Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Shop now Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

  • Laid
  • Customer Reviews

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars37
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£4.63+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 January 2003
James, Laid, is one of the seminal albums of the 90's. As mentioned elsewhere, this is completely different from everything else they've done, which, in my opinion, is something of a bonus.
Laid and Low... are two very witty songs with cracking, catchy, tunes. Lullaby & Skindiving are entrancing while Out to Get You submerges you in their vibe instantaneously. Songs are attempted from a whole range of angles and speeds but the slightly dreamy tone is never lost. It is the perfect album stoned yet a drunkard will always manage to sing along. One can just sit and listen but, equally, I found it useful writing my dissertation.
Say Something and Laid are probably the most well known tunes on the album but please don't think they characterise it. The whole (ignore the bonus tracks, as interesting as the are) is much greater than the sum of it parts.
A true masterpiece this really didn't sell enough records. If you like catchy tunes, good singing (some nice harmonies), interesting drumming, wicked lyrics, spot on production, and grown men dressed in skirts eating bananas: buy it and help James get the recognition they deserve.
0Comment|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 December 2011
Not to disagree with the rest of the reviewers on here - this is a fantastic record and in my top ten. Maybe top five. I bought it on (far too quiet) tape when I was (nearly) 14. I listen to it every winter. This may seem empty, considering this album came out nearly 20 years ago, but I am confused to see people reviewing this album as one that is 'perfect for a Sunday afternoon' or 'getting over a hangover' This is a dark, very dark album. The lyrics here deal with the loss of a sense of self as an adult when faced with loneliness, doubting the loving connection between two people, the pressures of coming to terms with the expectations of adult life, mental illness, failed communication, the despair of monogamy.... that's the first side.

Maybe people don't listen to lyrics, but this has opened my mind, repeatedly for 18 years.

Oh and yeah, if they (and 'Eno Collaboration') had had the sense to leave out Low Low Low, this would be one of those rare un-skippable albums.
11 comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2005
This is one of the most gorgeous albums I own. From the barely perceptible bass opening of 'out to get you' to the overly boisterous (by comparison!) 'low low low' and 'laid' there is not a weak song on the record. Most of the tracks are mellow and haunting, with occasional breaks for more up-tempo numbers. Amazingly they do not clash but work together to create an album far greater than the sum of its individual tracks. I have always felt that 'electioneering' let Radiohead down on 'OK Computer' because it sat so uneasily with the rest of the album. How James have managed to weave such different songs together to such good effect on 'Laid' still baffles me.
PS is one of my favourite songs of all time. The slide guitar is simple yet utterly beautiful and ushers in a wonderful melancholic song.
This album has seen in many a sunrise with me and soothed away almost as many hangovers. It is perfect in both situations. Everybody should have this record in their collections, without exception.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Produced by Brian Eno, this album is imaginative as it is professional, playful and laid-back, and his skills serve as an enormous boost to the band's incredible songwriting. Eno also supplied additional vocals on Five-O and Dream Thrum, and played bass and keyboards on certain tracks. On the title track, James deals with the disparities of love in a delirious fashion, howling strategically over a surging stream of sound. Sometimes is a quirky piece of power-pop, while other gripping numbers include Knuckle Too Far, Skindiving and Low Low Low. The cast responsible for putting together this classic album deserve applause for their meticulous attention to detail and the beautiful arrangements. It's lively, melodic, full of unexpected hooks and engaging melody lines. Without a doubt some of the best melodic rock of the 90's.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2000
...and to think I was just passing Safeway at the time. I nipped in to see what CDs they had and there it was: Laid for half the price of a current 'trendy' chart CD.
But give me this any day. Personal preference will decide whether you like each track (there isn't a bad one on it) but as a collection it takes some beating. And in Five-O they have created a haunting piece of atmospheric genius; try listening to it loud on headphones!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2010
Late afternoon in the morning of youth and in love. You may be miles away from each other or sitting close in a post argu-mental moment. You long for the moment of the vision of clarity between you. You could share every line in every song on this album. Share it together and fall in love again. A lovely album, well produced.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2003
You need an album to make you feel better? This is it - mellow, eerie and utterly comforting. Not nostalgic or over-sweet, if you feel strange it reassures you, if you feel good it makes you feel happy. Hypnotic rhythms and perfect vocals. Turn it on when you feel bad - I promise you that it will work every time.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2000
One of James's greatest, this sees them in introspective mood. full of beautiful minor key acoustics.. wonderfull songwriting. Often intimate & haunting in the way that a dream is.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2009
This for me is James at their peak, its an almost perfect album (they should have left Low,Low,Low off not the best tune and doesnt sit right with the other songs)
The production by Eno is sparse but at the same time so ambient and uplifting.
I just realised the other day that Five-O is the most played song on my Itunes, the lyrics are beautiful and the overall sound is so atmospheric, its amazing.
Dream Thrum, One of the Three and P.S are also outstanding.
Its well up there in my top albums of all time.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2011
My favourite James album, total perfection. Really wish I'd gone and seen them live more. Personal favourites are Laid and PS (like a previous review I love the slide guitar), really happy they are still releasing stuff - last 2 mini albums (Morning After / Night Before) are both absolute corkers as well. Love the bananas as well...
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)