Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Musical highlight of the 90's
It's about time I aired my views about James. Quite possibly the most musically and lyrically unique band the UK has seen since The Clash, Seven is my favourite James album - and with a repertoire in double figures its not an easy choice!

Having been a fan for around 17 years and been to 11 gigs I can say nothing bad about this band. 'Seven' is a complete and...
Published on 13 April 2006 by Lisa

versus
1 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but of its day.....
Not a classic album, by any means, and I have always had a problem with the quality of lyrics of a lot of James songs, but this is a decent album. A lot of the songs have a nice anthemic quality to them, although slightly over-produced in places, and the album holds together well.

James were indeed a student must own the cd band, and I enjoyed this first time...
Published on 7 Oct 2006 by Dino Amore'


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Musical highlight of the 90's, 13 April 2006
By 
This review is from: Seven (Audio CD)
It's about time I aired my views about James. Quite possibly the most musically and lyrically unique band the UK has seen since The Clash, Seven is my favourite James album - and with a repertoire in double figures its not an easy choice!

Having been a fan for around 17 years and been to 11 gigs I can say nothing bad about this band. 'Seven' is a complete and utter work of art, yes it has spawned some fantastic singles (again, among their best) in Born Of Frustration and Sound, but it is the polished diamonds like Protect Me, Seven, Heavens and Don't Wait That Long that you really need to experience. If you have never seen James live, its too late and you've missed out, however to get in touch with their sound and what James were all about in the early 90's, buy Seven. You won't look back. Brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Their best and most lasting effort, 3 July 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Seven (Audio CD)
A highlight of the musical scene of the beginning of the 90's. Though mainly considered somewhat of a 'students' album, 'SEVEN' has has become much more than that.
Vastly superior to the bands other albums, 'SEVEN' has a feeling of timelessness about it. The album speaks to the listener, appealing to all emotions that we experience, love, hate, joyful optimism, despair and anger.
I remember listening to this on my headphones on long coach trips. It took me away and made the trip an actual 'journey'.
From the opening, tingling notes of 'Born of Frustration' to the closing 'Seven' the listener will be part of the album.
Highlights of the album are 'Born of Frustration', the aching duet 'Don't wait that long' and the mournfully sweet 'Heavens'.
A snapshot in time from a band who were at their peak. Relive those memories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Their best album by a mile, 23 Dec 2002
By 
Jay M "jay_mc" (Dublin, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Seven (2001 Reissue) (Audio CD)
A highlight of the musical scene of the beginning of the 90's. Though mainly considered somewhat of a 'students' album, 'SEVEN' has has become much more than that.
Vastly superior to the bands other albums, 'SEVEN' has a feeling of timelessness about it. The album speaks to the listener, appealing to all emotions that we experience, love, hate, joyful optimism, despair and anger.
I remember listening to this on my headphones on long coach trips. It took me away and made the trip an actual 'journey'.
From the opening, tingling notes of 'Born of Frustration' to the closing 'Seven' the listener will be part of the album.
Highlights of the album are 'Born of Frustration', the aching duet 'Don't wait that long' and the mournfully sweet 'Heavens'.
A snapshot in time from a band who were at their peak. Relive those memories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Timeless songs from a really big band, 16 July 2002
This review is from: Seven (2001 Reissue) (Audio CD)
Everybody knows that "seven" and "Laid" are the best album from James. Inmaculated production, songs with no match on this planet, A great front man with a powerfull and touchy voice, the most incredible lyrics, almost invisible genius guitar lines, etc.
This reissue contains some live tracks at Warrington that really worth the buy, but the acoustic version of "protect me" is a song that, if you are a James' fan, you MUST have, is simply the best song of james in the best version.
Plus some great inlay comments and new photos. Don't think it, just buy it and enjoy a great reissue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars another classic from James, 17 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seven (Audio CD)
Quality album, made me regress back to my youth - James did so many great songs you forget how good they were!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 3 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seven (Audio CD)
V good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Must be in a field., 15 Nov 2010
By 
J. Harrison (Dorset) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Alas, festival no more. But in your own field with your headphones on is where this album seems to want to be played. So if you are ever in a field state of mind, remember to have this album with you for that very purpose. You will find that jumping and running and shouting and singing soon come to you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A suprising good album., 11 July 2003
This review is from: Seven (2001 Reissue) (Audio CD)
I couldn't imagine that James would come out with an album worthy of following Gold Mother, however, this album truly lives up. Stone Roses, Happy Mondays, Inspirals fans won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but of its day....., 7 Oct 2006
This review is from: Seven (2001 Reissue) (Audio CD)
Not a classic album, by any means, and I have always had a problem with the quality of lyrics of a lot of James songs, but this is a decent album. A lot of the songs have a nice anthemic quality to them, although slightly over-produced in places, and the album holds together well.

James were indeed a student must own the cd band, and I enjoyed this first time around, but it didn't stand up that well on a recent re-listen.

I would recommend the best of..collection, which does show that when James are at their best, they can produce great work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Seven
Seven by James (Audio CD - 1993)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews