Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Here you will find those hidden masterpieces!!
I am not a great fan of collection albums, but this really is the exception to the Rule.
For someone whom had all the singles and albums available as a kid, this is a must for any collection of your favourite artist.
This is the only single album that contains the simply brilliant
'Tales from the Riverbank' which was orginally tucked away as the B side to...
Published on 24 Mar 2004

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars so so
I loved the jam, and some of the tracks on here are great, such as liza radley, but most of them are consigned originally, and rightly so in my opinion to B sides of singles.
Published 17 months ago by Michael Jenkins


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Here you will find those hidden masterpieces!!, 24 Mar 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Extras (Audio CD)
I am not a great fan of collection albums, but this really is the exception to the Rule.
For someone whom had all the singles and albums available as a kid, this is a must for any collection of your favourite artist.
This is the only single album that contains the simply brilliant
'Tales from the Riverbank' which was orginally tucked away as the B side to 'Absolute Beginners', its the Jam at their very best, excellent bass, understated drums and superb guitar.
'The Butterfly Collector' is another masterpiece, tucked away as the B side on 'Strange Town', dark melodic overtones, like 'Riverbank'.
The Jam never ripped off their fans with dud B sides, even if some were 'cover's they were great cover's , like 'Stoned out of my Mind' but some of the gems on this CD are the demo's, though these demo's are strictly Paul Weller plus his Rickenbacker, listen to 'Thick as thieves' and you will hear a raw and superb artist excelling at his craft.
Essential Jam.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The finishing touch to your collection, 18 Jan 2008
This review is from: Extras (Audio CD)
This CD is far from the scraping the bottom of the barrel that many such offerings are, it is a superb recording which charts the bands rise to prominence through demos and samples. In short, it is an artefact of the band's work, especially Paul Weller's, throughout the period they were recording. Some of the songs appeared as B sides on some of their most famous singles but the real treat comes from the previously unheard tracks such as "No-one in the World" and "Hey Mister" and the rough and incomplete works in progress which featured on later CDs. As you listen, you get the feeling that Weller is playing them for the very first time fresh after writing them. This is a CD which shows a master song-writer from one of his most creative periods actually at work. For any Jam fan, this is a must have CD and for the general listener it will provide an excellent accompniment to the greatest hits CD you might already own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An Excellent Collection of "Forgotten" Jam songs, 27 Oct 2010
By 
Colin Mayo "Rooster Booster" (Hemel Hempstead) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Extras (Audio CD)
I was a huge Jam fan when I was a teenager and had all their singles and Albums and saw them in concert a few times - later I sold all my vinyl. Recently, I've gone back to The Jam & I've bought a few CDs and compilations - what this album does is bring together all the B sides and the lesser known Jam songs. It highlights the great diversity of the group and their pure rawness and edgy energy and for the money it is a great addition to any Jam enthusiasts collection. It's not an album for the fleeting fan as it dosen't show case their best work but it is a fantastic album all the same - after all these years Paul Weller's songwriting shines through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Buy It For 'Move On Up', Love It For The Rest...., 18 Sep 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Extras (Audio CD)
I was, as the title suggests, swayed to purchase by the cover of Curtis Mayfield - not that I don't love The Jam. Anyway, what I found was a veritable treasure trove of forgotten gems, golden covers, and a few diamond-backed demos. From when the CD really kicks into gear (Dreams Of Children is never going to be anyone's favourite Jam track) on 'Move On Up', until it calm's down on the vocal-based Eton Rifles (that was something I found brilliant, the vocal level of Weller's voice in both that and the Thick As Thieves demo) it is great to listen to. It is, as are all Jam albums, one that you have to listen to, not wallpaper music, but that is a good thing. And And Your Bird Can Sing. Can't say fairer than that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Smashing!, 30 July 2010
By 
F. Rønning "S. Jobs" (Scand.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Extras (Audio CD)
Simply love this record. It's in fact THE most frequented for months now. "Extras" is supposed to indicate that here are leftovers and b-sides. Na'ah, It is one hefty collection of English songs by that band that had they're dynamic in the late 7-T's like so many others. Just some few of these bands happened to become evergreens though. This is one of those bands that one can't really blame for having all those best of out there. They are so honest, funny and entertaining these guys.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Completes the picture for Jam fans, 25 Mar 2002
This review is from: Extras (Audio CD)
A real must for Jam fans - especially the demo versions of some classics where it's just Paul and his guitar. Relive that passion that the Jam lost towards the end!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars my review of Jam Extras, 31 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Extras (Audio CD)
I absolutely love the Jam. Anyone with a general interest in the band who doesn't want to buy all the studio albums should probably go for Snap as a very good best of, but Extras features some very good studio demos and some excellent b-sides such as Butterfly Collector, Shopping and The Great Depression, which are some of my favourite Jam tracks anyway. Whether you're a seasoned Jam listener or an Absolute Beginner I still highly recommend this collection. Great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic item, 26 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Extras (Audio CD)
clean very good item put it on soon as i got it. now i have the full jam collection now
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The last of the leftovers., 24 April 2013
By 
Pamela Brown - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Extras (Audio CD)
this collection and the Direction Reaction Creation boxset are essentials for any fan of the Jam. simple as that !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars so so, 26 April 2013
By 
Michael Jenkins (glasgow United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Extras (Audio CD)
I loved the jam, and some of the tracks on here are great, such as liza radley, but most of them are consigned originally, and rightly so in my opinion to B sides of singles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Extras
Extras by The Jam (Audio CD - 1995)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews