Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely brilliant
James, Laid, is one of the seminal albums of the 90's. As mentioned elsewhere, this is completely different from everything else they've done, which, in my opinion, is something of a bonus.
Laid and Low... are two very witty songs with cracking, catchy, tunes. Lullaby & Skindiving are entrancing while Out to Get You submerges you in their vibe instantaneously...
Published on 22 Jan 2003 by Mr. N. Connolly

versus
0 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars cd laid
recording was rubbish 1 for the bin and that is were it went when i heared it on radio i thought it was great but mine was inaudble
Published 10 months ago by wayne slatcher


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely brilliant, 22 Jan 2003
By 
Mr. N. Connolly "nc1980" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Laid (2001 Reissue) (Audio CD)
James, Laid, is one of the seminal albums of the 90's. As mentioned elsewhere, this is completely different from everything else they've done, which, in my opinion, is something of a bonus.
Laid and Low... are two very witty songs with cracking, catchy, tunes. Lullaby & Skindiving are entrancing while Out to Get You submerges you in their vibe instantaneously. Songs are attempted from a whole range of angles and speeds but the slightly dreamy tone is never lost. It is the perfect album stoned yet a drunkard will always manage to sing along. One can just sit and listen but, equally, I found it useful writing my dissertation.
Say Something and Laid are probably the most well known tunes on the album but please don't think they characterise it. The whole (ignore the bonus tracks, as interesting as the are) is much greater than the sum of it parts.
A true masterpiece this really didn't sell enough records. If you like catchy tunes, good singing (some nice harmonies), interesting drumming, wicked lyrics, spot on production, and grown men dressed in skirts eating bananas: buy it and help James get the recognition they deserve.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Nineties Classic, 6 Dec 2002
By 
Pieter Uys "Toypom" (Johannesburg) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Laid (Audio CD)
Produced by Brian Eno, this album is imaginative as it is professional, playful and laid-back, and his skills serve as an enormous boost to the band's incredible songwriting. Eno also supplied additional vocals on Five-O and Dream Thrum, and played bass and keyboards on certain tracks. On the title track, James deals with the disparities of love in a delirious fashion, howling strategically over a surging stream of sound. Sometimes is a quirky piece of power-pop, while other gripping numbers include Knuckle Too Far, Skindiving and Low Low Low. The cast responsible for putting together this classic album deserve applause for their meticulous attention to detail and the beautiful arrangements. It's lively, melodic, full of unexpected hooks and engaging melody lines. Without a doubt some of the best melodic rock of the 90's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect, 30 Sep 2005
This review is from: Laid (Audio CD)
This is one of the most gorgeous albums I own. From the barely perceptible bass opening of 'out to get you' to the overly boisterous (by comparison!) 'low low low' and 'laid' there is not a weak song on the record. Most of the tracks are mellow and haunting, with occasional breaks for more up-tempo numbers. Amazingly they do not clash but work together to create an album far greater than the sum of its individual tracks. I have always felt that 'electioneering' let Radiohead down on 'OK Computer' because it sat so uneasily with the rest of the album. How James have managed to weave such different songs together to such good effect on 'Laid' still baffles me.
PS is one of my favourite songs of all time. The slide guitar is simple yet utterly beautiful and ushers in a wonderful melancholic song.
This album has seen in many a sunrise with me and soothed away almost as many hangovers. It is perfect in both situations. Everybody should have this record in their collections, without exception.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Haunting, in places, 21 Dec 2011
By 
M. A. Lidis "theboylidis" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Laid (Audio CD)
Not to disagree with the rest of the reviewers on here - this is a fantastic record and in my top ten. Maybe top five. I bought it on (far too quiet) tape when I was (nearly) 14. I listen to it every winter. This may seem empty, considering this album came out nearly 20 years ago, but I am confused to see people reviewing this album as one that is 'perfect for a Sunday afternoon' or 'getting over a hangover' This is a dark, very dark album. The lyrics here deal with the loss of a sense of self as an adult when faced with loneliness, doubting the loving connection between two people, the pressures of coming to terms with the expectations of adult life, mental illness, failed communication, the despair of monogamy.... that's the first side.

Maybe people don't listen to lyrics, but this has opened my mind, repeatedly for 18 years.

Oh and yeah, if they (and 'Eno Collaboration') had had the sense to leave out Low Low Low, this would be one of those rare un-skippable albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Greatest Chill Out Album Ever, 4 Jan 2009
By 
J. J. Greenhorn "captainrock" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Laid (Audio CD)
This for me is James at their peak, its an almost perfect album (they should have left Low,Low,Low off not the best tune and doesnt sit right with the other songs)
The production by Eno is sparse but at the same time so ambient and uplifting.
I just realised the other day that Five-O is the most played song on my Itunes, the lyrics are beautiful and the overall sound is so atmospheric, its amazing.
Dream Thrum, One of the Three and P.S are also outstanding.
Its well up there in my top albums of all time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the 90's classics, 3 July 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Laid (2001 Reissue) (Audio CD)
Awesome . Up there with 'The Stone Roses' eponymous debut , 'Screamdelica' by Primal Scream , 'Against Perfection' by Adorable , 'Pills , Thrills' by the Mondays . Perfect for chilling out to with a glass of wine and/or exotic ciggie on a sunny summer evening , simply sensational , i was only 20 when this came out and at 36 it still sounds as fresh as it was then , which means only one thing - timeless CLASSIC
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the most soothing album in the world, 17 Jun 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Laid (Audio CD)
You need an album to make you feel better? This is it - mellow, eerie and utterly comforting. Not nostalgic or over-sweet, if you feel strange it reassures you, if you feel good it makes you feel happy. Hypnotic rhythms and perfect vocals. Turn it on when you feel bad - I promise you that it will work every time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars sheer quality at a nice price, 6 Dec 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Laid (Audio CD)
...and to think I was just passing Safeway at the time. I nipped in to see what CDs they had and there it was: Laid for half the price of a current 'trendy' chart CD.
But give me this any day. Personal preference will decide whether you like each track (there isn't a bad one on it) but as a collection it takes some beating. And in Five-O they have created a haunting piece of atmospheric genius; try listening to it loud on headphones!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderfull, 5 Nov 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Laid (Audio CD)
One of James's greatest, this sees them in introspective mood. full of beautiful minor key acoustics.. wonderfull songwriting. Often intimate & haunting in the way that a dream is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A True Classic, 26 Jan 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Laid (2001 Reissue) (Audio CD)
When LAID came out in '93, not only was it totally different from what people expected of James, but it was also one a few classic albums the '90s produced. It was such hailed at the time by the astute music papers, although sales were rather disappointing compare to previous records.
Listening to this record today, reveals why it sounded like a classic back then. Songs like "Five-O", "Sometimes", "Out To Get You", and "P.S" are, to use an over used term, absolutely timeless. Brian Eno's production is perfect. Every song has a life of it's own. This was the best that James got, they knew it and it was a shame the rest of the world didn't catch on. It's long over due for recieving the title, Classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Laid
Laid by James (Audio CD - 1993)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews