUL MUSIC. SWEET DREAMS IS FANTASTIC, THEN I STRUGGLED A WEE BIT. BUT I STLL THINK HE WAS A GREAT MUSICIAN.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING GUITAR WORK, 21 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sweet Dreams: The Anthology (Audio CD)
Only recently discovered Roy. Good collection. A bit hit and miss (for me personally) Made a nice CD of my own choosing the tracks i liked and there are plenty to like.

Amazing guitarist that's for sure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sweet Dreams: The Anthology
Sweet Dreams: The Anthology by Roy Buchanan (Audio CD - 1996)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews