Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mayhem in Psychedelia
If you like your music perfectly pitched and over rehearsed then this album is not for you. BUT if you believe in punk, that anyone can have a go, then this is one of the originals. "Vincebus Eruptum" is a real mess, with clearly ad libbed guitar work, but that is why I love it. It is a one of those records that just gets the blood flowing "Parchment Farm" just rocks,...
Published on 23 May 2008 by Lerone

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good in its time
rougth around the edges and good in its time but not the best that the late sixties had to offer by a long way? still alot of energy and fun.
Published 23 months ago by mark smallcombe


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mayhem in Psychedelia, 23 May 2008
By 
Lerone (London, U.K.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Vincebus Eruptum (Audio CD)
If you like your music perfectly pitched and over rehearsed then this album is not for you. BUT if you believe in punk, that anyone can have a go, then this is one of the originals. "Vincebus Eruptum" is a real mess, with clearly ad libbed guitar work, but that is why I love it. It is a one of those records that just gets the blood flowing "Parchment Farm" just rocks, listening to this album is like having the band in the room. Crazy loud, a must listen
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars filthy ruff and pounding., 4 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vincebus Eruptum (Audio CD)
this does sound different to the old stereo mix , fuller more rounded although still totally distorted. the bass drums and some vocals magically appear from the guitar chaos. however i would still want the stereo mix as i feel some of the guitar parts vanish a bit on the mono mix. and i know leigh stephens was a hopeless guitar player but its nice to fully hear him destroy his guitar amps.... own both i do. 2 quick extra points the new cd of outsideinside is also a must. and vincebus has just been reviewed in record collector mag and the reviewer said " a moderately heavy guitar tone then compared it to deep purple mk 1 " ??????????????? idiot. sloppy journalism. cheers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential!, 26 Oct 2007
By 
This review is from: Vincebus Eruptum (Audio CD)
I got this album a few weeks ago and must admit it's a grower, I cannot believe how heavy it is for it's age, full of feedback and bile it's no wonder these chaps influenced the almighty Pentagram later towards the early seventies. The only downer is that it's only got six tracks which is far too short, however it is well worth shelling out for as it puts a lot of modern metal and rock to shame, fans of Black Sabbath and Pentagram should give this a try!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars neanderthal and all the better for it, 22 Dec 2011
This review is from: Vincebus Eruptum (Audio CD)
vincebus eruptum and outside inside are without question albums from a different planet / time. sounds like they were played / produced by barbarians from the dinosaur era trying to play souped up blues rock .... total mayhem. rough as old boots. and i love it.... tho it is not for everyone. u gotta love it because they blew up the studio recording this..... cheers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blue Cheer Vincebus Eruptum Review, 22 Nov 2010
This review is from: Vincebus Eruptum [VINYL] (Vinyl)
Magnificent noise on this one. I read about this band courtesy of Lester Bangs who slated them for being a poor man's Hendrix soundalike. Guess I'm a bad judge of what makes a great sound coz I really like this album. Rock Me Baby is my fave track. For the simple reason it's just great blues noise not trying to be anything else.
Granted this album won't appeal to everyone becoz it does contain a load of screechy feedback noise and amps cranked beyond the proverbial eleven to create a shocking soundscape, but since the bass player died I'll never get the opportunity to see them live so I will never hear the world's first heavy metal band in flight at full, ear-splitting volume. As such this piece of plastic will have to suffice. I have since bought this album on vinyl becoz that is how it should be heard. Checked out some footage of them on Utube too, and they sound like they are the loudest blues band ever. Awesome if u dig that kinda thing right? U don't? Stick to Michael Booblay or Justin Bebo then.

Blue Cheer was slang term for some of the alternative medicines available back in the day... this album certainly is a welcome alternative to the artificial garbage we are subjected to by the likes of Herr Cowell.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ain't no cure!, 25 Oct 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Vincebus Eruptum (Audio CD)
Remember the moment in Kubrick's 2001 when the ape's thrown bone turns into an orbiting nuke? This album represents a similar moment, but the bone turns into a Heavy Metal flying V.
SEE . . neanderthal garage rockers discover that their amps go ALL THE WAY UP TO ELEVEN!
WITNESS . . the towering monolith of Marshall stacks!
HEAR . . acid rock played by people who sound like they're actually under the influence!
Chaotic approach makes it less immediate than early Sabbath or the Stooges, but those would be the nearest reference points. The production is quite amazing, with guitar and bass sounds like you've never heard before. A significant influence on a new generation of two-fisted garage maulers like Bangtwister...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good in its time, 3 Nov 2012
By 
mark smallcombe (bristol, avon, GB) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vincebus Eruptum (Audio CD)
rougth around the edges and good in its time but not the best that the late sixties had to offer by a long way? still alot of energy and fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ITS AWESOME, 30 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vincebus Eruptum (Audio CD)
I LOVE IT ONE OF THE FIRST DOOMY BANDS!! EVEN MY MOTHER LIKES THEM! Every heavy metal fan should have this album in their collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Original Power Trio, 30 Jun 2013
This review is from: Vincebus Eruptum (Audio CD)
Fond memories of this Lp and bought it around same time as Are you Experienced in 67. Its certainly different but more of a wild freak out than Hendrix (No 1 Fan) Big Muffs rule on this.....even Mudhoney copied that vibe, enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AS HEAVY AS THE EARTH!!!!!!!!!, 8 Jan 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Vincebus Eruptum (Audio CD)
THIS SOLID CEMENT SLADE OF AN ALBUM SMASHED ON TO THE PLANET IN '68 AND HAS LEFT A SOLID IMPRINT ON MUSIC HISTORY EVER SINCE. THE FIRST NOTE OF 'SUMMERTIME BLUES' DISTORTED AND LUMBERING SQUEEZES THROUGH YOUR SPEAKERS AND TURNS THE AIR IN YOUR ROOM INTO LITHIUM. AT SOME POINTS IN THIS ALBUM THE BASS IN SO HEAVY IT FUSSES AND BURNS AND HURTS AS IT SHOULD DO. 'SUMMERTIME BLUES' CRASHES OUT TO MAKE WAY FOR THE COOL AND LIQUIDY 'ROCK ME BABY'. THIS SONG HAS THE RELAXED AND FRENZIED PETERSON CROWL AND THE HOUSE SHAKING AND EARTH QUAKING FINALIE. THE THIRD AND MOST BREATH TAKING TRACK IS NEXT: 'DOCTOR PLEASE', ENDS ALL FLOWER HUGGING AND HIPPIE LOVING STONERS AND BRINGS THE EARTH TO A STAND STILL WITH A MASSIVE WOLLOP AND DISTORTED CONFUSION. 'OUT OF FOCUS' IS PRECISELY THAT A SPINNING RIFF WHICH OUTCLASSES ANY LATER SABBATH OR PURPLE. WITH A DAZED AND SPAN OUT BLIP YOU ENTER THE UNPACED AND ERRUPTING 'PARCHMENT FARM' AT LEAST FIVE YEARS TOO EARLY FOR APPRECIATION. 'SECOND TIME AROUND' FINISHES THIS CLASSIC WITH GUITAR AND AMPLIFIER ABUSE, AS NO-ONE REALLY HAD EVER HEARD AND HAS EVER REALLY BEEN TOPPED. THE CLASSIC.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Vincebus Eruptum
Vincebus Eruptum by Blue Cheer (Audio CD - 1994)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews