Customer Reviews


89 Reviews
5 star:
 (65)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SOLID COLLECTION SPANNING A DECADE
This is a solid collection of Tears For Fears from 1982-1992, and basically includes all the singles released from that era. The chronological order of the songs is somewhat odd since it keeps jumping from tracks from the 'Sowing the Seeds of Love' album to 'Songs from the Big Chair' and 'The Hurting'. There is also a non-album track, 'Laid So Low', which was released as...
Published on 1 Mar. 2004 by Film Buff

versus
10 of 47 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Donnie Darko fans beware!
If you liked 'Mad World' at the end of Donnie Darko, get the soundtrack. This original version is vvvvvvvery dated.
If, on the other hand, you are a Tears for Fears fan, why don't you just get the complete albums? You know best ofs are like McDonalds; the do taste nice but you find that half an hour later - damn, you need more!
So what I say to you is: eat...
Published on 12 Oct. 2003 by raywhoisking


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SOLID COLLECTION SPANNING A DECADE, 1 Mar. 2004
By 
This review is from: Tears Roll Down [Greatest Hits 82-92] (Audio CD)
This is a solid collection of Tears For Fears from 1982-1992, and basically includes all the singles released from that era. The chronological order of the songs is somewhat odd since it keeps jumping from tracks from the 'Sowing the Seeds of Love' album to 'Songs from the Big Chair' and 'The Hurting'. There is also a non-album track, 'Laid So Low', which was released as a single after the 'Sowing the Seeds of Love' album and before the 'Elemental' album.
Finally, the USA compilation 'Shout: The Very Best of Tears for Fears' features all these songs, plus additional tracks from 'Elemental' all in chronological order, making it a more complete and attractive collection of singles if budget is not an issue. However, this is still a fine collection and a good introduction to the music of Tears For Fears.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kitsch?, 6 Jan. 2009
By 
T. Kennedy "tom" (USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tears Roll Down [Greatest Hits 82-92] (Audio CD)
'Kitsch' is a german word and it is condescending - now there is a suprise. i'm assuming that this is kitsch because it shows emotion like joy division showed emotion and this, and the new romantics don't live up to the earlier romantic movement? isn't all modern music kitsch? isn't there always some superior artist from earlier times who had it worse and had better reason to be emotional? sorry i didn't have a few grand to blow on an art degree. joy division is kitsch, but nivarna are just fine and dandy because curt coban had more reason to kill himself than the bloke from joy division? 80s music has always been looked down on, especially synth pop and especially by americans and ageing rock fans who take offence that someone might play an instrument other than the guitar. i think people who use words like 'kitsch' are closet social-darwinists.

i can understand people putting down most modern music because the people playing and singing it normally didnt write it. these guys wrote their own songs, played their own songs and dared to express emotion when others from older times had done this better lol.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a cracking collection!, 1 Oct. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Tears Roll Down [Greatest Hits 82-92] (Audio CD)
I first remember hearing Head Over Heels and Everyone Wants to Rule the World back in the mid-Eighties when first released, and they still sound as good as ever. Blending a distinct sound of keyboard and guitar, with thought-provoking, and at times, powerful lyrics, Tears For Fears really did produce a fine collection of songs on three great albums. Their sound was different, and at times, their songs moving. But the melodies, and Smith's soft, but at the same time, powerful voice, made their songs. This "best of" collection is brilliant, with a collection of songs I will never tire of. This is a collection of 12 fantastic songs which will have you hooked. Combining a number of powerful anthems such as Shout, to the more gentle, sensitive songs of I Believe, the album just roles from one great song to another. Eighties' classics such as Everybody Wants To Rule The World and Shout are really amazing tracks, catchy and yet thought-provoking. But the lesser known song titles and tracks don't disappoint - they are just as good. My favourite has to be Head Over Heels, with it's romantic lyrics and slow, dream-like music. With an amazing keyboard and guitar intro, it still sound's excellent even though I've listened to it loads! In fact, Change, Pale Shelter...they all have great intros! Each with a different sound and substance, but each introducing cool songs. But all the songs, with maybe the exception of Mother's Talk, are cracking! Despite having most of these tracks on 7", much to my annoyance, some are quite scratched now! I've had to get the CD so i can just sit back and listen to one after another and not let the crackles spoil some really excellent songs! A truly great band from the 80's, with a truly classic selection of songs on an album! Buy it - you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars never forget., 27 May 2004
By 
Mr. I. P. Foster (nottingham,uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tears Roll Down [Greatest Hits 82-92] (Audio CD)
one of the most imaginative and seminal bands of the 80's,tears for fears created many near perfect electro pop records that have stood the test of time,its not often a duo who play fantastic music also has two outstanding vocalists aswell.its just a damn shame that it took gary jules's pretentious,awful cover of mad world to make people remember them.apart from depeche mode,pet shop boys and erasure tears for fears were the best of that scene.buy this now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent collection, 24 Jan. 2011
By 
DavyA (Newcastle Upon Tyne, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Tears Roll Down [Greatest Hits 82-92] (Audio CD)
I used to hammer my younger brothers vinyl copy of "The Hurting" but since that went the distance (how old does that make me feel ?!) I hadn't really listened to Tears For Fears for a very long time. I got this on a whim and I have thoroughly enjoyed the nostalgia. Thankfully, unlike some bands of the time, the tracks on this Greatest Hits compilation have not aged badly at all.
My favourites still remain those tracks from "The Hurting" but their music was almost an ever present back drop to a significant chunk of my formative years,particularly in pubs and clubs I used to frequent at the time.
A really enjoyable set of songs and a marvellous taster for those completely new to the band. Great value too, takes me back to some fine days indeed !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Have No Fear!, 12 Aug. 2010
By 
This review is from: Tears Roll Down [Greatest Hits 82-92] (Audio CD)
TFF were an excellent band. Some might find them slightly grandiose in an '80s stadium way (in the same way that Simple Minds and U2 were) - but when it works (and that's most of the time), the large sound mixed with heavy philosophy-influenced themes and a liberal dose of Roland Orzabal's middle-class lyrical angst works fantastically well. Everyone knows about "Shout", "Rule the World", "Seeds of Love" etc, but special mention needs to be made for "Laid So Low (Tears Roll Down)", which was written for this compilation - it's a really brilliant track.

The main reason I'm writing this is to point out to the berk who wrote the official Amazon review that "Saturnine, Martial and Lunatic" was, although released in 1996, actually a compilation of B-Sides from the same period as the band's biggest hits, and NOT "later work" as he suggests...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Too Much of a Good Thing, 10 Jan. 2012
By 
Nicholas Casley (Plymouth, Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tears Roll Down [Greatest Hits 82-92] (Audio CD)
With so many five-star songs, this twelve-track greatest hits package is in danger of being too much of a good thing. The first six of the twelve tracks are worthy of the highest praise in pop/rock songwriting and performance, and three appear here in their full six-minute lengths. The guitar solo in `Shout' has an unremastered edge, but the imaginative arrangements and brilliant production never makes them banal.

Of the second half, only `Laid So Low' merits a full five stars in my opinion, but two more - `Mothers Talk' and `Advice for the Young at Heart' - come very close. Whatever, there are absolutely no duff tracks on this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars No tears, the gems keep rolling!, 20 Nov. 2010
My first introduction to Tears for Fears was definitely through the big songs 'Everybody Wants to Rule the World', 'Shout' and 'Sowing the Seeds of Love'. Songs that despite their length don't lose their greatness.

After years of just being stuck on these three songs I thought it was about time to hear more Tears for Fears music. I got into Songs from the Big Chair, and was amazed. The Working Hour could have easily been another single (instead of I Believe) and is quite similar in it's structure to Head Over Heels. Speaking of this song, I thought it would be similar to the ABBA track of the same name, and I was completely wrong. Hard to choose which is the better track though. I Believe is still a good song, and probably does deserve it's place as a single, I just don't think it fits in with the other 11 tracks here. The Hurting would have been more suitable, and would have made this set even better. It's omission does baffle me slightly, could be down to space.

From the same era, Pale Shelter and Change are two other gems. Absolutely brilliant the pair of them, they both epitomise the 80's sound which I just love. Mad World I've never been keen on, in terms of both the original and the depressing cover in 2003. However, it's inclusion here doesn't surprise me, considering it is one of their big hits along with the three mentioned in the first line of this review.

I love the dramatic Mother's Talk, has much more of a punch than the "Short Version" used on the deluxe edition of Songs from the Big Chair. It probably does go on a bit too long however.

Coming onto the third album, Woman in Chains is just BEAUTIFUL in every way. From the opening until the "So free her" ending is just the perfect TFF slow song, nobody else's voice could do it justice really. Advice for the Young at Heart I don't listen to as much as Woman in Chains, but it is a decent end to the collection.

The 'exclusive' track made just for this set is definitely a great addition. My favourite bit is how the tempo suddenly slows down on the words "I wish you were my enemy" and so forth, another TFF classic.

To be honest, no other TFF compilation comes close to showing the duo at their very best. Despite the lack of The Hurting, it is still a very strong bunch of songs, which makes it one of my Top 5 Greatest Hits compilations. Ignore the other ones that have been released, if you want to hear the best of Tears for Fears, this is it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good collection of tracks, 14 May 2014
By 
Susman "Susman" (London Mills IL) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tears Roll Down [Greatest Hits 82-92] (Audio CD)
Tears for fears were initially connected with the new wave synthesizer bands of the early 1980s but later branched out into mainstream rock and pop, which led to international chart success. What you have here then is an excellent collection of their songs, which gives a good introduction, and over view, to their work. If you are a newbie to Tears for Fears this album is good place to start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Oh, it's THAT one....., 12 Sept. 2012
By 
N. Wood (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tears Roll Down [Greatest Hits 82-92] (Audio CD)
As a fan of the 80's and "best of" CDs, I bought this CD at a bargain price for the well-known "big" tracks. Having said that, on listening to the rest of the album I found myself recognising the choruses from all but one of the tracks. If you were brought up in the 80s and remember/liked even a couple of these, the chances are you'll know and enjoy the majority once you hear them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tears Roll Down [Greatest Hits 82-92]
Tears Roll Down [Greatest Hits 82-92] by Tears For Fears (Audio CD - 2004)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews