Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great fun.
I bought this CD as I wanted to hear it again after all these years. Jason Donovan is excellent as Joseph, and David Easter (Pete Callahan in Family Affairs) is superb as the Elvis-style Pharoah! It is a great sing along CD, and will be especially enjoyable if you saw the original West End production starring Jason Donovan at the London Palladium in the early 1990s...
Published on 30 Oct. 2004 by boppage

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Service
Speedy service and excellent packaging daughter loved it and is using
It to practice for school production. But it does skip on a few tracks.

Never the less thanks
Published on 9 Nov. 2011 by Redcoshh


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great fun., 30 Oct. 2004
This review is from: Joseph and the Amazing Technicolour Dreamcoat (Audio CD)
I bought this CD as I wanted to hear it again after all these years. Jason Donovan is excellent as Joseph, and David Easter (Pete Callahan in Family Affairs) is superb as the Elvis-style Pharoah! It is a great sing along CD, and will be especially enjoyable if you saw the original West End production starring Jason Donovan at the London Palladium in the early 1990s. The lyrics (all provided in the inlay) are really cheesy but it is just great fun to listen to. I think Joseph was one of the best Lloyd-Webber/Rice musicals, and have listened to my CD countless times without getting sick of it. Listen to the clips on Amazon too! They are not very good quality but give you a good idea of how the songs sound if you have forgotten.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A JOSEPH soundtrack that sweeps all others off the board, 12 Jan. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Joseph and the Amazing Technicolour Dreamcoat (Audio CD)
I have heard no less than FIVE official English JOSEPH cast recordings, and I feel compelled to say that this version with Jason Donovan in the eponymous title character is the best of all I've heard. Jason Donovan brings a level of emotion into his portrayal that seems to be missing from Donny Osmond's (a little) and Michael Damian's (a lot) portrayals. He really understands the essence of his songs, and he never fails to incorporate this into his glossy polished performance. The fact that he performs the role with a sense of being naive gives him an edge over his contendors. Linzi Hateley's portrayal of the Narrator is, like Kelli Rabke's and Janet Metz of the American revival soundtracks, and Laurie Beechman's of the first professional American version, a real treat for the ears. The things that she shares with them is her charisma, immediate presence and love for telling the story. Her voice is lively and energetic, and her performance is enough to count her as another defining highlight, like Donovan. Perhaps the most impressive part of this performance is David Easter's portrayal of the Elviessque Pharaoh. Not only does he give an authentic Elvis accent, but he really makes the part his own and includes a few touches of humour into his "Seven Fat Cows" song, turning it into the most ticklish number on this CD. The brothers, though they are more human on this recording than others, deliver powerful choral backings and make the most of their songs. Nicolas Colicos's "One More Angel," Philip Cox's "Canaan Days" and Johnny Amobi's "Benjamin Calypso" all resonate for an extremely long time in the memory. Johnny Amobi's "Calypso,", I should say, is the best rendition of all those I've heard. The supporting chorus contribute superlative quality performances, though you can't hear them on some numbers, resulting from the slightly poor mixing job, that does not affect the high quality of the recorded sound. This doesn't matter as you can make out what they are singing. As for Aubrey Woods, he makes the parts of Jacob and Potiphar his own, and delivers an extremely fierce and powerful roar towards the end of Potiphar's song. The orchestrations are well done and well-characterised, and the Elizabethan-ballad-styled "Go, Go, Go, Joseph" is extremely telling. This is not as cheesy as some may think, as only two synthesizers were used. Overall, I can safely say that because of the highest quality performance presented on this recording, if you want to buy just one record of this entertaining musical, you should make it this one. It is miles better than the seemingly-dated Original Broadway version, or the American revivals, (I have no bias against the American recordings, but it is just that the high quality of this version is not there. Nevertheless, the Americans make the musical their own and do their best at it.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 13 Jan. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Joseph and the Amazing Technicolour Dreamcoat (Audio CD)
I first purchased this album as a cassette at the time Jason Donovan was starring in the West End. I have been desperately trying to purchase it on CD since my cassette broke! It is an excellent version of this well know Lloyd-Webber musical. Listening to it, you could almost be in the theatre. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ANDREW LLOYD WEBBER'S FIRST MUSICAL, 12 Sept. 2006
This review is from: Joseph and the Amazing Technicolour Dreamcoat (Audio CD)
Joseph and the amazing Technicolor dreamcoat was Andrew Lloyd Webber's first all musical work and his first collaboration with his best lyricist Tim Rice. It all began when in 1967 Lloyd Webber and his friend Rice were commissioned by the head of music at Colet Court School, London, to write a religious concert for the school choir. Joseph was first presented in 1968 and, after further performances at St Paul's Cathedral and the Roundhouse in London, and the Edinburgh Festival, opened in the West End in 1973. It wasn't much of a success, however, until Webber bought the rights to it in the early 90-is, reworked it and put it on stage a very successful production that is still running and has been put in many other countries in the world and filmed for a special DVD.

The plot uses motives from a well known biblical story of Joseph, the youngest son of Jacob, patriarch of Israel, and the coat of many colors that Jacob gave to Joseph as a sign that he is the special one among his sons. Joseph's older brothers became jealous and sold Joseph to be a slave in Egypt, telling their father that he's been killed by a passing goat. After being imprisoned by his equally jealous master, Joseph helps the pharaoh in solving his enigmatic dreams and becomes his first adviser who saves Egypt from the great famine. Back in Canaan, Joseph's brothers and father are starving and so the brothers go to Egypt where food is in abundance. Joseph recognizes them, but not vice versa. After he learns them a lesson because of their past behavior, Joseph is reunited with his brothers and father in Egypt.

This show is mostly aimed at kids, but can be viewed and heard by people of all ages. The songs are mostly pop and a merry note can be found in most of them. Also, this show is supposed to be fun, so there are numerous vocal styles in it. For example, there is a country song that the brothers sing; at the other point they sing a French chanson with the French accents. The pharaoh sings like Elvis and one song is in calypso tone. Overall, it's a nice whole of diverse songs and singing styles. Tim Rice has written his funniest lyrics, blending beautifully with the score. The most notable songs are "Any dream will do" and "Close every door" sung by Joseph and the big number "Jacob and sons"

This London cast recording features Jason Donovan, the Australian pop singer as Joseph and Linzi Hately as a female narrator. Donovan's voice isn't as strong as that of the American Joseph Donny Osmond, but his voice has the boyish vibretto that Osmond lacks. Hately's soprano follows the speedy tempo of her songs with ease. The booklet contains photos and full lyrics.

The flashy production of Joseph can be seen at the DVD of the same name with Donny Osmond playing the lead. Joseph remains a part of Webber-Rice trilogy that cannot be overlooked.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It was red and yellow and green and brown...., 4 July 2005
By 
C. Crabtree "ceci x" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Joseph and the Amazing Technicolour Dreamcoat (Audio CD)
What a fantastic CD! I have never seen the show and was introduced to this when I was little. It is amazing how music like this really sticks to you and wont let you go!
My favourite tunes have to be Pharoahs "Elvis" type song, with some great lyrics also coming from Potifars song. When you listen to the lyrics, its incredible how much is squished into the song.
The variations of the songs are incredible, and I say to anyone considering it.........buy buy BUY!!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT!, 21 May 2004
This review is from: Joseph and the Amazing Technicolour Dreamcoat (Audio CD)
the album is inspiring,the singers are wonderful and they express their emoticions clearly. Personally,my favourite song is josephs coat for it has almost every singer involved, also the song is sung beautifully. i think linzi hateley has got a lovely voice as has jason donavon.I think the the directors couldnt have picked better characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars !!!!!!!!WOW!!!!!!, 18 Nov. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Joseph and the Amazing Technicolour Dreamcoat (Audio CD)
I love this musical more than words can say. I first saw it with Jason Donovan and bought the CD soon after that. I'm now addicted to the Joseph vibe and have been to see it 3 times now! That might not sound like a lot but i'm only 15 years old! I recently went to see it wit Arvid Larsen playing Joseph and he was just as good as Jason Donovan and Phillip Schofield who are both very talented singers/actors. There are songs in the musical to suit all tastes and everyone I know loves it whether its the calypso or the strains of elvis then there is something for you!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars any dream will do..., 22 July 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Joseph and the Amazing Technicolour Dreamcoat (Audio CD)
A wonderful version to this musical of andrew lloyd webber's first musical. in this disc you can see that webber is still full of insparation and he is very dynamic and change this musical version according to the spirit of time. I also liked the interpretation of the last song "any dream will do " that joseph sings in a very minoric version that no joseph sang it that way before...
Jason Donavan is wonderful as joseph and linizi hateley sings the narator part with her precious "little voice" that brings lots of magic to this musical.
I think that it is a pleasure to hear this cd . Because it is the best version of this musical. even the vhs that came after that with donny osmond can not achieve such quality...so you can by this cd. The joy is guaranty.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Magical Musical, 18 April 2012
By 
D. Elliott (Ulverston, Cumbria) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Joseph and the Amazing Technicolour Dreamcoat (Audio CD)
I was first introduced to Andrew Lloyd Webber/Tim Rice via a TV performance of `Joseph' back in the 1970s - and I was spellbound by their magical music. I then bought the LP based on professional singers supported by amateur school children, which was great then - and following cassettes, CDs and DVDs the musical has just got better and better with additional songs added and the range of music styles extended. I am not a particular fan of Jason Donovan as his voice is somewhat weak, but this matters little as he is so well supported on this CD, particularly by Linzi Hateley as narrator, and the overall performance is strong, solid and well suited to sing along with. Having experienced a number of live presentations, both professional and school productions, I am well placed to recommend this version of `Joseph And The Amazing Technicoloured Dreamcoat' as a 5-star quality CD - and though not required by my family, who all seem word perfect, the lyrics are included with CD sleeve.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Refreshing interpretation of an age-old story, 9 Sept. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Joseph and the Amazing Technicolour Dreamcoat (Audio CD)
Although not the biggest fan of Jason Donavan, I found this musical difficult to remove from my CD player. The tunes are catchy and the singers very talented. I can't wait for the next offering from Andrew Lloyd Webber and Tim Rice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Joseph and the Amazing Technicolour Dreamcoat
Joseph and the Amazing Technicolour Dreamcoat by Original Cast Recording (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews